GZDoom Versions After 3.6.0 x64 Will Not Work Poperly.

Need help running G/Q/ZDoom/ECWolf/Zandronum/3DGE? Did your computer break? Ask here.

Moderator: GZDoom Developers

GZDoom Versions After 3.6.0 x64 Will Not Work Poperly.

Postby ConfusedApe » Thu Dec 23, 2021 12:49 pm

I have tried many versions, including the most recent, and I am using the same mods on all versions, but only 3.6.0 is reliable. The problem that I have is the same for all other versions, regardless of the mod running, that come after 3.6.0: the screen freezes, but the game is still running in the background, as I can hear the demon spawn filth shooting and burning me as I run around, completely blind. What changed after 3.6.0 x64? Tons of stuff, duh! What is the pertinent question here? I'm screaming! Somebody, feed me a banana!
ConfusedApe
 
Joined: 23 Dec 2021
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8/201x 64-bit
Graphics Processor: Intel with Vulkan Support

Re: GZDoom Versions After 3.6.0 x64 Will Not Work Poperly.

Postby wildweasel » Thu Dec 23, 2021 1:00 pm

What are your hardware specs?
User avatar
wildweasel
from a different perspective.
Moderator Team Lead
 
Joined: 15 Jul 2003

Re: GZDoom Versions After 3.6.0 x64 Will Not Work Poperly.

Postby Redneckerz » Thu Dec 23, 2021 1:06 pm

wildweasel wrote:What are your hardware specs?

Moreover, what mod is attempted to run if any?

I can report that GLOOME, which is basically glorified GZDoom 1.8.10 works fine on W10x64. I can also report that even hella hold XMas99, based off ZDoom 1.x, also runs fine for the most part (Small tweaking is needed to remove the LSD).
User avatar
Redneckerz
To it's ports i may have seen
Spotlight Team
 
Joined: 25 Nov 2019
Discord: Redneckerz#8399
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8/201x 64-bit
Graphics Processor: Intel (Modern GZDoom)

Re: GZDoom Versions After 3.6.0 x64 Will Not Work Poperly.

Postby drfrag » Thu Dec 23, 2021 1:46 pm

Must be a problem with intel graphics.
User avatar
drfrag
Os voy a romper a pedazos!
Vintage GZDoom Developer
 
Joined: 23 Apr 2004
Location: Spain
Discord: drfrag#3555
Github ID: drfrag666

Re: GZDoom Versions After 3.6.0 x64 Will Not Work Poperly.

Postby Graf Zahl » Thu Dec 23, 2021 2:32 pm

Redneckerz wrote:
wildweasel wrote:What are your hardware specs?

Moreover, what mod is attempted to run if any?

I can report that GLOOME, which is basically glorified GZDoom 1.8.10 works fine on W10x64. I can also report that even hella hold XMas99, based off ZDoom 1.x, also runs fine for the most part (Small tweaking is needed to remove the LSD).



So? That info is perfectly useless in finding out why GZDoom 3.6 is not working.
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
 
Joined: 19 Jul 2003
Location: Germany

Re: GZDoom Versions After 3.6.0 x64 Will Not Work Poperly.

Postby Redneckerz » Thu Dec 23, 2021 4:06 pm

Graf Zahl wrote:So? That info is perfectly useless in finding out why GZDoom 3.6 is not working.

Never a dull moment with you Graf. What i am saying with that is that these older versions work perfectly as is on a W10 system, as does 4.7.1.

But for your entertainment i have just checked 3.6.0 x64 on W10 aswell. Works perfectly fine. And lets also check out 3.7.0, since the OP mentions that versions after 3.6.0 don't work. Works fine aswell.

Core i5-4590t
16 GB DDR3
Intel HD4600
User avatar
Redneckerz
To it's ports i may have seen
Spotlight Team
 
Joined: 25 Nov 2019
Discord: Redneckerz#8399
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8/201x 64-bit
Graphics Processor: Intel (Modern GZDoom)

Re: GZDoom Versions After 3.6.0 x64 Will Not Work Poperly.

Postby Graf Zahl » Thu Dec 23, 2021 5:11 pm

Of course it works perfectly fine. But the OP got a problem with versions *after* 3.6.0, so telling him that this much older version is working is pretty much useless.
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
 
Joined: 19 Jul 2003
Location: Germany

Re: GZDoom Versions After 3.6.0 x64 Will Not Work Poperly.

Postby Rachael » Fri Dec 24, 2021 12:30 am

drfrag wrote:Must be a problem with intel graphics.

Probably this.

And if so - there's nothing we can do about it. viewtopic.php?f=50&t=70121
User avatar
Rachael
^ walking stack of unfinished projects ^
Admin
 
Joined: 13 Jan 2004
Discord: Rachael#3767
Twitch ID: madamerachelle
Github ID: madame-rachelle
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: GZDoom Versions After 3.6.0 x64 Will Not Work Poperly.

Postby Redneckerz » Fri Dec 24, 2021 1:53 am

Graf Zahl wrote:Of course it works perfectly fine. But the OP got a problem with versions *after* 3.6.0, so telling him that this much older version is working is pretty much useless.

Speaking of unneeded/unwarranted :lol:
Redneckerz wrote:And lets also check out 3.7.0, since the OP mentions that versions after 3.6.0 don't work. Works fine aswell.

On top of that i also tested two subsequent versions:
* 3.7.2: Works fine
* 4.1.0: Works fine

Both x64 versions.
User avatar
Redneckerz
To it's ports i may have seen
Spotlight Team
 
Joined: 25 Nov 2019
Discord: Redneckerz#8399
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8/201x 64-bit
Graphics Processor: Intel (Modern GZDoom)

Re: GZDoom Versions After 3.6.0 x64 Will Not Work Poperly.

Postby Rachael » Fri Dec 24, 2021 2:04 am

OP asks for help. Seems frustrated.

User avatar
Rachael
^ walking stack of unfinished projects ^
Admin
 
Joined: 13 Jan 2004
Discord: Rachael#3767
Twitch ID: madamerachelle
Github ID: madame-rachelle
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support


Return to Technical Issues

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests