Couple of details when running GZDoom

Need help running G/Q/ZDoom/ECWolf/Zandronum/3DGE? Did your computer break? Ask here.

Moderator: GZDoom Developers

sacarias
Posts: 16
Joined: Wed Oct 02, 2019 9:39 am

Couple of details when running GZDoom

Post by sacarias »

Built GZDoom on Debian 11 by following steps in wiki page.

When running it, very first line in console output is

Code: Select all

GZDoom <unknown version> -  - SDL version
Then, when selecting IWAD,

Code: Select all

GZDoom <unknown version>: Select an IWAD to use
Also, apart, some few times there this error in console while running, albeit it doesn't seem to have done harm until now...

Code: Select all

AL lib: (EE) ALCplaybackAlsa_mixerProc: mmap commit error: Broken pipe
Why aren't GZDoom and SDL versions displayed?
Why is that -for now sporadic- error?

Thanks again.
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Posts: 47988
Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2003 10:19 am
Location: Germany

Re: Couple of details when running GZDoom

Post by Graf Zahl »

You need to have a cloned Git repo to get the version number. This is pulled from the repo's tags so without them available you get no numbers.
sacarias
Posts: 16
Joined: Wed Oct 02, 2019 9:39 am

Re: Couple of details when running GZDoom

Post by sacarias »

Ok, thanks.

What about the "Alsa" error?
User avatar
Chris
Posts: 2841
Joined: Thu Jul 17, 2003 12:07 am
Graphics Processor: ATI/AMD with Vulkan Support

Re: Couple of details when running GZDoom

Post by Chris »

sacarias wrote:Ok, thanks.

What about the "Alsa" error?
It means OpenAL had a problem writing audio samples to the ALSA device. It'll try to recover and continue playing, but it points to an issue either with the device not waking the mixing thread up in time, or the mixer being overloaded and missing the update. I'd need more details about your audio setup and system hardware to try to figure it out.
sacarias
Posts: 16
Joined: Wed Oct 02, 2019 9:39 am

Re: Couple of details when running GZDoom

Post by sacarias »

Thanks sir.
Hope this means something like "more of a hardware issue", because this would not surprise me...

Return to “Technical Issues”