OpenAL Issues on startup

Need help running G/Q/ZDoom/ECWolf/Zandronum/3DGE/EDuke32/Raze? Did your computer break? Ask here.

Moderator: GZDoom Developers

Forum rules
Contrary to popular belief, we are not all-knowing-all-seeing magical beings!

If you want help you're going to have to provide lots of info. Like what is your hardware, what is your operating system, what version of GZDoom/LZDoom/whatever you're using, what mods you're loading, how you're loading it, what you've already tried for fixing the problem, and anything else that is even remotely relevant to the problem.

We can't magically figure out what it is if you're going to be vague, and if we feel like you're just wasting our time with guessing games we will act like that's what you're really doing and won't help you.
Vanilla_Joe
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Nov 16, 2021 5:44 am

OpenAL Issues on startup

Post by Vanilla_Joe »

So I've been using GZDoom on my computer for the past few months, It's been great. Like always I just double click the pk3 file for Joe's Schmoes doom mod or whatever I'm feeling when I'm met with a crash, Testing different things over and over again with no use. I even poked around these forums for answers but there was no help there.

I don't know what causes it but I'll open the GZDoom app, Select the iwad I want, and click play. It'll load for a few seconds before freezing on "Opening OpenAL soft device High Definition Audio device" Then just stop responding. Tho when I take out OpenAL32.Dll out of the root folder it boots up perfectly fine! Just no sound, I'm not sure If I did something to cause this but I just want my doom to work again.

I'm also not sure where I would find the CrashLog.zip file so if needed please let me know where to find it
User avatar
Rachael
Admin
Posts: 13089
Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2004 1:31 pm
Preferred Pronouns: She/Her

Re: OpenAL Issues on startup

Post by Rachael »

It sounds like it's crashing querying one of your audio devices - which means you may have a bad driver on your system.

Hit Win+R and type in "devmgmt.msc" and then pop open the audio devices - and disable all of them, confirm that GZDoom starts (with OpenAL enabled), and then enable them one by one until GZDoom stops working again. Then you've likely found the culprit. Then the device should either remain disabled or be replaced, or the driver for it needs to be reinstalled.

Image
User avatar
Redneckerz
Spotlight Team
Posts: 987
Joined: Mon Nov 25, 2019 8:54 am
Graphics Processor: Intel (Modern GZDoom)

Re: OpenAL Issues on startup

Post by Redneckerz »

Vanilla_Joe wrote:So I've been using GZDoom on my computer for the past few months, It's been great. Like always I just double click the pk3 file for Joe's Schmoes doom mod or whatever I'm feeling when I'm met with a crash, Testing different things over and over again with no use. I even poked around these forums for answers but there was no help there.

I don't know what causes it but I'll open the GZDoom app, Select the iwad I want, and click play. It'll load for a few seconds before freezing on "Opening OpenAL soft device High Definition Audio device" Then just stop responding. Tho when I take out OpenAL32.Dll out of the root folder it boots up perfectly fine! Just no sound, I'm not sure If I did something to cause this but I just want my doom to work again.

I'm also not sure where I would find the CrashLog.zip file so if needed please let me know where to find it
Just an offpan solution i found helped with older GZDoom based ports: Try renaming OpenAL32.dll to OpenAL.dll.

When i tested out GLOOME in 64 bit on DoomWorld, i always ran into issues when OpenAL32.dll was there.

The irony is that this dll is perfectly valid, but somehow renaming it seems to work.

Did you compile the port yourself?
User avatar
Enjay
 
 
Posts: 26430
Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2003 4:58 pm
Location: Scotland

Re: OpenAL Issues on startup

Post by Enjay »

Does doing that not just mean that GZDoom cannot find OpenGL32.dll in its own folder so uses one installed in the system instead?
User avatar
Chris
Posts: 2866
Joined: Thu Jul 17, 2003 12:07 am
Graphics Processor: ATI/AMD with Vulkan/Metal Support

Re: OpenAL Issues on startup

Post by Chris »

Vanilla_Joe wrote:I don't know what causes it but I'll open the GZDoom app, Select the iwad I want, and click play. It'll load for a few seconds before freezing on "Opening OpenAL soft device High Definition Audio device" Then just stop responding. Tho when I take out OpenAL32.Dll out of the root folder it boots up perfectly fine! Just no sound, I'm not sure If I did something to cause this but I just want my doom to work again.
If you got the "Opened device OpenAL Soft on ..." message, that means it opened the audio device but got stuck trying to configure and start it. What version of Windows are you using? 64-bit or 32-bit? What version of GZDoom? 64-bit or 32-bit?
Enjay wrote:Does doing that not just mean that GZDoom cannot find OpenGL32.dll in its own folder so uses one installed in the system instead?
Or just doesn't load one, so it has no audio support.
User avatar
Enjay
 
 
Posts: 26430
Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2003 4:58 pm
Location: Scotland

Re: OpenAL Issues on startup

Post by Enjay »

I was assuming that Redneckerz was probably still getting sound when he tried this but, yes, or no sound would be the other result.

And, of course I mean OpenAL, not OpenGL - force of habit, but my comment would apply to OpenGL (or any DLL I guess) too.
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Posts: 48330
Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2003 10:19 am
Location: Germany

Re: OpenAL Issues on startup

Post by Graf Zahl »

Redneckerz wrote: Just an offpan solution i found helped with older GZDoom based ports: Try renaming OpenAL32.dll to OpenAL.dll.

When i tested out GLOOME in 64 bit on DoomWorld, i always ran into issues when OpenAL32.dll was there.

The irony is that this dll is perfectly valid, but somehow renaming it seems to work.

Did you compile the port yourself?

No, that doesn't work. All that will do is disable the DLL entirely. If that solution works you must have a system-installed DLL somewhere.
The problem is just: if that's the one from Creative, it is broken and should be removed. It also seems to use very dirty hacks to prioritize itself over local ones somehow.
I wouldn't be surprised if something along these lines was happening here.
User avatar
drfrag
Vintage GZDoom Developer
Posts: 3111
Joined: Fri Apr 23, 2004 3:51 am
Location: Spain

Re: OpenAL Issues on startup

Post by drfrag »

I didn't get sound with that ZDoom64 thing either.
Vanilla_Joe
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Nov 16, 2021 5:44 am

Re: OpenAL Issues on startup

Post by Vanilla_Joe »

[quote="Rachael"]It sounds like it's crashing querying one of your audio devices - which means you may have a bad driver on your system.

Hit Win+R and type in "devmgmt.msc" and then pop open the audio devices - and disable all of them, confirm that GZDoom starts (with OpenAL enabled), and then enable them one by one until GZDoom stops working again. Then you've likely found the culprit. Then the device should either remain disabled or be replaced, or the driver for it needs to be reinstalled.

So I just had to reinstall my drivers, I figured it had to do with the program itself since I hadn't problems with sound on anything other then GZDoom. It's all sorted now, Sorry if I wasted your time. Thanks to anyone that helped tho!

Return to “Technical Issues”