GZDoom > Installtion issues >

Need help running G/Q/ZDoom/ECWolf/Zandronum/3DGE/EDuke32/Raze? Did your computer break? Ask here.

Moderator: GZDoom Developers

Forum rules
Contrary to popular belief, we are not all-knowing-all-seeing magical beings!

If you want help you're going to have to provide lots of info. Like what is your hardware, what is your operating system, what version of GZDoom/LZDoom/whatever you're using, what mods you're loading, how you're loading it, what you've already tried for fixing the problem, and anything else that is even remotely relevant to the problem.

We can't magically figure out what it is if you're going to be vague, and if we feel like you're just wasting our time with guessing games we will act like that's what you're really doing and won't help you.
Noob-Tech-Ninja
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Aug 09, 2021 4:12 pm
Graphics Processor: Not Listed

GZDoom > Installtion issues >

Post by Noob-Tech-Ninja »

Hi there guys.

I was hoping that you could answer a couple of questions for me please.

Background:
I'd love to play Project Osiris (an Alien Breed 3D, re-imagining)
via GZDoom on Linux.

1. I've installed GZDoom

2. I experience the following error message:

Code: Select all

cannot find a game IWAD (doom.wad doom2.wad, heretic.wad, etc).
Did you install GZDOome properly? You can do either of the following:

1. Place one of more of these wads in ~/snap/gzdoom/current/.config/gzdoom/.

2. Edit your ~/snap/gzdoom/current/.config/gzdoom/gzdoom/ini and add the
directories of your iwads to the list beneatch [IWADSearch.Directories]
Which is pretty self explanatory, however.......................

Those dirs don't exist on my system, and I cant seem to create the dirs
(even when escalating to root - as its a live filesystem)

3. I have the following directories showing after GZDoom has been installed
/snap/gzdoom/current/

Then shows the following sub-dirs:
bin, build, etc, lib, meta, snap, usr,

I've looked into each of them, and there doesn't appear to be a .config dir there.

4. In /home/[my username]/.config/
I created a dir called gzdoom, and added a couple of wad files from freedoom
In either scenario, I get the error message shown above (in point 2)

5. When running gzdoom from the CLI, I experience the following error message:

Code: Select all

OS: Ubuntu Core 20, Linux 4.15.0-153-generic on x86_64
M_LoadDefaults: Load system defaults.

(process:8234): Gtk-WARNING **: 22:58:17.465: Locale not supported by C library.
	Using the fallback 'C' locale.
Fontconfig warning: "/etc/fonts/conf.avail/53-monospace-lcd-filter.conf", line 
10: Having multiple values in <test> isn't supported and may not work as 
expected
Questions:
6. What do I need to do, in order to create these dirs, to allow me to add those wad files,
and then play Project Osiris ?

7. Is there anything else that I need to do, or consider to allow me to do this ?

TIA for any help or advice

Useful information:

GZDOom version = GZDoom g4.6.0-m - 2021-05-22 16:34:22 +0200 - SDL version

PC details:
OS: Ubuntu 18.04 LTS
OS type: 64-bit
DE: KDE 5.12.9
Kernel: 4.15.0-99-generic
CPU: 4x Intel Core-2 Q8200 (@2.33 Ghz)
RAM: 8GB
User avatar
Rachael
Admin
Posts: 13107
Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2004 1:31 pm
Preferred Pronouns: She/Her

Re: GZDoom > Installtion issues >

Post by Rachael »

Since you're using Ubuntu it's much better to directly use the debian repository that Blzut3 maintains. You can install GZDoom then directly, using apt.

http://debian.drdteam.org/
Gez
 
 
Posts: 17688
Joined: Fri Jul 06, 2007 3:22 pm

Re: GZDoom > Installtion issues >

Post by Gez »

Noob-Tech-Ninja wrote:I've looked into each of them, and there doesn't appear to be a .config dir there.
I apologize if I say something you already know, but just for the sake of thorough checking: names that start by a dot are hidden by default in Linux and other Unix-style systems.

Also Project Osiris is an "IPK3", so all you need to do to play it is put it in a folder where GZDoom looks for IWADs. Then it'll detect it and you'll be able to play it. You don't need to install Doom or any other game.
Noob-Tech-Ninja
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Aug 09, 2021 4:12 pm
Graphics Processor: Not Listed

Re: GZDoom > Installtion issues >

Post by Noob-Tech-Ninja »

Hi again guys.

Thanks very much for taking the time to look at this issue for me.

8. Yes - I'm aware that dot files are hidden on linux - I "un-hid" any hidden files whilst trying to look for
the aformentioned dirs
(But it was worth pointing out, as a lot of people may be unaware of that). Thank you.

9. Well it seems that I've had some success. I can now load GZDoom properly !
These files and dirs are now showing on my filesystem.

I came back to this issue again, this evening.
(I'm embarresed to say) that - It appears that they have been created (or now show) after a reboot of the computer.
(In my defence - as Linux users, we often dont need to perform reboots when installing software).

10. The next issue is that Project Osiris wont start, as it requires OpenGL version 3.3
So I now need to figure out how to upgrade my version of OpenGL.

Once again, thanks for all of your help so-far.
Gez
 
 
Posts: 17688
Joined: Fri Jul 06, 2007 3:22 pm

Re: GZDoom > Installtion issues >

Post by Gez »

Project Osiris itself doesn't have hardware requirements, it's GZDoom that does. Though I think you can try to start it in software rendered mode. Or try GZDoom-GLES or LZDoom for lower requirements.

Return to “Technical Issues”