Figuring out how to use GZDoom on Linux Mint [news topic split]

Need help running G/Q/ZDoom/ECWolf/Zandronum/3DGE? Did your computer break? Ask here.

Moderator: GZDoom Developers

Re: Figuring out how to use GZDoom on Linux Mint [news topic

Postby pfred1x » Fri Jul 30, 2021 3:12 pm

Did you ever get it to work?
I define $DOOMWADDIR in my environment which Doom honors and then keep all of my game files there and the engine finds them fine.

At the command prompt (no dollar sign attached to the variable):
$ export DOOMWADDIR="/path/to/some/directory"

You can put that into your ~/.profile file and it'll just load into your environment automatically. Without the $ prompt. Just:
export DOOMWADDIR="/path/to/some/directory"

Another command:
Now the $ gets a little confusing the first one (which you don't type) is the prompt and the second one (which you do type) tells the shell you are looking for a variable:
$ echo $DOOMWADDIR

This is what mine looks like:
$ echo $DOOMWADDIR
/home/pfred1/bin/share/games/doom

That displays the variable. You'd see it issuing the "env" command which shows your entire environment.

My game can also use pk3 files too. I build the engine from source and just include everything. Right now I'm running:

GZDoom g4.4pre-34-gb453c87b7 - 2020-02-08 03:07:06 -0300 - SDL version
Compiled on Feb 8 2020

My binary is linked to libz.so.1, libbz2.so.1.0, liblz4.so.1, liblzma.so.5 and they all do decompression. You use the ldd command to see what shared objects your binary is linked to. Something like:

$ ldd /home/pfred1/Build/gzdoom/gzdoom/build/gzdoom

ldd likes a full path to the file. Which in my case spits out a list 63 lines long. So it is linked to a lot of libraries.

$ ldd /home/pfred1/Build/gzdoom/gzdoom/build/gzdoom | wc -l
63

That's interesting. My old binary is linked to two libraries my newer engine isn't linked to. But that's unrelated.
pfred1x
 
Joined: 18 Oct 2017

Re: Figuring out how to use GZDoom on Linux Mint [news topic

Postby omxgamer127 » Wed Sep 29, 2021 6:20 pm

Hi man ,it is possible to define or change the default iwad location directory (DOOMWADDIR/DOOMWADPATH) by a command line parameter
for gzdoom/lzdoom
i need it it to create an autoplay menu builder for my repack
the problem is my iwad/pwad data and my sourceport is in different folder
omxgamer127
 
Joined: 06 Feb 2021
Location: France
Discord: omx#8800
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8/201x 64-bit
OS Test Version: No (Using Stable Public Version)
Graphics Processor: Intel with Vulkan Support

Re: Figuring out how to use GZDoom on Linux Mint [news topic

Postby Blzut3 » Thu Sep 30, 2021 5:17 pm

There's no command line option to add a search path beyond manipulating the DOOMWADDIR environment variable. You can however pass full paths to the files you want to load in "-iwad" or "-file". Also GZDoom searches the current working directory for iwads by default, so unless you need a specific working directory you can always cd to the iwad location.
Blzut3
Pronounced: B-l-zut
 
 
 
Joined: 24 Nov 2004
Github ID: Blzut3
Operating System: Debian-like Linux (Debian, Ubuntu, Mint, etc) 64-bit
Graphics Processor: ATI/AMD with Vulkan Support

Previous

Return to Technical Issues

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests