Changed renderer to Softpoly, now crashes on startup

Need help running G/Q/ZDoom/ECWolf/Zandronum/3DGE? Did your computer break? Ask here.

Moderator: GZDoom Developers

Changed renderer to Softpoly, now crashes on startup

Postby Velma Snodham » Wed Feb 10, 2021 4:15 am

GZDoom has always ran perfectly, for years, until today. I was playing around with the display settings and changed the renderer from OpenGL to Softpoly. after that it crashed, and every time I goto run GZDoom is always crashes. I have the latest version by the way. is there any way to fix this? I've tried uninstalling and and reinstalling and I still have the same problem. please help! thanks :?

on Mac OS X by the way.
Velma Snodham
 

Re: Changed renderer to Softpoly, now crashes on startup

Postby _mental_ » Wed Feb 10, 2021 4:26 am

Post crash report please. Also, go to ~/Library/Preferences directory, and post gzdoom.ini file as well.

To switch back to OpenGL, add +vid_preferbackend 0 to command line options.
_mental_
 
 
 
Joined: 07 Aug 2011

Re: Changed renderer to Softpoly, now crashes on startup

Postby Velma Snodham » Wed Feb 10, 2021 4:37 am

thank you so much! I added that to the additional parameters and its working again!
Velma Snodham
 

Re: Changed renderer to Softpoly, now crashes on startup

Postby Gez » Wed Feb 10, 2021 5:01 am

If you run GZDoom directly (not through a launcher), you should get a startup window where you can change the renderer.
Gez
 
 
 
Joined: 06 Jul 2007

Re: Changed renderer to Softpoly, now crashes on startup

Postby Rachael » Wed Feb 10, 2021 5:48 am

Works well on Windows. On Mac and Linux that window leaves much to be desired, I am sure. :)
User avatar
Rachael
Admin
 
Joined: 13 Jan 2004
Discord: Rachael#3767
Twitch ID: madamerachelle
Github ID: madame-rachelle
Operating System: Debian-like Linux (Debian, Ubuntu, Mint, etc) 64-bit
OS Test Version: No (Using Stable Public Version)
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: Changed renderer to Softpoly, now crashes on startup

Postby drfrag » Wed Feb 10, 2021 9:18 am

Aren't modern macs based on intel? I know there is a crash on arm due to a memory alignment problem, Beloko fixed it on clang using a linker flag but that one is not available on gcc.
User avatar
drfrag
Os voy a romper a pedazos!
Vintage GZDoom Developer
 
Joined: 23 Apr 2004
Location: Spain
Discord: drfrag#3555
Github ID: drfrag666

Re: Changed renderer to Softpoly, now crashes on startup

Postby Rachael » Wed Feb 10, 2021 11:44 am

Not all macs are. Apple has begun a pullout from the Intel platform, completely.
User avatar
Rachael
Admin
 
Joined: 13 Jan 2004
Discord: Rachael#3767
Twitch ID: madamerachelle
Github ID: madame-rachelle
Operating System: Debian-like Linux (Debian, Ubuntu, Mint, etc) 64-bit
OS Test Version: No (Using Stable Public Version)
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: Changed renderer to Softpoly, now crashes on startup

Postby _mental_ » Wed Feb 10, 2021 2:06 pm

In any case, no crash report means no fix.
_mental_
 
 
 
Joined: 07 Aug 2011


Return to Technical Issues

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests