GZDoom (SDL) does not seem to work properly on Weston

Need help running G/Q/ZDoom/ECWolf/Zandronum/3DGE? Did your computer break? Ask here.

Moderator: GZDoom Developers

User avatar
Rachael
Admin
Posts: 12892
Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2004 1:31 pm
Discord: Rachael#3767
Twitch ID: madamerachelle
Github ID: madame-rachelle

GZDoom (SDL) does not seem to work properly on Weston

Post by Rachael »

While SDL seems to work okay on Weston (the reference Wayland compositor), it does seem to have some issues.

Test environment:
Spoiler:
It works okay for fullscreen, but in windowed mode the window simply disappears. vid_preferbackend 0 (opengl) works okay, vid_preferbackend 2 (softpoly) simply crashes.

I'm sticking this in tech issues for now, not sure if the bug is in GZDoom itself or in SDL. It appears that the SDL version being compiled is 2.0.0 (what is available in Ubuntu's apt repo).
Blzut3
 
 
Posts: 3090
Joined: Wed Nov 24, 2004 12:59 pm
Github ID: Blzut3
Operating System: Debian-like Linux (Debian, Ubuntu, Mint, etc) 64-bit
Graphics Processor: ATI/AMD with Vulkan Support

Re: GZDoom (SDL) does not seem to work properly on Weston

Post by Blzut3 »

SDL on Ubuntu 20.04 should be 2.0.10. I would definitely build the latest SDL and check that first. Also check setting vid_sdl_render_driver to software.

But I definitely wouldn't rule out a bug in the use of SDL_Renderer for SoftPoly. On Linux the only value proposition is that with the software render driver it does provide a pure software code path, but on systems with OpenGL or Vulkan available it's slower even for throwing the Carmack renderer to the screen (even when not using the software render driver) so I'd be surprised if it gets a whole lot of testing.
User avatar
drfrag
Vintage GZDoom Developer
Posts: 3110
Joined: Fri Apr 23, 2004 3:51 am
Discord: drfrag#3555
Github ID: drfrag666
Location: Spain

Re: GZDoom (SDL) does not seem to work properly on Weston

Post by drfrag »

Softpoly crashes on arm due to the memory alignment problem.
Cacodemon345
Posts: 398
Joined: Fri Dec 22, 2017 1:53 am
Discord: Cacodemon345#9151
Github ID: Cacodemon345
Operating System: Other Linux 64-bit
Graphics Processor: ATI/AMD (Modern GZDoom)

Re: GZDoom (SDL) does not seem to work properly on Weston

Post by Cacodemon345 »

I recently tested GZDoom on Softpoly backend on a Amlogic S912 device running Manjaro ARM 64-bit and it doesn't seem to crash. Is it some sort of CPU/RAM problem exclusive to the Raspberry Pis?
User avatar
Rachael
Admin
Posts: 12892
Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2004 1:31 pm
Discord: Rachael#3767
Twitch ID: madamerachelle
Github ID: madame-rachelle

Re: GZDoom (SDL) does not seem to work properly on Weston

Post by Rachael »

Possibly, I don't know. I know Pi's don't typically use the most up-to-date ARM chips but I also wouldn't expect it to fail on something this badly either. Even if so - I would have thought maybe the compiler would catch it.
Cacodemon345
Posts: 398
Joined: Fri Dec 22, 2017 1:53 am
Discord: Cacodemon345#9151
Github ID: Cacodemon345
Operating System: Other Linux 64-bit
Graphics Processor: ATI/AMD (Modern GZDoom)

Re: GZDoom (SDL) does not seem to work properly on Weston

Post by Cacodemon345 »

Does compiling GZDoom with -march=armv8-a fix the Softpoly crash?
User avatar
Rachael
Admin
Posts: 12892
Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2004 1:31 pm
Discord: Rachael#3767
Twitch ID: madamerachelle
Github ID: madame-rachelle

Re: GZDoom (SDL) does not seem to work properly on Weston

Post by Rachael »

Heya - I saw your message and I plan to test it when I can, but right now the system is not set up.
Cacodemon345
Posts: 398
Joined: Fri Dec 22, 2017 1:53 am
Discord: Cacodemon345#9151
Github ID: Cacodemon345
Operating System: Other Linux 64-bit
Graphics Processor: ATI/AMD (Modern GZDoom)

Re: GZDoom (SDL) does not seem to work properly on Weston

Post by Cacodemon345 »

Do also try with -march=armv8.2-a if compiling with -march=armv8-a doesn't fix the Softpoly crash when you finally set up your system. There was a couple of memory model changes introduced in the ARMv8.2-A revision.
User avatar
SP_FACE1
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Aug 27, 2017 7:20 am

Re: GZDoom (SDL) does not seem to work properly on Weston

Post by SP_FACE1 »

I decided to test this too...

Hardware:
  • Intel i7-4700MQ
  • Intel HD Graphics 4600
  • 16 GB RAM
Software:
  • GZDooM 4.7.1
  • SDL2 2.0.16
  • Wayland 1.19.0
  • Gnome 41.1
  • mutter 41.1
  • Linux 5.15.2
I ran GZDooM with:

Code: Select all

SDL_VIDEODRIVER=wayland gzdoom
I tested all the rendering backends (vid_preferbackend 0–3, restart after each change).

In windowed mode the window's position is half outside the screen, it cannot be moved but it can be resized. The window does not have a title bar. Despite these issues in the windowed mode the game itself works.

In full screen mode everything works fine.

Also I did not experience any crashes during testing.

Return to “Technical Issues”