Screen Melt Way Too Slow

Need help running G/Q/ZDoom/ECWolf/Zandronum/3DGE? Did your computer break? Ask here.

Moderator: GZDoom Developers

Screen Melt Way Too Slow

Postby Wesley Shakespear » Sat Jun 13, 2020 5:57 pm

So i was just launching the newest version of GZDoom (4.4.1) with ZDL (Lcferrum's updated Qt version 3-1.1) and tried to play a bit but when i start a game the "Screen melt" is way too slow, and if i click while this happens the game will enter a "not responding" state, i don't know what's causing this, it has never happened to me before while using any of the older GZDoom versions, i don't think it has to do with my drivers since it used to run it just fine. (i'm not launching it with any other mods, it's just vanilla Doom 2, i also tried with Doom 1, TNT, Plutonia, and it's still there), anybody know a solution to this?
Wesley Shakespear
 

Re: Screen Melt Way Too Slow

Postby Starisma1 » Sat Oct 24, 2020 8:25 pm

I legit have the same problem and dont know how to fix it
Starisma1
 
Joined: 22 Oct 2020
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8/201x 64-bit
OS Test Version: No (Using Stable Public Version)

Re: Screen Melt Way Too Slow

Postby Rachael » Sun Oct 25, 2020 4:55 am

Posting hardware specs would be helpful here.
User avatar
Rachael
Webmaster
 
Joined: 13 Jan 2004
Discord: Rachael#3767
Twitch ID: madamerachelle
Github ID: madame-rachelle
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8/201x 64-bit
OS Test Version: No (Using Stable Public Version)
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: Screen Melt Way Too Slow

Postby sinisterseed » Sun Oct 25, 2020 7:24 am

Can confirm this as well, mostly.

The screen melt effect is a lot slower than it used to be.
User avatar
sinisterseed
GZDoom RO Translator & Raze Tester
 
Joined: 05 Nov 2019
Twitch ID: sixhundredsixteen
Github ID: sinisterseed
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8/201x 64-bit
OS Test Version: No (Using Stable Public Version)
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: Screen Melt Way Too Slow

Postby Graf Zahl » Sun Oct 25, 2020 8:02 am

Since when?
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
 
Joined: 19 Jul 2003
Location: Germany

Re: Screen Melt Way Too Slow

Postby drfrag » Sun Oct 25, 2020 8:09 am

But everytime or the first time you run the game? And which hardware? For me it's normal on AMD.
User avatar
drfrag
Os voy a romper a pedazos!
Vintage GZDoom Developer
 
Joined: 23 Apr 2004
Location: Spain
Discord: drfrag#3555
Github ID: drfrag666

Re: Screen Melt Way Too Slow

Postby sinisterseed » Sun Oct 25, 2020 9:25 am

NVIDIA hardware.

First time around on a fresh copy it's really sluggish, but starting another game seems to mostly fix it, although still not buttery smooth like once. Then, after restarting GZDoom it works perfect the first time around, but reverts to the slow crawl after starting another game.

As for when it first started, no idea. I happen to have an autobuild lying around from September 29th and even back then it seems to exhibit broken behavior. So it's more than a month old.
User avatar
sinisterseed
GZDoom RO Translator & Raze Tester
 
Joined: 05 Nov 2019
Twitch ID: sixhundredsixteen
Github ID: sinisterseed
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8/201x 64-bit
OS Test Version: No (Using Stable Public Version)
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: Screen Melt Way Too Slow

Postby Graf Zahl » Sun Oct 25, 2020 9:27 am

Nothing has changed about that. code. I suspect a driver issue.
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
 
Joined: 19 Jul 2003
Location: Germany

Re: Screen Melt Way Too Slow

Postby Rachael » Sun Oct 25, 2020 9:31 am

Works fine for me.
User avatar
Rachael
Webmaster
 
Joined: 13 Jan 2004
Discord: Rachael#3767
Twitch ID: madamerachelle
Github ID: madame-rachelle
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8/201x 64-bit
OS Test Version: No (Using Stable Public Version)
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: Screen Melt Way Too Slow

Postby Starisma1 » Sun Oct 25, 2020 9:37 am

I also suspect its only GZDoom 4.4 versions because i tried GZDoom 4.3.3 and the screen melt is working just fine but as soon as i try any version of 4.4 its super slow
Starisma1
 
Joined: 22 Oct 2020
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8/201x 64-bit
OS Test Version: No (Using Stable Public Version)

Re: Screen Melt Way Too Slow

Postby sinisterseed » Sun Oct 25, 2020 10:11 am

Graf Zahl wrote:Nothing has changed about that. code. I suspect a driver issue.

Doubt it.

4.4.2 is still fine. Something changed after this release, if not this code then something else is affecting it.
User avatar
sinisterseed
GZDoom RO Translator & Raze Tester
 
Joined: 05 Nov 2019
Twitch ID: sixhundredsixteen
Github ID: sinisterseed
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8/201x 64-bit
OS Test Version: No (Using Stable Public Version)
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: Screen Melt Way Too Slow

Postby Graf Zahl » Sun Oct 25, 2020 10:15 am

Any difference between Vulkan and OpenGL?
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
 
Joined: 19 Jul 2003
Location: Germany

Re: Screen Melt Way Too Slow

Postby sinisterseed » Sun Oct 25, 2020 10:19 am

Graf Zahl wrote:Any difference between Vulkan and OpenGL?

Actually, yes.

Vulkan is solid but GL exhibits the bug.
User avatar
sinisterseed
GZDoom RO Translator & Raze Tester
 
Joined: 05 Nov 2019
Twitch ID: sixhundredsixteen
Github ID: sinisterseed
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8/201x 64-bit
OS Test Version: No (Using Stable Public Version)
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: Screen Melt Way Too Slow

Postby Graf Zahl » Sun Oct 25, 2020 10:22 am

Ok. Can you try to track this down with devbuilds?
If you need older ones you need to enable developer mode
Spoiler:


I have no problems here so I need help from someone who does experience this.
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
 
Joined: 19 Jul 2003
Location: Germany

Re: Screen Melt Way Too Slow

Postby Starisma1 » Sun Oct 25, 2020 10:43 am

sinisterseed wrote:
Graf Zahl wrote:Any difference between Vulkan and OpenGL?

Actually, yes.

Vulkan is solid but GL exhibits the bug.

For me it happens with both Open GL and Vulkan but not with SoftPoly (I cant really play softpoly though because the fps drops on it because my pc is low end)
Starisma1
 
Joined: 22 Oct 2020
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8/201x 64-bit
OS Test Version: No (Using Stable Public Version)

Next

Return to Technical Issues

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests