OpenGL Driver Not Accelerated! [Resolved]

Need help running G/Q/ZDoom/ECWolf/Zandronum/3DGE? Did your computer break? Ask here.

Moderator: GZDoom Developers

User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Posts: 47988
Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2003 10:19 am
Location: Germany

Re: OpenGL Driver Not Accelerated! [Resolved]

Post by Graf Zahl »

dpJudas wrote: I can see some sense in it for LZDoom. I was specifically talking about why I think it should never be used to GZDoom.
I firmly believe in letting deprecated hardware rest in peace. Even without the fallout from 2 years ago I am certain that I'd have dropped GL 2 for good by now. I seriously have to wonder how many users of LZDoom are actually using old hardware - there's probably a large group who just stick to it for the old look of the option menus - and for those altering the manifest may be a disservice.
Rachael wrote: Nevertheless, I don't think drfrag has any intention to put that commit in GZDoom - and there's no way it would be merged if he did. I think it DOES make sense to use it for LZDoom, though.
For GZDoom it'd be pointless. The hardware in question isn't even supported anymore because its OpenGL support is insufficient.
User avatar
drfrag
Vintage GZDoom Developer
Posts: 3110
Joined: Fri Apr 23, 2004 3:51 am
Discord: drfrag#3555
Github ID: drfrag666
Location: Spain

Re: OpenGL Driver Not Accelerated! [Resolved]

Post by drfrag »

@dpJudas Thanks for the explanation.
That commit is only in my legacy and g3.3mgw branches. Of course i know it wouldn't make sense for modern versions.
I don't think it will be a problem but i could revert it, i prefer myself running the app in 8.1 compatibility mode with the right click properties tab if that works than using an external tool.
User avatar
drfrag
Vintage GZDoom Developer
Posts: 3110
Joined: Fri Apr 23, 2004 3:51 am
Discord: drfrag#3555
Github ID: drfrag666
Location: Spain

Re: OpenGL Driver Not Accelerated! [Resolved]

Post by drfrag »

Actually there's a dpiAware per monitor setting for win8.1, should we add a dpiAwareness per monitor v2 setting for win10 then?
I think i will revert that commit but Zandronum doesn't even declare compatibility with Vista and seems it works well. Precisely a common complaint from those users is "Zandronum works".

Return to “Technical Issues”