Sprites have black borders/appear inside black boxes

Need help running G/Q/ZDoom/ECWolf/Zandronum/3DGE? Did your computer break? Ask here.

Moderator: GZDoom Developers

Sprites have black borders/appear inside black boxes

Postby evileggpier » Thu Sep 12, 2019 7:15 am

Hi hello! I'm very new to the whole classic Doom/GZDoom thing. I've obtained the GZDoom program only a few days ago, and am running the Ultimate Doom game through it. As said in the title, the sprites - pretty much all of them, whether an object or a character - have a black border or box around them. So far, the only sprites to not have this problem are the Lost Souls and the player's hands/weapons. I've come here to ask as to what the problem might be; if the problem lies in the graphics card or driver, or the version of GZDoom that I'm currently running, or the WAD itself. Besides these problems, however, the game runs fine.

The GZDoom version I am currently running on is 1.8, and my computer specs are as follows:

OS: Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit
Processor: Intel i5 3.40 GHz
RAM: 12 GB
Graphics: AMD Radeon HD 7770 4GB

P.S. I've tried running the latest version of GZDoom (4.2) and it couldn't run as well.
I've also attached several screenshots that shows what I meant by the "black borders/boxes"
[imgur]https://imgur.com/a/v9S7MqR[/imgur]
evileggpier
 
Joined: 12 Sep 2019
Operating System: Windows Vista/7 64-bit

Re: Sprites have black borders/appear inside black boxes

Postby drfrag » Thu Sep 12, 2019 7:54 am

It's a graphics driver bug. Are you sure you're running the latest?
User avatar
drfrag
I.R developer, I.R smart
Vintage GZDoom Developer
 
Joined: 23 Apr 2004
Location: Spain

Re: Sprites have black borders/appear inside black boxes

Postby evileggpier » Sat Sep 14, 2019 11:38 am

I am not running the latest version. The latest is 4.2 and I'm running 1.8.
4.2 won't run on my end and I couldn't figure out why. Would upgrading to maybe 1.9 fix it?
evileggpier
 
Joined: 12 Sep 2019
Operating System: Windows Vista/7 64-bit

Re: Sprites have black borders/appear inside black boxes

Postby SanyaWaffles » Sat Sep 14, 2019 8:22 pm

AMD drivers seem to be extremely buggy. I'd try upgrading to the latest AMD driver (download a fresh copy from their website).
User avatar
SanyaWaffles
Ice Bear Charges Extra
 
Joined: 25 Apr 2013
Location: Eastern Ohio
Discord: SanyaWaffles#5095
Twitch ID: sanyawaffles
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8 64-bit
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: Sprites have black borders/appear inside black boxes

Postby evileggpier » Sun Sep 15, 2019 12:59 am

Update: I checked out other GZDoom and ZDoom versions beyond 1.8 (I've checked out 3.2.5, 3.3, 3.7.2, and 4.1; and ZDoom 2.8.1) and have found that picking the OpenGL option before the game would launch would lead to the game, then my computer freezing and to my graphics processor crashing and recovering. It really does look like it has something to do with my graphics processor.

Right now i'm looking into finding a driver for my graphics card, as suggested by SanyaWaffles. I'd also like to point out that my graphics card "driver" is called "CatalystControl" and if i'm being honest, I really don't know how it works either. I'll provide further updates once I get this graphics processor issue resolved.
evileggpier
 
Joined: 12 Sep 2019
Operating System: Windows Vista/7 64-bit

Re: Sprites have black borders/appear inside black boxes

Postby evileggpier » Sun Sep 15, 2019 1:31 am

UPDATE: I have just installed the most recent AMD driver and am running GZDoom 4.2 without any issues (so far); no black borders, no warping or anything. Thank you for all the help
evileggpier
 
Joined: 12 Sep 2019
Operating System: Windows Vista/7 64-bit


Return to Technical Issues

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests