Having trouble building GZDoom.

Need help running G/Q/ZDoom/ECWolf/Zandronum/3DGE? Did your computer break? Ask here.

Moderator: GZDoom Developers

Having trouble building GZDoom.

Postby Hyperlynx » Sat Aug 31, 2019 1:28 am

I realise this is probably not the right forum, but I can't figure out a better place to ask.

I'm trying to build gzdoom from source (actually, a fork of a fork. I want to tinker with VR stuff. but anyway). My build's failing because it needs updaterevision.exe, but it can't seem to build it. The other targets seem to build ok (except for the ones that depend on updaterevision.exe, of course).

Any ideas why that target would be failing to build? Am I missing something from my configuration?

Build log:
[1/1] cmd.exe /C "cd . && "C:\Program Files (x86)\Microsoft Visual Studio\2017\Community\Common7\IDE\CommonExtensions\Microsoft\CMake\CMake\bin\cmake.exe" -E vs_link_exe --intdir=tools\updaterevision\CMakeFiles\updaterevision.dir --manifests -- C:\PROGRA~2\MICROS~2\2017\COMMUN~1\VC\Tools\MSVC\1416~1.270\bin\Hostx64\x64\link.exe /nologo tools\updaterevision\CMakeFiles\updaterevision.dir\updaterevision.c.obj /out:tools\updaterevision\updaterevision.exe /implib:tools\updaterevision\updaterevision.lib /pdb:tools\updaterevision\updaterevision.pdb /version:0.0 /machine:x64 /debug /INCREMENTAL /opt:ref /opt:icf /nodefaultlib:msvcrt /TSAWARE /LARGEADDRESSAWARE /subsystem:console kernel32.lib user32.lib gdi32.lib winspool.lib shell32.lib ole32.lib oleaut32.lib uuid.lib comdlg32.lib advapi32.lib && cmd.exe /C "cd /D E:\Stuff\Repos\gz3doom\build\tools\updaterevision && mt -inputresource:E:/Stuff/Repos/gz3doom/build/tools/updaterevision/updaterevision.exe -manifest E:/Stuff/Code/Repos/gz3doom/repo/tools/updaterevision/trustinfo.txt -outputresource:E:/Stuff/Repos/gz3doom/build/tools/updaterevision/updaterevision.exe -nologo""
FAILED: tools/updaterevision/updaterevision.exe
cmd.exe /C "cd . && "C:\Program Files (x86)\Microsoft Visual Studio\2017\Community\Common7\IDE\CommonExtensions\Microsoft\CMake\CMake\bin\cmake.exe" -E vs_link_exe --intdir=tools\updaterevision\CMakeFiles\updaterevision.dir --manifests -- C:\PROGRA~2\MICROS~2\2017\COMMUN~1\VC\Tools\MSVC\1416~1.270\bin\Hostx64\x64\link.exe /nologo tools\updaterevision\CMakeFiles\updaterevision.dir\updaterevision.c.obj /out:tools\updaterevision\updaterevision.exe /implib:tools\updaterevision\updaterevision.lib /pdb:tools\updaterevision\updaterevision.pdb /version:0.0 /machine:x64 /debug /INCREMENTAL /opt:ref /opt:icf /nodefaultlib:msvcrt /TSAWARE /LARGEADDRESSAWARE /subsystem:console kernel32.lib user32.lib gdi32.lib winspool.lib shell32.lib ole32.lib oleaut32.lib uuid.lib comdlg32.lib advapi32.lib && cmd.exe /C "cd /D E:\Stuff\Repos\gz3doom\build\tools\updaterevision && mt -inputresource:E:/Stuff/Repos/gz3doom/build/tools/updaterevision/updaterevision.exe -manifest E:/Stuff/Code/Repos/gz3doom/repo/tools/updaterevision/trustinfo.txt -outputresource:E:/Stuff/Repos/gz3doom/build/tools/updaterevision/updaterevision.exe -nologo""
C:\Program Files (x86)\Microsoft Visual Studio\2017\Community\Common7\IDE\repo\LINK : warning LNK4075: ignoring '/INCREMENTAL' due to '/OPT:ICF' specification

C:\Program Files (x86)\Microsoft Visual Studio\2017\Community\Common7\IDE\repo\mt : general error c101008c: Failed to read the manifest from the resource of file "E:/Stuff/Repos/gz3doom/build/tools/updaterevision/updaterevision.exe". The specified resource type cannot be found in the image file.

ninja: build stopped: subcommand failed.

Build failed.
Hyperlynx
 
Joined: 31 Aug 2019
Github ID: lfrankel
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8 64-bit
Graphics Processor: nVidia (Modern GZDoom)

Re: Having trouble building GZDoom.

Postby _mental_ » Sat Aug 31, 2019 1:48 am

Do not use CMake integrated into Visual Studio. Install a standalone version, and generate projects and solution with it.
_mental_
 
 
 
Joined: 07 Aug 2011

Re: Having trouble building GZDoom.

Postby Hyperlynx » Sat Aug 31, 2019 1:52 am

Ah, dang. We use CMake at work, and also generate MSVC solutions. I thought I'd use this as an excuse to try out the built-in one, to see if it was any good. I guess it isn't! Thanks :)
Hyperlynx
 
Joined: 31 Aug 2019
Github ID: lfrankel
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8 64-bit
Graphics Processor: nVidia (Modern GZDoom)

Re: Having trouble building GZDoom.

Postby Graf Zahl » Sat Aug 31, 2019 3:28 am

I once tried the integrated solution - the compile times alone were reason enough to ditch it right away.
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom Developer
Lead GZDoom Developer
 
Joined: 19 Jul 2003
Location: Germany

Re: Having trouble building GZDoom.

Postby Hyperlynx » Sat Aug 31, 2019 4:40 am

Haha, I just used the CMake GUI tool (for the first time) and it was trivially easy. Built with no problems. Thanks, Mental!
Hyperlynx
 
Joined: 31 Aug 2019
Github ID: lfrankel
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8 64-bit
Graphics Processor: nVidia (Modern GZDoom)

Re: Having trouble building GZDoom.

Postby tacticalcraptical » Wed Sep 04, 2019 10:32 am

So, uh Hyperlynx, you wouldn't happen to be trying to take Fishbiter's OpenVR GZ3Doom fork and updating the version of GZDoom it uses to something newer, would you?
tacticalcraptical
 
Joined: 12 Aug 2019
Github ID: Jacob
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8 64-bit

Re: Having trouble building GZDoom.

Postby Hyperlynx » Wed Sep 04, 2019 6:59 pm

Haha, that is indeed the fork I'm working with. Actually, it was just that I was unhappy with the keybinding, and wanted to see if I could fix it (though it turned out the main button I wanted to bind was actually supported, and it took looking at the code to find out what it was mapped to). I'm also thinking about adding other bits and pieces, if I can manage to pull it off.

I did notice https://github.com/Fishbiter/gz3doom/issues/14 . Personally I haven't actually come across any bugs or missing features that I know are fixed/better in the latest gzdoom, but I've thought about giving it a go. I take it it's not straightforward, or else someone would have already just done it, right?
Hyperlynx
 
Joined: 31 Aug 2019
Github ID: lfrankel
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8 64-bit
Graphics Processor: nVidia (Modern GZDoom)

Re: Having trouble building GZDoom.

Postby tacticalcraptical » Wed Sep 04, 2019 7:42 pm

I cannot map the left trigger on my Oculus Quest, is that similar to what you were having trouble with? What did you find about that? I have tried mapping it in the .ini and in game and it does nothing.

Lol, yeah the guy who put that issue in has the subtlety of an M1 tank.
About the version differences I've noticed is that: 1) that version does not support many of the hardware acceleration options the newer versions of GZDoom do and 2) my main issue is there are several newer, good mods (Tango's Paradise and DarkDoomZ for example) that would be a blast to play but flat out won't run on on this version due to it's base GZDoom version being so old that the mods just flat out refuse to run.

You're probably right though, if it was easy, it'd probably have been done. If you decided to tackle it, I'll be cheering you on :)
tacticalcraptical
 
Joined: 12 Aug 2019
Github ID: Jacob
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8 64-bit

Re: Having trouble building GZDoom.

Postby Hyperlynx » Wed Sep 04, 2019 8:16 pm

I cannot map the left trigger on my Oculus Quest, is that similar to what you were having trouble with? What did you find about that? I have tried mapping it in the .ini and in game and it does nothing.
Yeah, me too. That's one of the things I wanted to look into, but it was less important to me than being able to bind clicking the touchpad.

About the version differences I've noticed is that: 1) that version does not support many of the hardware acceleration options the newer versions of GZDoom do and 2) my main issue is there are several newer, good mods (Tango's Paradise and DarkDoomZ for example) that would be a blast to play but flat out won't run on on this version due to it's base GZDoom version being so old that the mods just flat out refuse to run.

Right, gotcha. Well, I'll give it a crack at some point.

I'd like to look into the ltrigger thing, and I'd also like to see if I can add an option for a holographic sight, if that's not too hard to implement. I find the holo sights in PAYDAY 2 VR super duper useful, and maybe sticking one on a "wide weapon" vr model would allow good aiming at long range. Obviously "long range" doesn't come up that often, but it would be nice to be able to, say, snipe with Brutal Doom's assault rifle or railgun on custom maps that happen to have large areas.

That's if it's all not too hard and I build up the motivation and energy! No promises! :D
Hyperlynx
 
Joined: 31 Aug 2019
Github ID: lfrankel
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8 64-bit
Graphics Processor: nVidia (Modern GZDoom)

Re: Having trouble building GZDoom.

Postby tacticalcraptical » Thu Sep 05, 2019 8:09 am

That is interesting,the right stick (which I guess is the maybe the equivalent of your right touch pad) maps fine, I can even use double binds with it, which I use for weapon select.

I have not played PayDay 2 VR and I am trying to picture what you mean, maybe I need to play it. One thing I do use sometimes, especially for mods that don't work with the 3D weapon models, is this laser sight mod viewtopic.php?f=43&t=61079.

Well, no pressure! If you did manage to do it, I know that myself and probably Mr. "UPDATE THE BASE VERSION FOR CHRISTSSAKE", would be eternally grateful :)
tacticalcraptical
 
Joined: 12 Aug 2019
Github ID: Jacob
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8 64-bit


Return to Technical Issues

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest