Page 1 of 1

Can't Pick Up Certain Weapons

PostPosted: Thu Aug 01, 2019 2:28 pm
by Samuel Wunderwell
So i just got a new pc, and downloaded gzdoom. I decided to replay the mod prodoomer, though for some reason i can only pick up specific weapons. I can only pick up things like the shotgun, ssg, rocket launcher, and uzi. Everything else i just walk over, and even using the "give all" command just gives me those specific weapons. I can even pick up ammo for the guns i can't use. What's up with it?

Re: Can't Pick Up Certain Weapons

PostPosted: Thu Aug 01, 2019 2:46 pm
by _mental_
It seems, author doesn’t care. He didn’t report any bugs (regressions may appear in any software) nor did not update his mod (new versions of GZDoom can reveal old bugs). Unfortunately, such attitude is pretty usual.

Re: Can't Pick Up Certain Weapons

PostPosted: Fri Aug 02, 2019 3:29 pm
by Figgy McSquiggins
bro wth. That sucks. So I guess I'm gonna have to download a previous gzdoom? This is op btw, i actually made an account now.

Re: Can't Pick Up Certain Weapons

PostPosted: Sat Aug 03, 2019 1:05 am
by Graf Zahl
_mental_ wrote:It seems, author doesn’t care. He didn’t report any bugs (regressions may appear in any software) nor did not update his mod (new versions of GZDoom can reveal old bugs). Unfortunately, such attitude is pretty usual.


And since this mod is huge, with lots of complex DECORATE 'programming', it's hard to analyze without a stripped down example.

Re: Can't Pick Up Certain Weapons

PostPosted: Sat Aug 03, 2019 5:20 am
by Rachael
Figgy McSquiggins wrote:bro wth. That sucks. So I guess I'm gonna have to download a previous gzdoom? This is op btw, i actually made an account now.

Unless you can figure out what broke, that might be your only option. Or try to convince the author of that mod to fix it, but good luck with that.

It probably has like thousands of unsupported hacks, anyway, and he might be one of those "wonderful" people who blames the GZDoom devs for literally everything - when it was he, not the GZDoom devs, who insisted on using those hacks in the first place.

Re: Can't Pick Up Certain Weapons

PostPosted: Sat Aug 03, 2019 5:33 am
by drfrag
PsychoSilverTH wrote:works well in version 3.5.1 of GZDoom because version 3.7.2 shows many errors

Which errors? Which is the last version running it? The mod file itself is huge and i'm not going to download it.

Re: Can't Pick Up Certain Weapons

PostPosted: Sat Aug 03, 2019 6:50 am
by _mental_
It became broken somewhere between 3.7.1 and 3.7.2. I'm looking into this right now.

Re: Can't Pick Up Certain Weapons

PostPosted: Sat Aug 03, 2019 7:54 am
by _mental_
Behold, it was broken by my commit that fixed font scaling. How come?

Author invented a pretty cool optimization: to use sprite texture NULLA0 (88 bytes in size) as a font. When texture use types were properly applied to fonts, sprite NULLA0 cannot be found anymore, as now it becomes a font texture.
This thing was enough to introduce bunch of issues. Apparently, such great optimization opportunity is a must for 350 MB mod.

I pushed the fix just because I'm a kind person. Too kind, I must say. Honestly, such trickery doesn't deserve to be fixed.
I don't even want to think about potential issues with screwing texture use types other than sprites.

Re: Can't Pick Up Certain Weapons

PostPosted: Sat Aug 03, 2019 1:58 pm
by drfrag
Crazy stuff. :shock: I wonder what he was smoking... :?:

Re: Can't Pick Up Certain Weapons

PostPosted: Fri Aug 09, 2019 4:33 am
by Graf Zahl
Nothing. I had to undo _mental_'s original change because it was causing more problems elsewhere. The only real solution is to clone the texture to give it a different use type. The originals may not be overwritten.

Re: Can't Pick Up Certain Weapons

PostPosted: Sat Aug 10, 2019 5:37 pm
by Figgy McSquiggins
Now time for a new question (if anyone sees it, figured id comment here before posting a new thread). So I just got a 144 hz monitor, feelin good, my eyes are melting, but when im playing doom, again prodoomer, i keep getting a random skip. Doesn't feel like a frame drop, more so my position is jumping around like a centimeter past where it should be. It seems to happen only when im moving and looking around at the same time, not when just doing one or the other. Seems to happen to only happen with prodoomer. Getting kind of annoying.