latest gzdoom freezes after a few minutes

Need help running G/Q/ZDoom/ECWolf/Zandronum/3DGE? Did your computer break? Ask here.

Moderator: GZDoom Developers

lafoxxx
Posts: 20
Joined: Thu Mar 20, 2008 8:43 am
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8/201x 64-bit
OS Test Version: No (Using Stable Public Version)
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support
Location: Moscow, Russia

Re: latest gzdoom freezes after a few minutes

Post by lafoxxx »

Built debug openal32 successfully using cmake-3.14.0-rc3-win64-x64 GUI
vs2019 project https://drive.google.com/open?id=1iVHjv ... iUxvSuv6Zt
Problem reproduced.
Im afraid I don't have enough experience to see what's going on. Is that where these "hints" are supposed to be?
[imgur]https://imgur.com/a/ExS8YSK[/imgur]
Crash dump: https://drive.google.com/open?id=1Bo6DW ... tTY9DtVEfW
_mental_
 
 
Posts: 3771
Joined: Sun Aug 07, 2011 4:32 am

Re: latest gzdoom freezes after a few minutes

Post by _mental_ »

I would look for two (or maybe more) threads that wait on the same critical section. This is relatively easy to do using Parallel Stacks window in Visual Studio.
BTW, you can copy/paste a callstack from the corresponding window. There is no need to create screenshots.
lafoxxx
Posts: 20
Joined: Thu Mar 20, 2008 8:43 am
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8/201x 64-bit
OS Test Version: No (Using Stable Public Version)
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support
Location: Moscow, Russia

Re: latest gzdoom freezes after a few minutes

Post by lafoxxx »

Tried Attaching debugger to Process.
Checked twice -- freeze occured when trying to use some kind of EFX (according to code), which is a common thing in PSXDOOM TC maps (Reverb).
Still not sure what particular Effect might be causing this -- when I played, Reverb seemed to work fine. Maybe I'll investigate this later.

Anyway, disabling SND_EFX seems to have resolved the issue.

Doublechecked -- loaded map61 Attack and ran through the entire level with Noclip, so that Reverb Environments could change quickly.
As soon as I've enabled EFX, restarted sound and walked through the map -- gzdoom froze after a while.

I'll try testing further (wanted to play psxdoom anyway), and get back with results.

Thanks for your assistance so far.
lafoxxx
Posts: 20
Joined: Thu Mar 20, 2008 8:43 am
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8/201x 64-bit
OS Test Version: No (Using Stable Public Version)
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support
Location: Moscow, Russia

Re: latest gzdoom freezes after a few minutes

Post by lafoxxx »

Seems fixed in latest GZdoom 4.4.2.
lafoxxx
Posts: 20
Joined: Thu Mar 20, 2008 8:43 am
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8/201x 64-bit
OS Test Version: No (Using Stable Public Version)
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support
Location: Moscow, Russia

Re: latest gzdoom freezes after a few minutes

Post by lafoxxx »

Graf Zahl wrote:Prepare to buy some new hardware soon. This sounds like some component in your system is coming close to the end of its lifespan.

Fixed by replacing the sound card. Shouldn't have questioned the above response.

@mods pls close the thread

Return to “Technical Issues”