Steam libraries and doom Wads

Need help running G/Q/ZDoom/ECWolf/Zandronum/3DGE? Did your computer break? Ask here.

Moderator: GZDoom Developers

Steam libraries and doom Wads

Postby MajorFoley » Mon Dec 03, 2018 12:42 am

Hi guys so the DOOM wads were found fine on my old PC however when i moved gzdoom to my new PC it's having an issue finding them. My default directory for steam is my C:\ SSD drive but my games library are on a steam library in my F:\ drive. When i moved the games back to the SSD GZdoom has no issues finding them but if i move them elsewhere thats not there or the GZdoom folder it doesn't find them. This intentional or is something going on?
MajorFoley
 
Joined: 17 Feb 2013

Re: Steam libraries and doom Wads

Postby Graf Zahl » Mon Dec 03, 2018 2:45 am

GZDoom needs to know where Steam stores its data. By moving it around you have apparently severed the tie between this data and the information pointing to it.
Did you move the files from within Steam or by using Explorer?
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom Developer
Lead GZDoom Developer
 
Joined: 19 Jul 2003
Location: Germany

Re: Steam libraries and doom Wads

Postby MajorFoley » Mon Dec 03, 2018 3:52 am

Graf Zahl wrote:GZDoom needs to know where Steam stores its data. By moving it around you have apparently severed the tie between this data and the information pointing to it.
Did you move the files from within Steam or by using Explorer?

When i was moving to the new PC i first installed steam on the SSD which had absolutely no games on it, then copied my steam library folder from my other PC to this ones HDD and pointed steam towards it. I did try just reinstalling the games into the steam library folder but it didn't like that either.
MajorFoley
 
Joined: 17 Feb 2013

Re: Steam libraries and doom Wads

Postby Graf Zahl » Mon Dec 03, 2018 6:26 am

Yes, in that case GZDoom loses the information where to find it. For that Steam needs to be reinstalled with the new folder.
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom Developer
Lead GZDoom Developer
 
Joined: 19 Jul 2003
Location: Germany

Re: Steam libraries and doom Wads

Postby MajorFoley » Mon Dec 03, 2018 11:50 am

Graf Zahl wrote:Yes, in that case GZDoom loses the information where to find it. For that Steam needs to be reinstalled with the new folder.


I didn't copy/paste steam i gave it a fresh install on the SSD and just copied over the games from the steamapps folder to my HDD library folder instead how is that losing info? When i get up (4am here) I'll take out my old PC and check because im damn sure that was on the HDD and found it fine, could be mistaken.
MajorFoley
 
Joined: 17 Feb 2013

Re: Steam libraries and doom Wads

Postby wildweasel » Mon Dec 03, 2018 12:09 pm

MajorFoley wrote:
Graf Zahl wrote:Yes, in that case GZDoom loses the information where to find it. For that Steam needs to be reinstalled with the new folder.


I didn't copy/paste steam i gave it a fresh install on the SSD and just copied over the games from the steamapps folder to my HDD library folder instead how is that losing info? When i get up (4am here) I'll take out my old PC and check because im damn sure that was on the HDD and found it fine, could be mistaken.

You need to do the entire process of installation "legit." You can't just copy the library - you need to install Steam from its installer, and install Doom through Steam. This is because the install process adds registry entries so that Windows knows where the game is "supposed" to be, and those registry entries are what GZDoom needs to identify where a Doom install lives. Moving the folder around means it's no longer living in the place where it's registered, and GZDoom has no idea where to.
User avatar
wildweasel
「お前はもうトースト」[you are already toast.]
Moderator Team Lead
 
Joined: 15 Jul 2003

Re: Steam libraries and doom Wads

Postby MajorFoley » Mon Dec 03, 2018 12:14 pm

wildweasel wrote:
MajorFoley wrote:
Graf Zahl wrote:Yes, in that case GZDoom loses the information where to find it. For that Steam needs to be reinstalled with the new folder.


I didn't copy/paste steam i gave it a fresh install on the SSD and just copied over the games from the steamapps folder to my HDD library folder instead how is that losing info? When i get up (4am here) I'll take out my old PC and check because im damn sure that was on the HDD and found it fine, could be mistaken.

You need to do the entire process of installation "legit." You can't just copy the library - you need to install Steam from its installer, and install Doom through Steam. This is because the install process adds registry entries so that Windows knows where the game is "supposed" to be, and those registry entries are what GZDoom needs to identify where a Doom install lives. Moving the folder around means it's no longer living in the place where it's registered, and GZDoom has no idea where to.

Which i ended up trying and it didn't work either. I think i mentioned that in my 2nd post if i didn't I apologise but i did uninstall all DOOM's. Closed steam restarted my PC and reinstalled them. Still didnt change anything
MajorFoley
 
Joined: 17 Feb 2013

Re: Steam libraries and doom Wads

Postby Rachael » Mon Dec 03, 2018 12:32 pm

I think it should be noted that GZDoom cannot detect Doom installs in external libraries. I don't know if that's intentional or not or just a shortcoming of how the feature was implemented, but Doom must be installed to Steam's internal library in order for GZDoom to detect it.
User avatar
Rachael
Webmaster
 
Joined: 13 Jan 2004
Discord: Rachael#3767
Twitch ID: madamerachelle
Github ID: madame-rachelle

Re: Steam libraries and doom Wads

Postby MajorFoley » Tue Dec 04, 2018 1:35 am

Rachael wrote:I think it should be noted that GZDoom cannot detect Doom installs in external libraries. I don't know if that's intentional or not or just a shortcoming of how the feature was implemented, but Doom must be installed to Steam's internal library in order for GZDoom to detect it.

Just booted up my old PC and yeah they found it, but im pretty sure also Steam was installed on that HDD to begin with so you may be right. I think i'll just move it for now and hope one day it will detect external libraries, would be great. I do remember people saying you can change the paths, could i make it discover the doom files by pointing to the commons folder so it can find every wad or do i have to point them to the specific folders each time? (so i would have to add a line for each doom wad)
MajorFoley
 
Joined: 17 Feb 2013


Return to Technical Issues

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest