OpenGL2 card? Don't update it to 3.3

Need help running G/Q/ZDoom/ECWolf/Zandronum/3DGE? Did your computer break? Ask here.

Moderator: GZDoom Developers

OpenGL2 card? Don't update it to 3.3

Postby Darkcrafter » Fri Oct 12, 2018 2:57 pm

Got an old ATI Radeon HD 2400 PRO graphics card here and one day I just googled for it and found out that the latest 2012 driver allows to update default GL2.0 version to GL3.3 and shading language to 3 (or 4 nevermind). I assumed in the beginning of it how awesome it was, but it turned out the opposite! All the GL3 features now really work, but it has got massive slow down to it! I can't even call it a slideshow! Guess what? The software renderer became slow as hell either. This driver update affects the same way gzdoom and skulltag. All the rest games like Battlefield 2, CS Source and others are totally ok with that. CS Source automatically changed my graphics settings to higher.

So if you're still willing to have GL3 and GL4 effects then it's better to go and get a second hand gl3 or 4 card. Otherwise stay with GL2 and use older GZDoom versions.
Darkcrafter
 
Joined: 23 Sep 2017
Location: Russia

Re: OpenGL2 card? Don't update it to 3.3

Postby TDRR » Tue Dec 04, 2018 11:23 am

Please don't do this, it's rather stupid and almost never works correctly.

The reason Battlefield 2 and Counter Strike are okay with it is that they don't use OpenGL at all. If you want to have GL3 effects you need to use the MesaGL software renderer found around in the internet, it's quite slow, but you can manage 50fps on relatively potent dual-core computers.
User avatar
TDRR
putting jelly on this hot dog
 
Joined: 11 Mar 2018
Location: Venezuela

Re: OpenGL2 card? Don't update it to 3.3

Postby wildweasel » Tue Dec 04, 2018 11:40 am

TDRR wrote:Please don't do this, it's rather stupid and almost never works correctly.

The reason Battlefield 2 and Counter Strike are okay with it is that they don't use OpenGL at all. If you want to have GL3 effects you need to use the MesaGL software renderer found around in the internet, it's quite slow, but you can manage 50fps on relatively potent dual-core computers.

So you're suggesting to solve slowdown with something that comes with more slowdown. :?
User avatar
wildweasel
「お前はもうトースト」[you are already toast.]
Moderator Team Lead
 
Joined: 15 Jul 2003

Re: OpenGL2 card? Don't update it to 3.3

Postby Graf Zahl » Tue Dec 04, 2018 11:44 am

Mesa is not a solution. Even on my rather good system it's too slow.

The only thing that's going to help with such old hardware is buying new one. Even a second hand entry level card will do magic in such a system, unless, of course it's a laptop where the graphics hardware cannot be changed.
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom Developer
 
Joined: 19 Jul 2003
Location: Germany

Re: OpenGL2 card? Don't update it to 3.3

Postby TDRR » Tue Dec 04, 2018 12:10 pm

Graf Zahl wrote:Mesa is not a solution. Even on my rather good system it's too slow.

The only thing that's going to help with such old hardware is buying new one. Even a second hand entry level card will do magic in such a system, unless, of course it's a laptop where the graphics hardware cannot be changed.


That's weird, it ran pretty okay (20fps at worst on non-iwad maps) on my 3GHz Dual-Core PC (I needed to use it because GL kept crashing randomly) but that was when GL3 features weren't around so maybe that had something to do with it. Unfortunately that PC died, which really sucks because it ran many mods very well and this laptop can't even run Argent without dropping into the twenties.

Perhaps you can use this alternative and set the resolution to 640x480 or below, which should be a lot faster than Mesa. (Do note that recent versions of Mesa3D software renderer include this, and i assume you guys were using the old Mesa llvmpipe)

EDIT: Apparently this doesn't work anymore in recent versions of GZDoom, because it just uses my IGPU. I did get lower FPS but i really doubt it's Mesa because i'm getting 40fps on a system that struggles with Half-Life 2
User avatar
TDRR
putting jelly on this hot dog
 
Joined: 11 Mar 2018
Location: Venezuela

Re: OpenGL2 card? Don't update it to 3.3

Postby drfrag » Sun Dec 09, 2018 4:43 am

Mesa3D For Windows sometimes works sometimes it doesn't i think mostly depends on your graphics card. On nvidia it works but then you most likely don't need it.
This works well for the vintage build and software mode (all cards) using -the glversion 2 switch.
And also is playable for the 1.9.x GL renderer in ZDoom32 at low resolutions. Recent versions are faster due to being compiled with LLVM 6. OpenSWR is pretty much the same, probably even worse.
User avatar
drfrag
I.R developer, I.R smart
Vintage GZDoom Developer
 
Joined: 23 Apr 2004
Location: Spain

Re: OpenGL2 card? Don't update it to 3.3

Postby Darkcrafter » Wed Dec 26, 2018 2:56 pm

I did update my opengl version to 3.3 accidentaly, I never knew it might result in this :evil: I tried to do many things to revert the things to the previous state but it seems like it's impossible.

By the way, GZDoom version 2.1.9 works best in this case now. It already has an opengl renderer that allows to stack many 3d floors on top of each other while preserving good performance, it lacks any portal support though, so I had to use silent line teleporters to optimize maps for older hardware.
Darkcrafter
 
Joined: 23 Sep 2017
Location: Russia

Re: OpenGL2 card? Don't update it to 3.3

Postby Darkcrafter » Wed Dec 26, 2018 3:01 pm

You may call me crazy here (b**dy Russians). I once converted my map into md3 model. It had the same performance that its sector based counterpart had. I think it's because the renderer renders all the polygons that aren't visible in a current viewpoint (frustrum?)
Darkcrafter
 
Joined: 23 Sep 2017
Location: Russia

Re: OpenGL2 card? Don't update it to 3.3

Postby Graf Zahl » Wed Dec 26, 2018 3:55 pm

What you did can help, but only on modern hardware. On older cards the limiting factor is the graphics hardware's rasterizer and if that's the case no CPU-side optimization will help you make things faster.
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom Developer
 
Joined: 19 Jul 2003
Location: Germany

Re: OpenGL2 card? Don't update it to 3.3

Postby Darkcrafter » Fri Dec 28, 2018 9:06 am

That's right, btw. I just found out I lied on the version that works the best here, it's actually 1.9.0 :oops:
Darkcrafter
 
Joined: 23 Sep 2017
Location: Russia

Re: OpenGL2 card? Don't update it to 3.3

Postby Darkcrafter » Thu Jan 24, 2019 2:43 pm

I have good news. Let's get to it from the begining of the story. Well I tried to flash the card's BIOS to the old 2007 version found on the web and it didn't help, the card still has 3.3 support to it. I found out that GZDoom has a key "-glversion 3" that allows it to run under gl version 3.0 I suppose? I just copied my user *.ini file with settings from GZDoom version 3.7 to GZDoom version 3.1 and it works like there was no driver update. But for now it even has working pallette shader, that's exactly what it didn't do before, unfortunately my lovely software sector light mode doesn't work anymore. But that's it. GZDoom 3.1 with "-glversion 3" parameter works. Alles gut.
Darkcrafter
 
Joined: 23 Sep 2017
Location: Russia


Return to Technical Issues

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Yandex [Bot] and 2 guests