GZDoom 3.5.0 Input Lag

Need help running G/Q/ZDoom/ECWolf/Zandronum/3DGE? Did your computer break? Ask here.

Moderator: GZDoom Developers

GZDoom 3.5.0 Input Lag

Postby JustAGuy » Sat Aug 04, 2018 7:31 am

Since the new version of GZDoom is running in some sort of borderless windowed mode if I'm right, the mouse movement has input lag like if V-Sync would've been turned on.
This has bothered me so much to the point of switching back to 3.4.1.
Is there like a workaround or any chances of this being fixed in future releases?
JustAGuy
 
Joined: 29 Nov 2017

Re: GZDoom 3.5.0 Input Lag

Postby dpJudas » Sat Aug 04, 2018 8:13 am

If you mean GZDoom in fullscreen, then the behavior is exactly as it has always been: when a window in Windows covers the entire monitor the Desktop Window Manager (DWM) is disabled and there is no additional input lag.

If the window is not maximized, the DWM is active and there's approximately 1 frame of delay with occasional frame stuttering. This is a limitation of Microsoft's shitty DWM implementation - there's nothing we can do to fix that. Given that Microsoft now had 12 years to fix this, chances are they don't give a shit. :(
dpJudas
 
 
 
Joined: 28 May 2016

Re: GZDoom 3.5.0 Input Lag

Postby JustAGuy » Sat Aug 04, 2018 8:54 am

Ah I see, though it looks like DWM is active even on fullscreen since there is input lag, however it does not happen on 3.4.1.
Since I can't really get used to it, I will just stay on 3.4.1.
Also, thanks for the quick answer!

Edit: I just tried the Vintage version and it seems there's no input lag in this one, the mouse movement feels smooth and right.
JustAGuy
 
Joined: 29 Nov 2017

Re: GZDoom 3.5.0 Input Lag

Postby dpJudas » Sat Aug 04, 2018 9:21 am

Are you sure you are using identical ini files for both? I.e. if you forgot to disable vsync in the new one. There shouldn't be any difference with regard to input lag between 3.4.1 and 3.5
dpJudas
 
 
 
Joined: 28 May 2016

Re: GZDoom 3.5.0 Input Lag

Postby JustAGuy » Sat Aug 04, 2018 10:03 am

No, I never use V-Sync.
JustAGuy
 
Joined: 29 Nov 2017

Re: GZDoom 3.5.0 Input Lag

Postby Mynameislol » Sun Aug 25, 2019 10:49 am

Sorry for this massive bump, but i was about to make a new thread.

I can confirm that in both the latest vintage build and GZDoom version 3.4.1 there is no input lag, while every version after it has.

This is very noticeable on 144hz+ refresh rates, and makes the mouse movement feel really sluggish.

To confirm that it wasn't just a placebo, i made some slow-motion recordings with my phone, there i could very clearly see the delayed mouse movement.
User avatar
Mynameislol
 
Joined: 02 Feb 2017

Re: GZDoom 3.5.0 Input Lag

Postby drfrag » Mon Aug 26, 2019 2:23 pm

Most likely new display code and not so great hardware, try LZDoom.
User avatar
drfrag
I.R developer, I.R smart
Vintage GZDoom Developer
 
Joined: 23 Apr 2004
Location: Spain

Re: GZDoom 3.5.0 Input Lag

Postby Graf Zahl » Mon Aug 26, 2019 3:16 pm

It may also be the new timer code that got introduced around the same time. Hard to tell without system specs.
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom Developer
Lead GZDoom Developer
 
Joined: 19 Jul 2003
Location: Germany

Re: GZDoom 3.5.0 Input Lag

Postby Mynameislol » Mon Aug 26, 2019 4:43 pm

LZDoom did not have any input lag whatsoever, my system specs are

I7-6700k 4Ghz, 32GB DDR4 RAM @ 3666 Mhz, Geforce GTX 1080 TI Stock

Operating System is Windows 10.
User avatar
Mynameislol
 
Joined: 02 Feb 2017

Re: GZDoom 3.5.0 Input Lag

Postby drfrag » Tue Aug 27, 2019 6:00 am

The new timer code predated GZDoom 3.3.2, it's in the legacy versions.
User avatar
drfrag
I.R developer, I.R smart
Vintage GZDoom Developer
 
Joined: 23 Apr 2004
Location: Spain

Re: GZDoom 3.5.0 Input Lag

Postby Graf Zahl » Tue Aug 27, 2019 6:51 am

Ok. I wasn't sure about the exact date. Still, this is weird. On such modern hardware the 3.5 changes shouldn't have such an effect.
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom Developer
Lead GZDoom Developer
 
Joined: 19 Jul 2003
Location: Germany

Re: GZDoom 3.5.0 Input Lag

Postby Mynameislol » Tue Aug 27, 2019 3:12 pm

I've been reading a bit, and it the reason why there's input lag is because windows 10 uses something called DWM, but it's disabled in fullscreen applications
User avatar
Mynameislol
 
Joined: 02 Feb 2017

Re: GZDoom 3.5.0 Input Lag

Postby Mynameislol » Sun Sep 08, 2019 5:43 pm

Ok, i've compared with older versions, and while there are indeed less input lag in previous versions, with nvidia's latest driver updates and the new "Ultra-Low Latency" feature, it's more subtle.

However, comparing with the Quake II sourceport "Yamagi Quake II", the difference is clear as night an day, which makes me think, maybe GZDoom/ZDoom needs a mouse input overhaul?
User avatar
Mynameislol
 
Joined: 02 Feb 2017


Return to Technical Issues

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest