3.5.0 - My Experience

Need help running G/Q/ZDoom/ECWolf/Zandronum/3DGE? Did your computer break? Ask here.

Moderator: GZDoom Developers

3.5.0 - My Experience

Postby SPZ1 » Thu Aug 02, 2018 5:08 pm

My experience is as follows:

3.5.0 (64-bit) (Modern) - Tried with both Doom 2 and Hexen : Both took over 3 minutes to load so I exited the program (with a menu that Windows displays over the hanging program)

3.5.0 (32-bit) (Vintage) - Both Doom 2 and Hexen load after approx. 30 - 45 seconds and seem to work correctly :-?
User avatar
SPZ1
 
Joined: 02 Aug 2017
Location: Illinois

Re: 3.5.0 - My Experience

Postby wildweasel » Thu Aug 02, 2018 8:42 pm

What are your hardware specs?
User avatar
wildweasel
「お前はもうトースト」[you are already toast.]
Moderator Team Lead
 
Joined: 15 Jul 2003

Re: 3.5.0 - My Experience

Postby Project Dark Fox » Thu Aug 02, 2018 9:32 pm

That is a very long time to load in both cases. Doom and Doom II take no more than three seconds to load for me in 3.5.0.
User avatar
Project Dark Fox
Married Furry Anxiety Bucket
 
Joined: 14 Jul 2005
Location: Louisville, KY USA
Twitch ID: ProjectDarkFox

Re: 3.5.0 - My Experience

Postby Graf Zahl » Fri Aug 03, 2018 1:25 am

For me it loads 5-10 seconds depending on what gets autoloaded. Even 30-45 seconds is way too much.
I second WildWeasel: What's your hardware specs? And what are you autoloading?
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom Developer
 
Joined: 19 Jul 2003
Location: Germany

Re: 3.5.0 - My Experience

Postby SPZ1 » Fri Aug 03, 2018 11:37 am

What's your hardware specs?


64-bit 2.3 GHz Intel core i3-6100U CPU (2 processors with Hyper Threading)
Intel HD Graphics 520 - 1 GB VRAM
4-GB DDR3 RAM


And what are you autoloading?


Nothing that I know of.
User avatar
SPZ1
 
Joined: 02 Aug 2017
Location: Illinois


Return to Technical Issues

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest