Low fps GZDoom 3.3

Need help running G/Q/ZDoom/ECWolf/Zandronum/3DGE? Did your computer break? Ask here.

Moderator: Developers

Low fps GZDoom 3.3

Postby Martix10 » Sun Oct 22, 2017 8:29 pm

In 2.5 or lower was fine, but after I updated to 3.3 my fps rate droped from 60 to 20. Is this caused because I have an AMD graphics card ?
Martix10
 
Joined: 30 Jul 2014

Re: Low fps GZDoom 3.3

Postby Rachael » Sun Oct 22, 2017 8:31 pm

Does it go back up again when you do "gl_renderbuffers false" in the console?
User avatar
Rachael
QZDoom + Webmaster
 
Joined: 13 Jan 2004

Re: Low fps GZDoom 3.3

Postby Martix10 » Sun Oct 22, 2017 9:11 pm

I tried that, the entire gzdoom window become black, but still running.
Martix10
 
Joined: 30 Jul 2014

Re: Low fps GZDoom 3.3

Postby Rachael » Sun Oct 22, 2017 9:12 pm

I'm sorry then, I don't know what more you can do to speed things up then.
User avatar
Rachael
QZDoom + Webmaster
 
Joined: 13 Jan 2004

Re: Low fps GZDoom 3.3

Postby Nevander » Tue Oct 24, 2017 1:55 am

Buy Nvidia. That's how I am going to fix my FPS problems.
User avatar
Nevander
The Doomslayer
 
Joined: 06 Jan 2014
Location: United States

Re: Low fps GZDoom 3.3

Postby Rachael » Tue Oct 24, 2017 5:15 am

Please don't respond to technical issues threads with "buy X or Y". You may state that NVidia has less problems with GZDoom than ATI (which is factual), but telling someone to buy it is dismissive and inconsiderate.
User avatar
Rachael
QZDoom + Webmaster
 
Joined: 13 Jan 2004

Re: Low fps GZDoom 3.3

Postby drfrag » Tue Oct 24, 2017 5:53 am

Both GZDoom 2.5 and 3.3 don't exist. Which cpu? If it's not at least a dual core disable EFX for OpenAL.
@Rachael: unrelated but where is the QZDoom 2.0.1 download link?
User avatar
drfrag
I.R developer, I.R smart
 
Joined: 23 Apr 2004
Location: Spain

Re: Low fps GZDoom 3.3

Postby Rachael » Tue Oct 24, 2017 5:58 am

There is none. You may be referring to the dev builds, which internally refer to themselves as 2.1.0.

If I had announced it I may never have gotten around to releasing it - in which case GZDoom 3.2 supersedes it anyway.
User avatar
Rachael
QZDoom + Webmaster
 
Joined: 13 Jan 2004

Re: Low fps GZDoom 3.3

Postby drfrag » Tue Oct 24, 2017 6:06 am

User avatar
drfrag
I.R developer, I.R smart
 
Joined: 23 Apr 2004
Location: Spain

Re: Low fps GZDoom 3.3

Postby Rachael » Tue Oct 24, 2017 6:12 am

Yeah that was something I just never got around to releasing. "2.0.1" refers to a version that I had intended to create, but there were some non-technical issues at the time which prevented that from coming to full fruition.
User avatar
Rachael
QZDoom + Webmaster
 
Joined: 13 Jan 2004

Re: Low fps GZDoom 3.3

Postby Martix10 » Wed Oct 25, 2017 8:13 pm

Can't change gpu or cpu, using a notebook.Core I5, AMD 8670M.
Martix10
 
Joined: 30 Jul 2014

Re: Low fps GZDoom 3.3

Postby Graf Zahl » Thu Oct 26, 2017 1:09 am

This doesn't sound like a hardware related problem.
If you run both versions in parallel, does it still happen? And what the official releases (3.0, 3.1 etc.?) It sounds a bit odd that it only happens with the latest one.
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom Developer
 
Joined: 19 Jul 2003
Location: Germany

Re: Low fps GZDoom 3.3

Postby Martix10 » Fri Oct 27, 2017 4:58 pm

Well I think I found the problem .. Don't know how but I set the multisample to 32x and the FXAA to High :bang: , disabling both of them give my 60fps back again.
Sorry for being so dumb :oops: :(
Martix10
 
Joined: 30 Jul 2014

Re: Low fps GZDoom 3.3

Postby Rachael » Fri Oct 27, 2017 6:50 pm

That's not dumb. Not everyone would think to look at such variables in the first place - and to be quite honest I have fallen into this trap, myself.
User avatar
Rachael
QZDoom + Webmaster
 
Joined: 13 Jan 2004


Return to Technical Issues

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests