Low fps GZDoom 3.3

Need help running G/Q/ZDoom/ECWolf/Zandronum/3DGE? Did your computer break? Ask here.

Low fps GZDoom 3.3

Postby Martix10 » Sun Oct 22, 2017 8:29 pm

In 2.5 or lower was fine, but after I updated to 3.3 my fps rate droped from 60 to 20. Is this caused because I have an AMD graphics card ?
Martix10
 
Joined: 30 Jul 2014

Re: Low fps GZDoom 3.3

Postby Rachael » Sun Oct 22, 2017 8:31 pm

Does it go back up again when you do "gl_renderbuffers false" in the console?
User avatar
Rachael
QZDoom Project Lead + Webmaster
 
Joined: 13 Jan 2004

Re: Low fps GZDoom 3.3

Postby Martix10 » Sun Oct 22, 2017 9:11 pm

I tried that, the entire gzdoom window become black, but still running.
Martix10
 
Joined: 30 Jul 2014

Re: Low fps GZDoom 3.3

Postby Rachael » Sun Oct 22, 2017 9:12 pm

I'm sorry then, I don't know what more you can do to speed things up then.
User avatar
Rachael
QZDoom Project Lead + Webmaster
 
Joined: 13 Jan 2004

Re: Low fps GZDoom 3.3

Postby Nevander » Tue Oct 24, 2017 1:55 am

Buy Nvidia. That's how I am going to fix my FPS problems.
User avatar
Nevander
The Doomslayer
 
Joined: 06 Jan 2014
Location: United States

Re: Low fps GZDoom 3.3

Postby Rachael » Tue Oct 24, 2017 5:15 am

Please don't respond to technical issues threads with "buy X or Y". You may state that NVidia has less problems with GZDoom than ATI (which is factual), but telling someone to buy it is dismissive and inconsiderate.
User avatar
Rachael
QZDoom Project Lead + Webmaster
 
Joined: 13 Jan 2004

Re: Low fps GZDoom 3.3

Postby drfrag » Tue Oct 24, 2017 5:53 am

Both GZDoom 2.5 and 3.3 don't exist. Which cpu? If it's not at least a dual core disable EFX for OpenAL.
@Rachael: unrelated but where is the QZDoom 2.0.1 download link?
User avatar
drfrag
ZDoom32 developer.
 
Joined: 23 Apr 2004
Location: Spain

Re: Low fps GZDoom 3.3

Postby Rachael » Tue Oct 24, 2017 5:58 am

There is none. You may be referring to the dev builds, which internally refer to themselves as 2.1.0.

If I had announced it I may never have gotten around to releasing it - in which case GZDoom 3.2 supersedes it anyway.
User avatar
Rachael
QZDoom Project Lead + Webmaster
 
Joined: 13 Jan 2004

Re: Low fps GZDoom 3.3

Postby drfrag » Tue Oct 24, 2017 6:06 am

User avatar
drfrag
ZDoom32 developer.
 
Joined: 23 Apr 2004
Location: Spain

Re: Low fps GZDoom 3.3

Postby Rachael » Tue Oct 24, 2017 6:12 am

Yeah that was something I just never got around to releasing. "2.0.1" refers to a version that I had intended to create, but there were some non-technical issues at the time which prevented that from coming to full fruition.
User avatar
Rachael
QZDoom Project Lead + Webmaster
 
Joined: 13 Jan 2004

Re: Low fps GZDoom 3.3

Postby Martix10 » Wed Oct 25, 2017 8:13 pm

Can't change gpu or cpu, using a notebook.Core I5, AMD 8670M.
Martix10
 
Joined: 30 Jul 2014

Re: Low fps GZDoom 3.3

Postby Graf Zahl » Thu Oct 26, 2017 1:09 am

This doesn't sound like a hardware related problem.
If you run both versions in parallel, does it still happen? And what the official releases (3.0, 3.1 etc.?) It sounds a bit odd that it only happens with the latest one.
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom Developer
 
Joined: 19 Jul 2003
Location: Germany

Re: Low fps GZDoom 3.3

Postby Martix10 » Fri Oct 27, 2017 4:58 pm

Well I think I found the problem .. Don't know how but I set the multisample to 32x and the FXAA to High :bang: , disabling both of them give my 60fps back again.
Sorry for being so dumb :oops: :(
Martix10
 
Joined: 30 Jul 2014

Re: Low fps GZDoom 3.3

Postby Rachael » Fri Oct 27, 2017 6:50 pm

That's not dumb. Not everyone would think to look at such variables in the first place - and to be quite honest I have fallen into this trap, myself.
User avatar
Rachael
QZDoom Project Lead + Webmaster
 
Joined: 13 Jan 2004


Return to Technical Issues

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest