Page 2 of 6

Re: No gun? No sprites? READ THIS!

PostPosted: Sun Aug 12, 2018 2:32 am
by Graf Zahl
I actually meant a screenshot from outside the pit. If you are in, the render hack won't be visible.

Re: No gun? No sprites? READ THIS!

PostPosted: Sun Aug 12, 2018 2:33 am
by Vash Sevingwater
Here's some screens I took using Zandronum 3.0 with OpenGL as the renderer. Everything is where it should be.

https://i.imgur.com/nPDsDrl.jpg

https://i.imgur.com/6Jw7A6g.jpg

I have Brutal Doom installed in these shots, but GZDoom behaves the same way it does without any mods installed if I run the same mods. No sprites, etc...

Here's GZDoom in Software mode.

https://i.imgur.com/ClSYwus.jpg

https://i.imgur.com/6Jw7A6g.jpg

https://i.imgur.com/pW9hQZB.jpg

Re: No gun? No sprites? READ THIS!

PostPosted: Sun Aug 12, 2018 2:40 am
by Vash Sevingwater

Re: No gun? No sprites? READ THIS!

PostPosted: Sun Aug 12, 2018 2:49 am
by Graf Zahl
Ok, so it's not the buffer setup itself that breaks sprites here. Shit, how am I supposed to find out what's up without any affected hardware?

Re: No gun? No sprites? READ THIS!

PostPosted: Sun Aug 12, 2018 3:59 am
by drfrag
Could this be related to how transparency in sprites is handled? I wonder what would happen with a fully opaque sprite.

Re: No gun? No sprites? READ THIS!

PostPosted: Sun Aug 12, 2018 4:04 am
by Graf Zahl
Other question: What does happen to a translucent wall?

Re: No gun? No sprites? READ THIS!

PostPosted: Sun Aug 12, 2018 5:02 am
by Gez
A quick way to test translucent walls is to use either of the test maps here. Besides the various pinkies (and optionally cacos), there are a few examples of normal and additive translucent midtextures.

Re: No gun? No sprites? READ THIS!

PostPosted: Sun Aug 12, 2018 5:48 am
by Vash Sevingwater
Checked out those test maps and took some screens.

Tranlucent walls disappear too. Looks like anything with any level of translucency is invisible for some reason.

Software:

https://i.imgur.com/LyARoMr.png

https://i.imgur.com/E7g1VUC.png

OpenGl:

https://i.imgur.com/Ii0j7LJ.png

https://i.imgur.com/f755vuh.png

Re: No gun? No sprites? READ THIS!

PostPosted: Mon Aug 13, 2018 6:08 am
by Medicris
Appreciate your work. I was thinking about PMing you if you needed a tester for this. Suppose this calls for it, though I've already rolled back: I'll get back to this sometime this week and let you know the results with the above tests. Anything else you want looked at?

Given you say you have no affected hardware, something I can do is send an RX 460 your way if it helps any. An RX 550 would be cheap as a new item, too.

Re: No gun? No sprites? READ THIS!

PostPosted: Mon Aug 13, 2018 6:22 am
by Graf Zahl
It's not that I cannot afford such a card. What I cannot afford is to put it into my computer and risk some system instability. I need that machine for professional work so the only hardware getting replaced is the one getting replaced permanently.

Re: No gun? No sprites? READ THIS!

PostPosted: Mon Aug 13, 2018 6:40 am
by drfrag
Can you try this wad in MAP01? Do you see anything? (zombiemen).

Re: No gun? No sprites? READ THIS!

PostPosted: Mon Aug 13, 2018 6:43 am
by Medicris
That's fair, it was an offer regardless to slap in some office prebuilt and test away. You said it yourself, it's a pain without the hardware. Because it's just for testing purposes, only the bare minimum is needed, it's free, and I'm not using it.

I'll test this when I re-update Radeon Software tomorrow or the next day.

Re: No gun? No sprites? READ THIS!

PostPosted: Mon Aug 13, 2018 9:15 am
by Contrabardus

Re: No gun? No sprites? READ THIS!

PostPosted: Mon Aug 13, 2018 10:37 am
by Sophie Mammlefoot
Using -glversion 2 seems to be a good workaround but OpenGL 2.x in GZDoom is... doomed.

Re: No gun? No sprites? READ THIS!

PostPosted: Mon Aug 13, 2018 12:05 pm
by Contrabardus
Sophie Mammlefoot wrote:Using -glversion 2 seems to be a good workaround but OpenGL 2.x in GZDoom is... doomed.


Can confirm this works. Sprites display by adding -glversion 2 as a launch option.

No VR mode unfortunately, it doesn't even appear in the menu anymore.

Fortunately, VR does work with Vive Doom if I use -glversion 2 as a launch option.

This is an acceptable workaround for the time being at any rate. At the least I can finally finish Final Doom in VR without having to roll back my drivers.