[Not a bug] [Fixed] Transparency not working (OGL)(Linux)(Q/GZDoom)

Need help running G/Q/ZDoom/ECWolf/Zandronum/3DGE? Did your computer break? Ask here.

Moderator: GZDoom Developers

[Fixed] Transparency not working (OGL)(Linux)(Q/GZDoom)

Postby 7HEPOW » Sun Aug 13, 2017 3:31 pm

Running GZDoom 3.2pre-401-g5c7b1ee8e / QZDoom 2.1pre+114+g7a1628458. Tested also in GZD 3.1 and QZD 2.0.

System is:
Manjaro 17.0.2 64Bit
Kernel Version 4.4.79
intel i7 6700
32GB RAM
NVidia GTX 1050Ti with driver Version 375.82 (OGL 4.5.0)

Happened also on earlier versions of kernel/driver/engine starting with the 2.0 branch of GZD.

Here's a shot of GZ running in OGL with doom.wad (Ultimate) at the end of E1M1:


A reference shot with brutalv20b-R3 in OGL/Software mode, as it appears on blood patches too. There's quite some Z-Fighting going on, but that's irrelevant for this... :)


Same happens in vanilla HACX again in OGL/Software


Also in Hexen...


It seems to be related to these other 2 threads:
viewtopic.php?f=7&t=57101
viewtopic.php?f=7&t=57108

My .ini files are attched in the zip file.

If there's more info I can provide, just let me know how. I more end user than coder, but I can figure stuff out... ;)
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Last edited by 7HEPOW on Thu Mar 07, 2019 2:27 am, edited 3 times in total.
User avatar
7HEPOW
 
Joined: 09 Aug 2017
Location: Germany
Operating System: Other Linux 64-bit
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: Transparency not working (OGL)(Linux)(Q/GZDoom)

Postby Rachael » Sun Aug 13, 2017 3:38 pm

I'm sorry. Unfortunately this is a driver issue - there is no bug here. :(

I've gone ahead and moved it to the appropriate forum for you, though. With the info you provided there might be someone who is able to help you with this.
User avatar
Rachael
Webmaster
 
Joined: 13 Jan 2004
Discord: Rachael#3767
Twitch ID: madamerachelle
Github ID: madame-rachelle
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8/201x 64-bit
OS Test Version: No (Using Stable Public Version)
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: Transparency not working (OGL)(Linux)(Q/GZDoom)

Postby 7HEPOW » Sun Aug 13, 2017 3:56 pm

Hmm... Interesting...

Thanks for moving it! :)

I'll have a deep dive into the driver then.
User avatar
7HEPOW
 
Joined: 09 Aug 2017
Location: Germany
Operating System: Other Linux 64-bit
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: Transparency not working (OGL)(Linux)(Q/GZDoom)

Postby 7HEPOW » Mon Aug 14, 2017 1:14 pm

Turning all driver settings to their defaults didn't help. I'll run through some more tests on GZD/QZD...
User avatar
7HEPOW
 
Joined: 09 Aug 2017
Location: Germany
Operating System: Other Linux 64-bit
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: Transparency not working (OGL)(Linux)(Q/GZDoom)

Postby Rachael » Mon Aug 14, 2017 7:23 pm

Have you tried changing the texture format in the OpenGL menu in-game?
User avatar
Rachael
Webmaster
 
Joined: 13 Jan 2004
Discord: Rachael#3767
Twitch ID: madamerachelle
Github ID: madame-rachelle
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8/201x 64-bit
OS Test Version: No (Using Stable Public Version)
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: Transparency not working (OGL)(Linux)(Q/GZDoom)

Postby abbuw » Tue Aug 15, 2017 2:19 pm

The only thing that I've found that helps with this issue is to have the textures with transparent bits have a slightly transparent value, something with an alpha of 254 is enough to make the textures look decent again.
User avatar
abbuw
Contact your poison control center.
 
Joined: 12 Jun 2012
Location: South Lake Hills

Re: Transparency not working (OGL)(Linux)(Q/GZDoom)

Postby Graf Zahl » Tue Aug 15, 2017 11:12 pm

That's not going to help, thoug because it introduces other issues because it can no longer treat alpha-masked textures as solid.
The problem here is that for some reason the alpha test in the shader does not work. I have no idea how that may even be possible.
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
 
Joined: 19 Jul 2003
Location: Germany

Re: Transparency not working (OGL)(Linux)(Q/GZDoom)

Postby 7HEPOW » Sat Aug 19, 2017 11:31 am

Interestingly, it's fixed. I killed off my config file and started from scratch. No transparency issues now. Just to be sure, I checked with the ini files in the OP and the issue is still there.
User avatar
7HEPOW
 
Joined: 09 Aug 2017
Location: Germany
Operating System: Other Linux 64-bit
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: Transparency not working (OGL)(Linux)(Q/GZDoom)

Postby Graf Zahl » Sat Aug 19, 2017 12:15 pm

gl_mask_sprite_threshold=0
gl_mask_threshold=0


No idea how those ended up 0. The default is 0.5 and setting them to 0 will indeed disable the alpha test.
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
 
Joined: 19 Jul 2003
Location: Germany

Re: Transparency not working (OGL)(Linux)(Q/GZDoom)

Postby 7HEPOW » Sat Aug 19, 2017 2:32 pm

Maybe some mod made this. If the setting can't be changed in the settings, that might be it. Good thing, I don't use too many mods, so it'll be probably easy to know which one it was.
User avatar
7HEPOW
 
Joined: 09 Aug 2017
Location: Germany
Operating System: Other Linux 64-bit
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: Transparency not working (OGL)(Linux)(Q/GZDoom)

Postby Graf Zahl » Sat Aug 19, 2017 2:56 pm

Unlikely. Mods cannot change internal CVARs. That is, unless you use Zandronum and its ill-motivated SetCVar ACS-function.
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
 
Joined: 19 Jul 2003
Location: Germany


Return to Technical Issues

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest