GZDoom crashes after upgrade to Ubuntu 17.04

Need help running G/Q/ZDoom/ECWolf/Zandronum/3DGE/EDuke32/Raze? Did your computer break? Ask here.

Moderator: GZDoom Developers

Forum rules
Contrary to popular belief, we are not all-knowing-all-seeing magical beings!

If you want help you're going to have to provide lots of info. Like what is your hardware, what is your operating system, what version of GZDoom/LZDoom/whatever you're using, what mods you're loading, how you're loading it, what you've already tried for fixing the problem, and anything else that is even remotely relevant to the problem.

We can't magically figure out what it is if you're going to be vague, and if we feel like you're just wasting our time with guessing games we will act like that's what you're really doing and won't help you.
Stormwalker

GZDoom crashes after upgrade to Ubuntu 17.04

Post by Stormwalker »

Hi, I have been using Ubuntu Linux for about 2 years now. GZDoom has worked well for me since version 14.04. I believe that the last Ubuntu version that I ran GZDoom on was 16.04(Xenial Xerus). I recently upgraded to version 17.04(Zesty Zapus) and now whenever I try to run GZDoom, I get this error...

GZDoom g2.4.0 - 2017-03-19 21:36:18 +0100 - SDL version
Compiled on Mar 21 2017

M_LoadDefaults: Load system defaults.
Aborted (core dumped)

The only change that I've made to my system was the Ubuntu version upgrade, so I am assuming that this is to blame for GZDoom not working. I have tried uninstalling and then reinstalling GZDoom, but the problem persists. If anyone has any ideas on why this is happening or how to fix it, I would be grateful. Thanks!
_mental_

Re: GZDoom crashes after upgrade to Ubuntu 17.04

Post by _mental_ »

It's impossible to say anything without crash report.
Some unknown failure happened on early stage of initialization.

If really want to investigate it, you need to run GZDoom under debugger to get a callstack.
Execute the following command in Terminal: