Page 1 of 1

Problems with bilinear and trilinear filtering in GZDoom

PostPosted: Fri Feb 03, 2017 9:34 pm
by armyman12345
This doesn't happen if I have just the "linear" setting on. When I turn on bilinear or trilinear filtering in the settings, all textures and all sprites disappear. I assume this is because my video card is outdated. Is there any way to fix this?

Re: Problems with bilinear and trilinear filtering in GZDoom

PostPosted: Fri Feb 03, 2017 9:46 pm
by wildweasel
armyman12345 wrote:This doesn't happen if I have just the "linear" setting on. When I turn on bilinear or trilinear filtering in the settings, all textures and all sprites disappear. I assume this is because my video card is outdated. Is there any way to fix this?

How outdated? What video card is it?

Re: Problems with bilinear and trilinear filtering in GZDoom

PostPosted: Sat Feb 04, 2017 1:32 am
by armyman12345
wildweasel wrote:
armyman12345 wrote:This doesn't happen if I have just the "linear" setting on. When I turn on bilinear or trilinear filtering in the settings, all textures and all sprites disappear. I assume this is because my video card is outdated. Is there any way to fix this?

How outdated? What video card is it?



ATI Radeon 3100

Re: Problems with bilinear and trilinear filtering in GZDoom

PostPosted: Sat Feb 04, 2017 4:38 am
by Graf Zahl
What OpenGL version does your driver report?
This sounds like the function to generate mipmaps is broken on your system (without which some modes will not render any texture.)
Technically your card should support all what is needed.

Re: Problems with bilinear and trilinear filtering in GZDoom

PostPosted: Sat Feb 04, 2017 12:58 pm
by armyman12345
Graf Zahl wrote:What OpenGL version does your driver report?
This sounds like the function to generate mipmaps is broken on your system (without which some modes will not render any texture.)
Technically your card should support all what is needed.


2.1

EDIT: I've made it work now, I downloaded the drivers from the AMD website. But now it lags like crazy whenever I set the resolution to 1280x800 (my computer resolution). I never had this problem with previous versions of GZdoom