Instant Crash with GZDOOM

Need help running G/Q/ZDoom/ECWolf/Zandronum/3DGE? Did your computer break? Ask here.

Moderator: GZDoom Developers

Instant Crash with GZDOOM

Postby Flynn Grandlock » Mon Nov 04, 2019 9:27 pm

Hey,

GZDOOM was working great, I had a version I downloaded over the summer (don't remember which) and it could run any mod I wanted and work with the IWADS. Today, after trying a new version of Project Brutality, it said I needed a newer version of GZDOOM, so I updated, aaand... nothing works anymore. I can't even run vanilla doom. The error just says:

Execution could not continue.

DirectInputCreate failed: 80004005

Internet has a few cases of people asking, but no fixes.

Thanks in advance.
Flynn Grandlock
 

Re: Instant Crash with GZDOOM

Postby Rachael » Mon Nov 04, 2019 11:04 pm

My first guess is, you're running Windows XP. GZDoom does not support that anymore, only LZDoom does.

Secondly, if I am wrong, you certainly didn't post your system specs, which is an absolute requirement for diagnosing your problem - we're not mind readers, and we have no way of knowing what's wrong without this important information.
User avatar
Rachael
Webmaster
 
Joined: 13 Jan 2004
Discord: Rachael#3767
Twitch ID: madamerachelle
Github ID: madame-rachelle
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: Instant Crash with GZDOOM

Postby Flynn Grandlock » Wed Nov 06, 2019 6:12 pm

Hey, appreciate the quick reply.

I can confirm I'm not on Windows XP, so that's not the issue. Sorry, I'm new to this and don't really know what system specs you would need, please let me know.

I appreciate your patience.
Flynn Grandlock
 

Re: Instant Crash with GZDOOM

Postby Rachael » Wed Nov 06, 2019 10:40 pm

Most importantly, your GPU, your CPU, how much RAM you have, your operating system, its version, and its architecture (ie 32/64-bit).

In your particular situation, when you last ran your OS updates would be relevant, as well as whether or not you have special hardware (ie for keyboard) that would require special drivers to function properly, or even to enable any additional functionality at all.

If you use Windows and you don't want to dig this information out, here's a shortcut: viewtopic.php?f=50&t=56882
Just post that info, it'll cover all of the above bases.
User avatar
Rachael
Webmaster
 
Joined: 13 Jan 2004
Discord: Rachael#3767
Twitch ID: madamerachelle
Github ID: madame-rachelle
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: Instant Crash with GZDOOM

Postby GarretS12 » Thu Nov 07, 2019 8:20 pm

Thanks for your help!!

GZDOOM version 4.2.4

DxDiag for GZDOOM.txt
(77 KiB) Downloaded 8 times


I also made an msinfo file but it was too big. Computer idiot that I am, I don't know if there's any important info in there that isn't in the other document, if there is just let me know and I can grab it for you.

Thanks again for your patience!!
GarretS12
 
Joined: 07 Nov 2019

Re: Instant Crash with GZDOOM

Postby Rachael » Thu Nov 07, 2019 10:13 pm

Try unplugging all input devices that are not your mouse and keyboard. This includes your Vive, any headsets or microphones, any gamepads you may have, and start GZDoom again.

If this works, then exit GZDoom, and plug each component back in one by one, starting up GZDoom each time until you get the error again.

If you do find which component causes the error, let us know - there may be a bug within GZDoom here.
User avatar
Rachael
Webmaster
 
Joined: 13 Jan 2004
Discord: Rachael#3767
Twitch ID: madamerachelle
Github ID: madame-rachelle
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: Instant Crash with GZDOOM

Postby Flynn Grandlock » Fri Nov 08, 2019 5:17 pm

Hey,

So, unfortunately, that did not work. I unplugged it all, but I still just get that error.

Any other ideas?

Once again thanks for your help.
Flynn Grandlock
 

Re: Instant Crash with GZDOOM

Postby Flynn Grandlock » Fri Nov 08, 2019 6:30 pm

Also, I grabbed the old GZDOOM (4.1.2) out of the recycling bin, and it works, so it is definitely an issue I only have with the new version.
Flynn Grandlock
 

Re: Instant Crash with GZDOOM

Postby _mental_ » Sat Nov 09, 2019 1:29 am

Try with older versions, like 4.2.0 from the archive or devbuilds.
_mental_
 
 
 
Joined: 07 Aug 2011

Re: Instant Crash with GZDOOM

Postby Flynn Grandlock » Sat Nov 09, 2019 11:00 am

I tried several older versions, and I got the following errors:

With 4.2.1 and older I got the same error as before, but with older ones like 4.2.0 I got this.

gzdoom.pk3:zscript/base.zs, line 621: The member variable 'TraceResults.ffloor' has not been exported from the executable.
gzdoom.pk3:zscript/mapdata.zs, line 250: The member variable 'F3DFloor.bottom' has not been exported from the executable.
gzdoom.pk3:zscript/mapdata.zs, line 251: The member variable 'F3DFloor.top' has not been exported from the executable.
gzdoom.pk3:zscript/mapdata.zs, line 253: The member variable 'F3DFloor.flags' has not been exported from the executable.
gzdoom.pk3:zscript/mapdata.zs, line 254: The member variable 'F3DFloor.Master' has not been exported from the executable.
gzdoom.pk3:zscript/mapdata.zs, line 256: The member variable 'F3DFloor.model' has not been exported from the executable.
gzdoom.pk3:zscript/mapdata.zs, line 257: The member variable 'F3DFloor.Target' has not been exported from the executable.
gzdoom.pk3:zscript/mapdata.zs, line 259: The member variable 'F3DFloor.Alpha' has not been exported from the executable.
gzdoom.pk3:zscript/mapdata.zs, line 261: The function 'F3DFloor.GetTexture' has not been exported from the executable
gzdoom.pk3:zscript/mapdata.zs, line 419: The function 'Sector.Get3DFloor' has not been exported from the executable
gzdoom.pk3:zscript/mapdata.zs, line 420: The function 'Sector.Get3DFloorCount' has not been exported from the executable
gzdoom.pk3:zscript/mapdata.zs, line 421: The function 'Sector.GetAttached' has not been exported from the executable
gzdoom.pk3:zscript/mapdata.zs, line 422: The function 'Sector.GetAttachedCount' has not been exported from the executable

Any ideas?
Flynn Grandlock
 

Re: Instant Crash with GZDOOM

Postby _mental_ » Sat Nov 09, 2019 12:22 pm

You need to copy all files, not only executable. It’s a good idea to extract each version to own folder.
_mental_
 
 
 
Joined: 07 Aug 2011

Re: Instant Crash with GZDOOM

Postby Flynn Grandlock » Sat Nov 09, 2019 10:28 pm

Thanks, that worked...but now we're back to the DirectInput error.

Man, it worked so perfectly the first time but now I can't get anything but the old version to run, what's going on? :(
Flynn Grandlock
 

Re: Instant Crash with GZDOOM

Postby Graf Zahl » Sun Nov 10, 2019 2:54 am

Can you try starting GZDoom with '+logfile log.txt' on the command line?
The error comes if both DirectInput8 and DirectInput3 fail to start - which strongly hints at some form of system corruption. Have you recently installed any new input hardware that required a special driver?
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom Developer
Lead GZDoom Developer
 
Joined: 19 Jul 2003
Location: Germany

Re: Instant Crash with GZDOOM

Postby Flynn Grandlock » Sun Nov 10, 2019 2:11 pm

So, this is a bit embarrassing, but I believe I have fixed the problem simply by running GZDOOM as an administrator. Everything is working with the new versions and all my mdos run fine. If I encounter any other problems I'll let you know.

Thanks for all your help anyway!
Flynn Grandlock
 


Return to Technical Issues

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests