No gun? No sprites? READ THIS!

Need help running G/Q/ZDoom/ECWolf/Zandronum/3DGE? Did your computer break? Ask here.

Moderator: Developers

Re: No gun? No sprites? READ THIS!

Postby Molly Mungerfoot » Fri Sep 21, 2018 11:41 am

Still nothing on 18.9.2 ...
Molly Mungerfoot
 

Re: No gun? No sprites? READ THIS!

Postby wildweasel » Fri Sep 21, 2018 1:56 pm

Molly Mungerfoot wrote:Still nothing on 18.9.2 ...

As this rate, I think we'd have quicker results of seeing this fixed if someone from this forum got hired at AMD's driver department. :?
User avatar
wildweasel
May or may not have a pumpernickel addiction
Moderator Team Lead
 
Joined: 15 Jul 2003
Location: avatar by kurashiki

Re: No gun? No sprites? READ THIS!

Postby Sophie Condertug » Fri Sep 21, 2018 8:23 pm

Curious what are you guys using at the moment zdoom? I like the lighting effects gzdoom this just sucks I haven't played doom in months because of this AMD issue.
Sophie Condertug
 

Re: No gun? No sprites? READ THIS!

Postby drfrag » Sat Sep 22, 2018 3:58 am

Does GZDoom 3.3.2 run correctly?
For now you can launch 3.5.1 with the -glversion 3 parameter.
User avatar
drfrag
I.R developer, I.R smart
Vintage GZDoom Developer
 
Joined: 23 Apr 2004
Location: Spain

Re: No gun? No sprites? READ THIS!

Postby Graf Zahl » Sat Sep 22, 2018 4:16 am

That will disable a lot more than the stuff that gets miscompiled, though.
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom Developer
 
Joined: 19 Jul 2003
Location: Germany

Re: No gun? No sprites? READ THIS!

Postby underskyzx » Sun Sep 23, 2018 8:57 am

I'm using 18.7.1 latest GZDoom modern version and having the same issue
underskyzx
 
Joined: 13 Mar 2017

Re: No gun? No sprites? READ THIS!

Postby tiduscrying » Sat Sep 29, 2018 7:43 pm

Unfortunately 18.9.3 Beta is still having this issue. Luckily the "glversion -3" works for the time being. I am guessing this isn't a super top priority fix for AMD...
User avatar
tiduscrying
 
Joined: 18 Oct 2017

Re: No gun? No sprites? READ THIS!

Postby Graf Zahl » Sun Sep 30, 2018 3:35 am

We really need someone playing around with the shader and trying to find a workaround. But that requires someone with an AMD card...
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom Developer
 
Joined: 19 Jul 2003
Location: Germany

Re: No gun? No sprites? READ THIS!

Postby drfrag » Sun Sep 30, 2018 4:11 am

Thanks to Blzut3 i've got a Radeon R2 integrated on an E2-9010 APU (Lenovo V110 laptop) and a Geforce GT 710 for ZDoom development. I installed the latest Lenovo driver (17.7) and everything is fine, Windows 10 previously downloaded an even older driver.
User avatar
drfrag
I.R developer, I.R smart
Vintage GZDoom Developer
 
Joined: 23 Apr 2004
Location: Spain

Re: No gun? No sprites? READ THIS!

Postby simsalabim » Wed Oct 03, 2018 12:56 pm

Just wanted to chime in I'm getting the same problem with my AMD R9 280x (Desktop GPU) on the latest 18.9.3 Beta Driver. The problem is at its worst on the OpenGL driver (any and all items and enemies are invisible). The problem also exists on the other renderers but to a lesser extent. For example, on the Doom 2 Integrated (typing the name from memory) renderer it works best but some walls become invisible.

If you need me to try something then let me know. I've fiddled with the in-game OpenGL settings but it doesn't do anything to restore the sprites unfortunately. The problem's a recent one for me so perhaps a rollback to a certain version would be a temporary fix.

EDIT: The aforementioned -glversion 3 launch param does seem like a perfect fix for now. Played through 2 maps of Ashes 2063 without any issues! Thanks for that!
simsalabim
 
Joined: 02 Oct 2018

Re: No gun? No sprites? READ THIS!

Postby Phineas Tillingfoot » Thu Oct 04, 2018 4:34 am

So I continued looking to see why the AMD compiler considers uClipSplit to be unused, and I figured that it erroneously considers shanges to gl_ClipDistance not to affect the final render.

By adding this (pointless) line to the main vertex shader:

if(uClipSplit.x < -1000000.0 || uClipSplit.y > 1000000) { eyeCoordPos.w += 0.01; }

And now sprites (actors and pickups) appear again.

The compiler considers the uniform to affect rendering output, and makes it active. I think uClipLine and uClipHeightDirection are also affected in a similar manner, since they too are not in the list of active uniforms.
Phineas Tillingfoot
 

Re: No gun? No sprites? READ THIS!

Postby Graf Zahl » Thu Oct 04, 2018 11:43 am

Thanks for that info. It should help adding a workaround. I still have to wonder what those guys have been smoking, considering that it's not the first time they broke the clip planes.
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom Developer
 
Joined: 19 Jul 2003
Location: Germany

Re: No gun? No sprites? READ THIS!

Postby Phineas Tillingfoot » Fri Oct 05, 2018 11:02 am

I poted a minimal repro on the AMD dev forums (https://community.amd.com/thread/232720), hoping the right person sees it and confirms it's a driver bug...
Phineas Tillingfoot
 

Re: No gun? No sprites? READ THIS!

Postby Cornelius Buzzson » Thu Oct 11, 2018 11:48 pm

Seems to be fixed in 18.10.1.
Cornelius Buzzson
 

Re: No gun? No sprites? READ THIS!

Postby Graf Zahl » Fri Oct 12, 2018 1:28 am

I guess once someone posted a concrete cause of the problem it was relatively easy to add a fix.
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom Developer
 
Joined: 19 Jul 2003
Location: Germany

PreviousNext

Return to Technical Issues

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest