GZDoom has become extremly laggy

Need help running G/Q/ZDoom/ECWolf/Zandronum/3DGE? Did your computer break? Ask here.

Moderator: Developers

Re: GZDoom has become extremly laggy

Postby Enjay » Fri Sep 14, 2018 4:54 am

And if people did that a bit more often, perhaps the manufacturers would take notice and improve things from the outset. As is is, we the customers effectively let them get away with making a substandard product.
User avatar
Enjay
Everyone is a moon, and has a dark side which he never shows to anybody. Twain
 
 
 
Joined: 15 Jul 2003
Location: Scotland

Re: GZDoom has become extremly laggy

Postby Rachael » Fri Sep 14, 2018 6:38 am

Well that's the problem: Sure there's many people out there who know better and want more, but far more overwhelmingly the human population as a whole is ripe for exploitation, so that's exactly what corporations do - we get exploited from two opposite corners of the universe and back, day in and day out and half the time we're completely unaware of it.

I'm learning first hand how horrifically easy it is to do precisely that in my CISSP course in college, and how important it is to guard against it. The best way to counteract this, obviously, is with training, and encouraging the use of critical thinking, but in this case, trying to get a mass of people to think critically, as well as educating them on what they might really want in a computer, is to say the least, a bit of a challenge.
User avatar
Rachael
QZDoom + Webmaster
 
Joined: 13 Jan 2004

Re: GZDoom has become extremly laggy

Postby jdredalert » Wed Sep 19, 2018 7:35 am

Okay, i got something i wanted to report.

The last time i had a GZDoom update was on g3.2.1. I had to wipe my OS last week and decided to update GZDoom. Got both Modern and Vintage 3.5.1 builds so i could test them. With vintage, things start well but then i'm having 100% CPU usage spikes all over the place, that lagged GzD so bad that sometimes the screen (and music) just frozen still for 3 - 5 seconds. There's no such thing happening with Modern build, however, it works great and smooth as butter. That inconsistency bothered me, so i decided to do some more testing: downloaded my trusty old g3.2.1 build from Dropbox again, and for the sake of experience, Zandronum 3.0. And while the old GZDoom build worked smooth as a charm just like the modern 3.5.1 build, Zandronum had the same CPU spikes issue as vintage 3.5.1 (meaning: they are both unplayable here).

I'm using an old, 2012 laptop for 4 years now, and i never had these issues with GZDoom (or Zandronum for that matter,although i rarely play with Zandro). I'm glad modern version is working flawlessly, as i'm gonna use this build for now on, but i'm wondering: why vintage 3.5.1. and Zandronum had the same problems here on my system?

My laptop is powered by an AMD A4-4355M with Radeon HD Graphics, 1.9Ghz, 6GB Ram running on Windows 7 Ultimate x64. I know it's old and weak, but as i said, i never had problems with GZDoom here before.
User avatar
jdredalert
State of badass art.
 
Joined: 13 Jul 2013

Re: GZDoom has become extremly laggy

Postby Rachael » Wed Sep 19, 2018 7:59 am

The modern builds had a major refactoring of some of the rendering (I think it had something to do with flat/subsector rendering, if I remember correctly) which improved speed on complex maps, particularly for those with faster GPU's, by thinning the bottleneck stoppage on the CPU. It sounds like you have a super powerful GPU but a grossly underpowered CPU. The vintage build is more CPU-locked than the modern builds are because of this refactoring, which is one of the reasons for the switch - on older systems, the bottleneck is typically on the GPU, instead, and the CPU is left free.
User avatar
Rachael
QZDoom + Webmaster
 
Joined: 13 Jan 2004

Re: GZDoom has become extremly laggy

Postby Graf Zahl » Wed Sep 19, 2018 8:38 am

This sounds like something different, i.e. like something is stalling the system. What's weird is that it affects two very different builds but not one that's closer to the latter of these than the modern one.

That aside, the CPU savings are very minor, the main reason for the split was that GL 2 hardware reacted very poorly to some recent changes.
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom Developer
 
Joined: 19 Jul 2003
Location: Germany

Previous

Return to Technical Issues

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests