Help with setting defaults for new mouse code

Here, developers communicate stuff that does not go onto the main News section or the front page of the site.
[Dev Blog] [Development Builds] [Git Change Log] [GZDoom Github Repo]

Moderator: GZDoom Developers

Help with setting defaults for new mouse code

Postby Graf Zahl » Tue Sep 29, 2020 4:11 am

Over the last few days I did some cleanup of the mouse code, mainly removing some magic scaling factors from the backend that were different between platform, with Windows raw mouse input being an extreme outlier from the others.
Don't worry, there's migration code in place that converts old configs to the new settings.
The main problem we are facing now is to set up a reasonable default for fresh configs but with the highly divergent defaults right now that's not easy without getting more information.

So, I would like to ask as many people as possible to do a quick test run with the most recent devbuild, preferably in a way that does not overwrite your old config.
What I'd like to know is the values you get after the transition for the vertical/horizontal sensitivity and for turn/mouselook speed, factoring all your customizations. If you feel that your defaults do not feel right, please play around with these values until you get something that works.

Please list this, along with your OS and the mouse you are using. From the 4 samples we got so far, no good default can be derived because they simply are far too different. Remember: The more info we get, the more likely it is to set up good defaults for newly created configs.
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
 
Joined: 19 Jul 2003
Location: Germany

Re: Help with setting defaults for new mouse code

Postby Player701 » Tue Sep 29, 2020 4:42 am

This is what I get in g4.5pre-205 with my previous config file. Feels mostly the same as before (maybe even exactly the same, but it's hard to tell).



Mouse: SteelSeries Rival 710 @ 1800 dpi
OS: Windows 10 x64

Or should I test the default values too (without an existing config file)?
User avatar
Player701
 
Joined: 13 May 2009
Location: Russia
Discord: Player701#8214
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8/201x 64-bit
OS Test Version: No (Using Stable Public Version)
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: Help with setting defaults for new mouse code

Postby Graf Zahl » Tue Sep 29, 2020 4:47 am

It should feel as before - those vaiues say you played with prescale on and 1.5 overall sensitivity, no other changes being made.
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
 
Joined: 19 Jul 2003
Location: Germany

Re: Help with setting defaults for new mouse code

Postby mjr4077au » Tue Sep 29, 2020 7:26 am

After some tuning, this is where I ended up with what I liked myself. I'm on the edge about the x/horizontal sensitivity and whether I just want it at 2.5 or not.

GZDoom.PNG

Console.PNG


Mouse: Razer Basilisk V2
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
User avatar
mjr4077au
 
Joined: 17 Jun 2019
Location: Gosford NSW, Australia
Discord: mjr4077au#1027
Github ID: mjr4077au
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8/201x 64-bit
OS Test Version: No (Using Stable Public Version)
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: Help with setting defaults for new mouse code

Postby sinisterseed » Tue Sep 29, 2020 7:30 am

The new defaults are mostly acceptable for me, horizontal movement is just a bit faster than I would like, whereas vertical movement is actually too fast for precision aiming.

I prefer my mouse movement slower in general, makes aiming easier that way, but with the current defaults aren't too bad. I always set my mouse to the lowest DPI it allows, which is 800, I believe. The old defaults were almost spot on for me though, the only settings I used to adjust was the overall sensivity (an increase by 0.2) and of course, set strafing and forward/backward speed to 0, and turned prescaling off. With the new defaults, after some tinkering I've concluded these are the ideal values for me:
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
User avatar
sinisterseed
GZDoom RO Translator & Raze Tester
 
Joined: 05 Nov 2019
Twitch ID: sixhundredsixteen
Github ID: sinisterseed
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8/201x 64-bit
OS Test Version: No (Using Stable Public Version)
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: Help with setting defaults for new mouse code

Postby Graf Zahl » Tue Sep 29, 2020 7:45 am

Interestingly you use the 3:2 ratio that was present in the Linux backend and whose removal caused all the hubbub. But considering what you said about your old settings, they'd mean 1.2 for both sensitivity sliders so your final outcome deviates a bit from it.

For the record I post my config as well:

Both horizontal and vertical sensitivity set to 1.7, not altering any of the speed sliders - I got the game set up so that they do not really matter as I play without the strafe toggle.
In the old setup that maps to prescaling off and sensitivity set to 1.7.

That means we got 4 opinions so far with *VERY* different preferences.
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
 
Joined: 19 Jul 2003
Location: Germany

Re: Help with setting defaults for new mouse code

Postby Matt » Tue Sep 29, 2020 10:13 am

Feels slightly slower than before, which throws me off a bit (I was fairly consistently turning just short of being on target) but it's just a matter of getting used to it (or increasing sensitivity again).

Debian and (wired) Kensington Expert Mouse.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
User avatar
Matt
Putting the XD into *xdeath since 2007
 
Joined: 04 Jan 2004
Location: Gotham City SAR, Wyld-Lands of the Lotus People, Dominionist PetroConfederacy of Saudi Canadia

Re: Help with setting defaults for new mouse code

Postby Graf Zahl » Tue Sep 29, 2020 11:21 am

It shouldn't feel slower, the values getting through after converting a config should be the same as before. You had prescale on and a sensitivity of 1.6 with the old setup, right?
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
 
Joined: 19 Jul 2003
Location: Germany

Re: Help with setting defaults for new mouse code

Postby Rachael » Tue Sep 29, 2020 1:05 pm

Here's my info:

Code: Select allExpand view
Windows
*old cvars:
m_yaw=1
m_pitch=1.5000001192092896
mouse_sensitivity=0.5
in_mouse=3
*new cvars:
m_sensitivity_x=2
m_sensitivity_y=0.5


Vendor ID of the mouse:
HID\VID_1BCF&PID_0005&REV_0014

It's a Tecknet with the SKU "UM013"
User avatar
Rachael
Webmaster
 
Joined: 13 Jan 2004
Location: This post
Discord: Rachael#3767
Twitch ID: madamerachelle
Github ID: madame-rachelle
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8/201x 64-bit
OS Test Version: No (Using Stable Public Version)
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: Help with setting defaults for new mouse code

Postby Nash » Tue Sep 29, 2020 2:41 pm

I have always played with the default mouse sensitivity that every version of ZDoom and GZDoom ships with, on top of all the other default mouse settings (default prescale, no smoothing, etc). In other words, I literally never touch any of the program's mouse settings, EVER.

Went through all kinds of mice throughout the years. Never had to adjust anything.

After the migration, I feel no difference. It's set mine to 4.0 and 1.0 (X, Y).

Currently using a Logitech G102. Windows 10 Pro 1903.
User avatar
Nash
 
 
 
Joined: 27 Oct 2003
Location: Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Github ID: nashmuhandes

Re: Help with setting defaults for new mouse code

Postby Matt » Tue Sep 29, 2020 2:59 pm

Graf Zahl wrote:It shouldn't feel slower, the values getting through after converting a config should be the same as before. You had prescale on and a sensitivity of 1.6 with the old setup, right?
It was such a subjective change that thinking back on it I'm not sure if it was me being primed to notice a difference and finding what I'm looking for.

Anyway, I have not noticed anything that appears to present itself as a problem or inconsistency.


I have no recollection about prescale but the 1.6 sounds familiar enough.
User avatar
Matt
Putting the XD into *xdeath since 2007
 
Joined: 04 Jan 2004
Location: Gotham City SAR, Wyld-Lands of the Lotus People, Dominionist PetroConfederacy of Saudi Canadia

Re: Help with setting defaults for new mouse code

Postby Accensus » Wed Sep 30, 2020 2:58 am

Spoiler: Old config

Spoiler: New config


With everything set to 1.0 after the update, vertical speed is way too fast while horizontal speed is really slow. Too slow for me at least. For comparison, vertical speed is around 3x the horizontal. The settings in the new config is what approximately feels like the old one.

Win 10, Logitech G502 Proteus Core, DPI set to 1250 in the Logitech Gaming Software with polling rate set to 1000 reports per second.

EDIT: Was GZDoom supposed to auto-adjust my settings? Reading the previous posts, I'm getting the strange feeling I missed a step here.
User avatar
Accensus
Vector, locked in.
 
Joined: 11 Feb 2016
Location: Somalia
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8/201x 64-bit
OS Test Version: No (Using Stable Public Version)
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: Help with setting defaults for new mouse code

Postby SanyaWaffles » Fri Oct 02, 2020 9:24 pm

I've never really bother changing it with my mouse which has a high DPI rate.

I'm glad you're taking samples though.

Accensus wrote:EDIT: Was GZDoom supposed to auto-adjust my settings? Reading the previous posts, I'm getting the strange feeling I missed a step here.


I think it will, according to the initial post.
User avatar
SanyaWaffles
Wouldn't be an epic gamer if I didn't commit a few war crimes.
 
Joined: 25 Apr 2013
Location: Eastern Ohio
Discord: SanyaWaffles#5095
Twitch ID: sanyawaffles
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8/201x 64-bit
OS Test Version: No (Using Stable Public Version)
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: Help with setting defaults for new mouse code

Postby PlayerLin » Sat Oct 03, 2020 12:48 am

old.png

new.png


Don't feel anything wrong at all, or just I didn't realized any minor differences.

Win7 64bits SP1
Logitech M185 wireless mouse.
(Well, I haven't changed my setting for ages and even with my older cheaper generic mouses...okay the Logitech M185 also cheap too.)
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
User avatar
PlayerLin
 
Joined: 11 Nov 2007
Location: XinZhuang, XinBei/New Taipei City(Former Taipei County), Taiwan.
Operating System: Windows Vista/7/2008 64-bit
OS Test Version: No (Using Stable Public Version)
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: Help with setting defaults for new mouse code

Postby Lippeth » Sat Oct 03, 2020 6:12 pm

GZDoom Mouse Settings.png

Windows 10 Home
Logitech G403 Hero 1600 dpi
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
User avatar
Lippeth
Metalvangelist
 
Joined: 24 Apr 2013
Location: Lost Angeles
Discord: Lippeth#2552

Next

Return to Developer Blog

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests