Translating GZDoom's text content. Read if you want to help

Here, developers communicate stuff that does not go onto the main News section or the front page of the site.
[Dev Blog] [Development Builds] [Git Change Log] [GZDoom Github Repo]

Moderator: GZDoom Developers

Re: Translating GZDoom's text content. Read if you want to h

Postby Hurykles » Tue Oct 19, 2021 8:10 am

I forgot to ask about that earlier but is this normal that episode names for Blood are always in english regardless of the selected language? Because it happens to all languages. Is this a Raze problem? Or is it game's fault?
RR Rides Again has simillar problem too but with just 2nd episode name
User avatar
Hurykles
Polish Translator
 
Joined: 08 Apr 2019
Discord: Hurykles#4144
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8/201x 64-bit
Graphics Processor: nVidia (Legacy GZDoom)

Re: Translating GZDoom's text content. Read if you want to h

Postby Graf Zahl » Tue Oct 19, 2021 9:31 am

Due to how these games work they have to translate from the text as specified in the definition file, not from some abstract label. If that does not work there must be some discrepancy between the text in the episode definition and the text label in the CSV. I'll have to run this through the debugger to check.
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
 
Joined: 19 Jul 2003
Location: Germany

Re: Translating GZDoom's text content. Read if you want to h

Postby Hurykles » Tue Oct 19, 2021 11:53 am

Also i was playing Exhumed today and i noticed that when i use the torch it shows the message "Torch is Lit" but it wasn't translated when i played in polish. I was looking into the CSV file to check if i haven't translated it and there was no reference for that message anywhere.

Edit: Speaking of the Exhumed... is there a way to turn on the subtitles that usually appear when you meet Ramses in the first level? Because i wanted to see them in action but couldn't find a way to make them visible
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
User avatar
Hurykles
Polish Translator
 
Joined: 08 Apr 2019
Discord: Hurykles#4144
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8/201x 64-bit
Graphics Processor: nVidia (Legacy GZDoom)

Re: Translating GZDoom's text content. Read if you want to h

Postby Graf Zahl » Tue Oct 19, 2021 12:12 pm

The subtitles shouls be on.

Regarding the torch:

Code: Select allExpand view
    strcpy(buf, "TORCH IS ");

    if (bTorch) {
        strcat(buf, "LIT");
    }
    else {
        strcat(buf, "OUT");
    }


Ouch!
The code here needs more space than having the two texts...

I added entries for the two missing texts, but obviously they need a code update to work.
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
 
Joined: 19 Jul 2003
Location: Germany

Re: Translating GZDoom's text content. Read if you want to h

Postby Hurykles » Tue Oct 19, 2021 1:57 pm

Graf Zahl wrote:The subtitles shouls be on.


The thing is they are not. I just tested and replayed the first level again in both English and Polish. Nothing appears when Ramses starts talking at the end of that level in both languages. And i clearly remember that it worked in previous versions.
User avatar
Hurykles
Polish Translator
 
Joined: 08 Apr 2019
Discord: Hurykles#4144
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8/201x 64-bit
Graphics Processor: nVidia (Legacy GZDoom)

Re: Translating GZDoom's text content. Read if you want to h

Postby Xeotroid » Sun Oct 31, 2021 12:39 pm

The Czech localisation of Raze should be done.

I'm going through menus in GZDoom to see the translated strings in context, and one thing I've quickly noticed is that the settings sub-menu links are quite clumsy-looking in Czech because instead of ie. "Graphics options", it's the other way around (lit. "Options of graphics"). Due to the right-side aligning, it makes it difficult to quickly navigate through. Some other languages (Romance languages and Polish) have this issue too. Compare these two:

Would an acceptable solution for this be to remove the "Options" equivalent for these translations (at each translator's discretion, obviously) in OPTMENU_* strings? Russian and Serbian already do this, so I assume it's fine, but it might be a good idea for other languages to consider too.

Another thing I've thought of: Are there any plans for adding localisable subtitles to Build engine games' FMVs, particularly Blood? Considering new subtitles and a way to display them were added for Strife's Blackbird messages.

EDIT: The "Monsters Nightmare Reflexes" in the Gameplay Options doesn't seem to have a translatable string. Default player classes (like Marine in Doom) might be suitable to be translatable too (though that is stretching the usefulness a little bit).
User avatar
Xeotroid
 
Joined: 23 Jun 2012
Location: Czech Rep.

Re: Translating GZDoom's text content. Read if you want to h

Postby Kostov » Sun Oct 31, 2021 1:13 pm

In my case, for Russian and Serbian, I just omitted the word "Options" entirely and simplified it: Player, Graphics, Controls etc.
User avatar
Kostov
RUS/SRB translator
 
 
 
Joined: 26 Dec 2013
Location: Sweden
Github ID: K0stov

Re: Translating GZDoom's text content. Read if you want to h

Postby Graf Zahl » Sun Oct 31, 2021 1:59 pm

I do not speak the language, so it's a decision you have to make, as you are the one who knows how this text is read.
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
 
Joined: 19 Jul 2003
Location: Germany

Previous

Return to Developer Blog

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests