Translating GZDoom's text content. Read if you want to help

Here, developers communicate stuff that does not go onto the main News section or the front page of the site.
[Dev Blog] [Development Builds] [Git Change Log] [GZDoom Github Repo]

Moderator: GZDoom Developers

Re: Translating GZDoom's text content. Read if you want to h

Postby Graf Zahl » Fri Sep 13, 2019 7:03 am

Now it should be ok.
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom Developer
Lead GZDoom Developer
 
Joined: 19 Jul 2003
Location: Germany

Re: Translating GZDoom's text content. Read if you want to h

Postby Captain J » Fri Sep 13, 2019 7:16 am

I should download GZDoom here, right? I actually redownloaded and check the file twice, but that 한국의 thing certainly did not change.
User avatar
Captain J
'OH YE'
 
 
 
Joined: 02 Oct 2012
Location: Secret Chamber
Discord: DiscussJ#3128

Re: Translating GZDoom's text content. Read if you want to h

Postby Graf Zahl » Fri Sep 13, 2019 7:20 am

I only changed it in the Git repo. Obviously we are not doing a new release for such a minor bug.
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom Developer
Lead GZDoom Developer
 
Joined: 19 Jul 2003
Location: Germany

Re: Translating GZDoom's text content. Read if you want to h

Postby Captain J » Fri Sep 13, 2019 9:30 am

Now that's well explained. Thanks for the notice!
User avatar
Captain J
'OH YE'
 
 
 
Joined: 02 Oct 2012
Location: Secret Chamber
Discord: DiscussJ#3128

Re: Translating GZDoom's text content. Read if you want to h

Postby Undead » Tue Sep 17, 2019 12:33 am

Graf Zahl wrote:But like I said, first someone needs to compile the needed data for those mods and also someone to do the font work, which can be quite substantial - to gain full support for an existing font, ca. 150 characters have to be added in case it is case insensitive, and making a full case sensitive font can easily add up to 400 characters, depending on which languages are needed.

So that's thousands of characters for a few mods?

It's good we've added the means for people to make localized content. Making it for them is not something I'm sure I'd like to undertake - I think we drew the line when making content for the IWADs.

If we're going to do this, though, I have a few old test translations for the Call of Dooty series of WADs that are mostly complete. Haven't released them until this day.
User avatar
Undead
 
 
 
Joined: 26 Dec 2013
Location: Sweden

Re: Translating GZDoom's text content. Read if you want to h

Postby Graf Zahl » Tue Sep 17, 2019 1:03 am

It's not something I'd call necessary. When I find the time I'm going to implement the needed features to allow retroactive translation of mods, but someone else will have to do the work. I wouldn't mind hosting the texts in my spreadsheets so that the current translators get immediate access to them but that's really the extent I am willing to take here.

At the very most, what I'm going to do is to add the content for one classic megawad (to verify that the lump injection works), one simple ZDoom mod with a small number of ACS strings, to test ACS text substitution, and one simple Strife mod with dialogues, to test dialogue text substitution. But that's it.
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom Developer
Lead GZDoom Developer
 
Joined: 19 Jul 2003
Location: Germany

Re: Translating GZDoom's text content. Read if you want to h

Postby Triple_sSs » Wed Oct 23, 2019 12:21 am

So the Esperanto translation is nearly done, there's just the intermission texts for Heretic/Hexen left to do and then we're going to start proofreading/correcting things before the next big release!

Just a couple of issues I noticed recently:
It looks like the options for "Default Crosshair" in HUD options don't have translations for any of the other languages.
And this might be some sort of bug, but in the latest vertion of GZDoom there's a line in Misc. options that just says MISCMNU_QUICKEXIT, and I feel like there should be some proper text there. Just wanted to point this stuff out.
User avatar
Triple_sSs
 
Joined: 11 Aug 2019
Discord: AGUArius#7303

Re: Translating GZDoom's text content. Read if you want to h

Postby Graf Zahl » Wed Oct 23, 2019 2:26 am

MISCMNU_QUICKEXIT was a recent addition, somehow the line seems to have gotten lost. If you want you can add it to the engine strings spreadsheet and put in the Esperanto translation right away. I'll have a look at it later when I'm back home. The text would just be "Quick Exit".
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom Developer
Lead GZDoom Developer
 
Joined: 19 Jul 2003
Location: Germany

Re: Translating GZDoom's text content. Read if you want to h

Postby Triple_sSs » Thu Nov 07, 2019 1:12 am

All the required Esperanto text is now finished!!! Me and the team are now gonna focus on proofreading & polishing the translations so that everything should be up to snuff for the next release.
User avatar
Triple_sSs
 
Joined: 11 Aug 2019
Discord: AGUArius#7303

Re: Translating GZDoom's text content. Read if you want to h

Postby Teddipetzi » Sun Nov 10, 2019 2:40 am

Great to see another language completed. So what about the rest of Europe? Is everybody using English there?
Teddipetzi
 
Joined: 17 Aug 2019
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8 64-bit
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: Translating GZDoom's text content. Read if you want to h

Postby Gez » Sun Nov 10, 2019 4:02 am

For Doom? Yeah, probably. I figure even for the translated languages, many people are probably still using English because they're used to the game in its original version, and it's more consistent with the thousands of mods that have never been localized.

That said all the languages supported so far, other than Japanese and Korean, are European languages. Even if sometimes they're a New World dialect, like American English or Brazilian Portuguese.
Gez
 
 
 
Joined: 06 Jul 2007

Re: Translating GZDoom's text content. Read if you want to h

Postby Graf Zahl » Sun Nov 10, 2019 4:17 am

Gez wrote:like American English or Brazilian Portuguese.


If America used any non-European languages on a wider level...

I think we should consider ourselves lucky that Doom was done in a way that actually allowed translation. The Build engine games are an entirely different story. They never cleanly put their text aside, it is scattered throughout the entire source and scripts, where the scripts pose a particular challenge because the language does not use quotes to mark text.

Even a "modern" Build game like Ion Fury is in a state where you can forget content translation, the underlying technology is such a major roadblock that the entire idea can be laid to rest right at the start.
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom Developer
Lead GZDoom Developer
 
Joined: 19 Jul 2003
Location: Germany

Re: Translating GZDoom's text content. Read if you want to h

Postby Gez » Sun Nov 10, 2019 5:21 am

Graf Zahl wrote:If America used any non-European languages on a wider level...

Some languages like Navajo or Sioux have survived thus far. They're tiny, though, Luxembourgish has more native speakers than any of them.
Gez
 
 
 
Joined: 06 Jul 2007

Re: Translating GZDoom's text content. Read if you want to h

Postby Graf Zahl » Sun Nov 10, 2019 5:34 am

That's where the "wider level" comes in.
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom Developer
Lead GZDoom Developer
 
Joined: 19 Jul 2003
Location: Germany

Re: Translating GZDoom's text content. Read if you want to h

Postby Kinsie » Sun Nov 10, 2019 7:42 am

Graf Zahl wrote:
Gez wrote:like American English or Brazilian Portuguese.


If America used any non-European languages on a wider level...

I think we should consider ourselves lucky that Doom was done in a way that actually allowed translation. The Build engine games are an entirely different story. They never cleanly put their text aside, it is scattered throughout the entire source and scripts, where the scripts pose a particular challenge because the language does not use quotes to mark text.

Even a "modern" Build game like Ion Fury is in a state where you can forget content translation, the underlying technology is such a major roadblock that the entire idea can be laid to rest right at the start.
The XBLA/World Tour versions of Duke3D somehow managed to implement a localisation system.

USER.CON wrote:
Code: Select allExpand view
// Maximum quote size is 64 characters.
// Maximum quotes is 192 slots.


definequote  0        #AuotAiming
definequote  1        #ShowMapOff
definequote  2        #Activated
definequote  3        #PortableMedkit
definequote  4        #Locked
definequote  5        #GivingEverything
definequote  6        #Boots
definequote  7        #Wasted
definequote  8        #Unlocked
definequote  9        #ASecretPlace
definequote 10        #Squish
definequote 11        #AllDoorsUnlocked
definequote 12        #UsedSteroids
definequote 13        #UseToRestart
definequote 14        #AmmoForDevastator

locale/english/strings.txt wrote:
Code: Select allExpand view
// Quotes
#AuotAiming            "AUTO AIMING"
#ShowMapOff            "SHOW MAP: OFF"
#Activated            "ACTIVATED"
#PortableMedkit         "PORTABLE MEDKIT"
#Locked               "LOCKED"
#GivingEverything      "GIVING EVERYTHING!"
#Boots               "BOOTS"
#Wasted               "WASTED!"
#Unlocked            "UNLOCKED"
#ASecretPlace         "A SECRET PLACE!"
#Squish               "SQUISH!"
#AllDoorsUnlocked      "ALL DOORS UNLOCKED"
#UsedSteroids         "USED STEROIDS"
#UseToRestart         "PRESS USE TO RESTART LEVEL"
#UseToRespawn         "PRESS USE TO RESPAWN"
#AmmoForDevastator      "AMMO FOR DEVASTATOR!"
Of course, they aren't open-source, so not enormously useful for community-made ports.
User avatar
Kinsie
A Concept Utterly Obsolete
 
Joined: 22 Oct 2004
Location: MAP33
Discord: Find Me...
Twitch ID: thekinsie

PreviousNext

Return to Developer Blog

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest