"Execution could not continue" - Your ZDoom may be too old!

We sure do have a lot of rules and guidelines threads - find them all here, and please make sure you've read them! Also, community-wide announcements (that aren't major ZDoom News) go here as well.
ISomtimePlayGames
Posts: 20
Joined: Tue Aug 27, 2013 10:00 am

Re: Mod won't run? Here's help!

Post by ISomtimePlayGames »

NeuralStunner wrote:
ISomtimePlayGames wrote:Whenever I run a mod that requires Doom2.wad to run
Does this mean it happens with ALL mods? If you've only tried a few mods, which ones? Can you run Doom 2 without any mods?
I cannot play doom 2 period. I've tried several mods, tried to run doom 2 alone. Nothing. I just switched to ZDoom today after using Zandronum for a while. It worked on Zandronum, but not on ZDoom.
User avatar
NeuralStunner
 
 
Posts: 12298
Joined: Tue Jul 21, 2009 12:04 pm
Discord: NeuralStunner#4201
Graphics Processor: nVidia (Modern GZDoom)
Location: capital N, capital S, no space

Re: Mod won't run? Here's help!

Post by NeuralStunner »

You've replied while i was editing my post. Check back and see if anything else there is relevant.
ISomtimePlayGames
Posts: 20
Joined: Tue Aug 27, 2013 10:00 am

Re: Mod won't run? Here's help!

Post by ISomtimePlayGames »

NeuralStunner wrote:
ISomtimePlayGames wrote:Whenever I run a mod that requires Doom2.wad to run I get this:
Does this mean it happens with ALL mods?
  • If you've only tried a few mods, which ones?
  • Can you run Doom 2 without any mods?
  • Do you have any [wiki=Autoload]autoloaded[/wiki] files? If so, try disabling them.
  • Have you tried removing your config file and starting a new one?
Sorry for the interrogation, I'm trying to exhaust other options before "spend money".
- Equinox, thecrypt, PC_CP, Brutal Doom V0.18 (Works in Ultimate Doom, not
Doom 2)

-No

-I don't seem to have a .ini file

-Where is the config located?
ISomtimePlayGames
Posts: 20
Joined: Tue Aug 27, 2013 10:00 am

Re: Mod won't run? Here's help!

Post by ISomtimePlayGames »

NeuralStunner wrote:You've replied while i was editing my post. Check back and see if anything else there is relevant.
On a side not, it seems Doom Builder has decided to stop working as well, and wont load resources from my Doom2.wad
ISomtimePlayGames
Posts: 20
Joined: Tue Aug 27, 2013 10:00 am

Re: Mod won't run? Here's help!

Post by ISomtimePlayGames »

Problem has been fixed! Managed to find an un-corrupted file in a computer backup from a couple weeks ago. Seems I accidentally converted the Doom2.wad file and deleted the original.
User avatar
NeuralStunner
 
 
Posts: 12298
Joined: Tue Jul 21, 2009 12:04 pm
Discord: NeuralStunner#4201
Graphics Processor: nVidia (Modern GZDoom)
Location: capital N, capital S, no space

Re: ***** Mod Errors? READ THIS! *****

Post by NeuralStunner »

Did a bit of tweaking on the first post, and redid the title in an attempt to keep people from ignoring this all the time. Oh, and this "bump" might help out for a while. :P
User avatar
scalliano
Posts: 2840
Joined: Tue Jun 21, 2005 1:16 pm
Location: Ireland

Re: ***** Mod Errors? READ THIS! *****

Post by scalliano »

Nice to see this topic being stickied. Maybe this will finally be the end of project threads being shat up with erroneous "bug" reports.

It won't.
User avatar
Cryomundus
Posts: 495
Joined: Thu Oct 31, 2013 12:33 pm

Re: ***** Mod Errors? READ THIS! *****

Post by Cryomundus »

scalliano wrote:Nice to see this topic being stickied. Maybe this will finally be the end of project threads being shat up with erroneous "bug" reports.

It won't.
Eh, this thread'll be more useful for folks trying to run mods from authors that no longer visit/support their mod.

I'd hate to be a mod author and have to go through each and every single post trying to find that one post for a bug in their mod. Of course, sometimes it is just the end-user screwing something up on their end, but often its a actual, legit bug.

That is, unless you don't like folks reporting "bugs", whether they be true or not. :P
User avatar
scalliano
Posts: 2840
Joined: Tue Jun 21, 2005 1:16 pm
Location: Ireland

Re: ***** Mod Errors? READ THIS! *****

Post by scalliano »

Legit bugs are fine, but the fact that a thread has screenshots of a mod clearly functioning should tell any prospective players that if it doesn't load for them, they done screwed up somewhere :P
User avatar
Ed the Bat
Posts: 3060
Joined: Thu May 03, 2012 1:18 pm
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support
Location: Maryland, US

Re: ***** Mod Errors? READ THIS! *****

Post by Ed the Bat »

I'm most bothered when someone reports they couldn't load it, and when asked what version they're running, it's very distinctly not up to date with the version the original post clearly says to use. That just angers me.
User avatar
simpletonnn
Posts: 313
Joined: Thu Nov 13, 2014 8:20 pm

Re: ***** Mod Errors? READ THIS! *****

Post by simpletonnn »

I can't seem to run Project MSX in Gzdoom. I tried the one I currently have and three other builds from the website.
:edit: I also can't run Brutal doom.
Last edited by simpletonnn on Fri Nov 14, 2014 6:29 pm, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
wildweasel
Moderator Team Lead
Posts: 21383
Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2003 7:33 pm
Preferred Pronouns: He/Him
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: ***** Mod Errors? READ THIS! *****

Post by wildweasel »

simple.exe wrote:I can't seem to run Project MSX in Gzdoom. I tried the one I currently have and three other builds from the website.
Can you show or tell us what the error is that you are getting?
User avatar
simpletonnn
Posts: 313
Joined: Thu Nov 13, 2014 8:20 pm

Re: ***** Mod Errors? READ THIS! *****

Post by simpletonnn »

wildweasel wrote:
simple.exe wrote:I can't seem to run Project MSX in Gzdoom. I tried the one I currently have and three other builds from the website.
Can you show or tell us what the error is that you are getting?
Whenever I run it on GZDoom, it only plays the IWAD with no modifications whatsoever.
basicly it just wont play as a mod. It only plays the IWAD I run with it.
User avatar
wildweasel
Moderator Team Lead
Posts: 21383
Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2003 7:33 pm
Preferred Pronouns: He/Him
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: ***** Mod Errors? READ THIS! *****

Post by wildweasel »

User avatar
simpletonnn
Posts: 313
Joined: Thu Nov 13, 2014 8:20 pm

Re: ***** Mod Errors? READ THIS! *****

Post by simpletonnn »

wildweasel wrote:Do you know how to load PWADs with ZDoom?
Uh.. No. I'm new to the Doom community and the Doom games. Ill try and figure out how though.

Return to “Rules and Forum Announcements”