Doom HD sprites (Not upscaled) Update 10.8. 2022

For high-res texture/sprite projects, sprite-fix patches, music add-ons, music randomizers, and other graphic/sound-only projects.
Forum rules
The Projects forums are only for projects. If you are asking questions about a project, either find that project's thread, or start a thread in the General section instead.

Got a cool project idea but nothing else? Put it in the project ideas thread instead!

Projects for any Doom-based engine (especially 3DGE) are perfectly acceptable here too.

Please read the full rules for more details.
Marcelus
Posts: 254
Joined: Sat Jan 25, 2020 3:32 am
Location: Slovakia

Re: Doom HD sprites (Not upscaled) Update 26.3. 2021

Post by Marcelus »

flat3 texture

I made it for myself. In dhtp is outdated texture in very low res...

FLAT3.png


original
flat3.png
dhtp
flat3.png
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Marcelus
Posts: 254
Joined: Sat Jan 25, 2020 3:32 am
Location: Slovakia

Re: Doom HD sprites (Not upscaled) Update 20.5. 2021

Post by Marcelus »

WIP

16:9 HQ Titlepic

Original art Gerald Brom
https://doomwiki.org/wiki/Gerald_Brom
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Last edited by Marcelus on Thu May 20, 2021 1:13 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Marcelus
Posts: 254
Joined: Sat Jan 25, 2020 3:32 am
Location: Slovakia

Re: Doom HD sprites (Not upscaled) Update 20.5. 2021

Post by Marcelus »

Doom HQ titlepic , 1440p, 3 version

download from first post
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
User avatar
NightFright
Spotlight Team
Posts: 1271
Joined: Fri May 02, 2008 12:29 pm
Location: Germany

Re: Doom HD sprites (Not upscaled) Update 20.5. 2021

Post by NightFright »

Wow. That is one hell of a wallpaper. If you were able to provide the last one in 1920p would be great! (But I guess it can also be upscaled with too much quality loss.)
Marcelus
Posts: 254
Joined: Sat Jan 25, 2020 3:32 am
Location: Slovakia

Re: Doom HD sprites (Not upscaled) Update 20.5. 2021

Post by Marcelus »

NightFright wrote:Wow. That is one hell of a wallpaper. If you were able to provide the last one in 1920p would be great! (But I guess it can also be upscaled with too much quality loss.)
hello,

you mean 16:9 1920p? I have source image in good quality and upscaling is not problem and still is in great quality but if you want other than 16:9 aspect ratio this is too much work. I made it natively in 1440p. Brom made this in portrait aspect ratio not wide. Right and left side I made manually. But if you want 16:9 here is in 1920p (3413x1920). If you want specific resolution I may try but must know aspect ratio.

https://drive.google.com/file/d/1BoodeF ... sp=sharing
Marcelus
Posts: 254
Joined: Sat Jan 25, 2020 3:32 am
Location: Slovakia

Re: Doom HD sprites (Not upscaled) Update 20.5. 2021

Post by Marcelus »

WIP 21:9 Titlepic
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Marcelus
Posts: 254
Joined: Sat Jan 25, 2020 3:32 am
Location: Slovakia

Re: Doom HD sprites (Not upscaled) Update 20.5. 2021

Post by Marcelus »

UPDATE 24.5.2021

Finshed 2 versions 21:9 Titlepics
Standard and easter egg version :D

both in 4K

Please download from first post

No more pictures. Some new sprites will be soon
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Last edited by Marcelus on Mon Jul 25, 2022 7:24 am, edited 1 time in total.
Marcelus
Posts: 254
Joined: Sat Jan 25, 2020 3:32 am
Location: Slovakia

Re: Doom not only HD sprites (Not upscaled) Update 24.5. 202

Post by Marcelus »

I went back to the sprites. I want to finish all the lights.

WIP
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
User avatar
strangelove
Posts: 13
Joined: Sat Mar 20, 2021 9:34 am
Operating System: Windows Vista/7/2008 32-bit

Re: Doom not only HD sprites (Not upscaled) Update 24.5. 202

Post by strangelove »

Hi Marcelus, i downloaded your sprite pack, i really like the Barrel texture 'BAR1B0.png' (download/file.php?id=37381)
if i may suggest, is it possible to give the barrel more ribbed shape on the sides ? also the lid edges look a little too thick? maybe its because that part of the barrel (the lip?) should maybe stick out a little more?
https://i1.wp.com/itppackaging.com/wp-c ... C600&ssl=1
https://image.made-in-china.com/2f0j00d ... l-Drum.jpg
https://thumbs.dreamstime.com/z/old-rus ... 658281.jpg
i'll post back later with better example
thanks
User avatar
strangelove
Posts: 13
Joined: Sat Mar 20, 2021 9:34 am
Operating System: Windows Vista/7/2008 32-bit

Re: Doom not only HD sprites (Not upscaled) Update 24.5. 202

Post by strangelove »

barrel > https://ia601809.us.archive.org/30/item ... barrel.jpg
barrel profile > https://ia601809.us.archive.org/30/item ... l_side.jpg
I created this simple 3d barrel to show what i mean about sides & lip, hope it explains

thanks
Marcelus
Posts: 254
Joined: Sat Jan 25, 2020 3:32 am
Location: Slovakia

Re: Doom not only HD sprites (Not upscaled) Update 24.5. 202

Post by Marcelus »

strangelove wrote:Hi Marcelus, i downloaded your sprite pack, i really like the Barrel texture 'BAR1B0.png' (download/file.php?id=37381)
if i may suggest, is it possible to give the barrel more ribbed shape on the sides ? also the lid edges look a little too thick? maybe its because that part of the barrel (the lip?) should maybe stick out a little more?
https://i1.wp.com/itppackaging.com/wp-c ... C600&ssl=1
https://image.made-in-china.com/2f0j00d ... l-Drum.jpg
https://thumbs.dreamstime.com/z/old-rus ... 658281.jpg
i'll post back later with better example
thanks
Is possile but original sprite is also flat and for now I do not have time for this. Maybe later but first I must finished all barrel sprites. Done are only first two and remains explosion sprites. Sorry I answer so late but I long time not here.
SamIam76
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Jan 10, 2022 4:28 am

Re: Doom HD sprites (Not upscaled) Update 24.5. 2021

Post by SamIam76 »

Hi Marcelus,

first thank you for your amazing work here. Your new sprites look marvelous!!
However I do have some issues when using Brutal Doom or Brutal Pack.
The blue health potion bottles or the green armour for example do show up perfectly.

But... and that drives me crazy for days:
The bottles..
Yes I cannot keep them (yours) loaded in whatever I do when using BD or BP.
What I had done then was upscaling the ones included in Brutal Doom or Brutal Pack by myself. But when putting them into the folder of BD or BP to overwrite the old ones, they are massively big ingame (pixel resolution is much higher) .
What works is, changing back their resolution to 23x32 pixels and then put them into the .pk3.
Than they are shown fine, but only their quality is only a little bit better than before.

What can I do?
Thank you!
SamIam76
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Jan 10, 2022 4:28 am

Re: Doom HD sprites (Not upscaled) Update 24.5. 2021

Post by SamIam76 »

Ok, I figured it out.
Inside Brutal Pack (which I use now) there are bottle pics with different names than in vanilla plus there are more, becuase of more animations to show. Their names don't begin with BAR1... but with BAR2...
I upscaled them and copied them into your folder, keeping yours loaded after BP.
(Before that I downsozed them to 23x32 pixels and have overwritten the ones inside BP with these new ones)
Now the quality looks much better!

One question again:
As your bottle textures look much better than the ones in BP, would it be possible for you to do additional ones which can be used with BP?
To list them up: BP consists mainly of the following: BAR2A, BAR2B, BAR2C, BAR2D, BAR2E, BAR2F, BAR2G, BAR2H, BAR2I, BAR2J, BAR2K, BAR2L, BAR2M and BARBA0, BARBB0 (last ones with the blood textures)

Thanks
Marcelus
Posts: 254
Joined: Sat Jan 25, 2020 3:32 am
Location: Slovakia

Re: Doom HD sprites (Not upscaled) Update 24.5. 2021

Post by Marcelus »

SamIam76 wrote:Ok, I figured it out.
Inside Brutal Pack (which I use now) there are bottle pics with different names than in vanilla plus there are more, becuase of more animations to show. Their names don't begin with BAR1... but with BAR2...
I upscaled them and copied them into your folder, keeping yours loaded after BP.
(Before that I downsozed them to 23x32 pixels and have overwritten the ones inside BP with these new ones)
Now the quality looks much better!

One question again:
As your bottle textures look much better than the ones in BP, would it be possible for you to do additional ones which can be used with BP?
To list them up: BP consists mainly of the following: BAR2A, BAR2B, BAR2C, BAR2D, BAR2E, BAR2F, BAR2G, BAR2H, BAR2I, BAR2J, BAR2K, BAR2L, BAR2M and BARBA0, BARBB0 (last ones with the blood textures)

Thanks
Hello
I do not try mine sprites with brutal doom but only with classic doom similar modes and there works without problems. BD use some mod with smooth animations for some sprites. If you give mi link which mod you use I try redone it if is not much work. Now I work for textures/sprites for Hexen but if you give mi link I maybe try it.
SamIam76
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Jan 10, 2022 4:28 am

Re: Doom HD sprites (Not upscaled) Update 24.5. 2021

Post by SamIam76 »

Hi Marcelus,

many thanks for your feedback. I use Brutal Pack V10 Beta 7.0 (from their discord). But the vers. V10 Beta 6.1 can be found on moddb:
https://www.moddb.com/addons/brutal-pack1
It seems to be not so different to beta 7.0 and both have same result.

Brutal Pack works good together with DHTP2019 (or earlier versions) and your great package. I included also DHTP-LTP and DHTP-PBR-RLTH.
I could add new textures for keycards and (like said above the barrel textures, while not as good looking as yours..).
If you want to adapt your barrels to the ones of BP, would be great for me. These are like listed above: BAR2A, BAR2B, BAR2C, BAR2D, BAR2E, BAR2F, BAR2G, BAR2H, BAR2I, BAR2J, BAR2K, BAR2L, BAR2M and BARBA0, BARBB0.
But no problem if not, because lack of time or whatever.

What makes me nervous all the time actually (and maybe you could help me here first):
BP lacks with a few wall and ground textures, which can't be shown correctly.
The one I actzually tried to substitute is the gound texture called METAL52.png inside BrutalPack\Textures.
That one seems to substitute the one from Doom-wad and also from the DHTP, even if it's name is different to the other packs..

To control it, I deleted METAL52.png from BP and starting first episode. Third room with the acids (you have a picture of that room here on your first post, first side, second pic), doesn't show up any ground texture anymore.
Replacing that texture with a different one (and copying to BP pk3) will substitute it, but new texture remains in low res and with no reflections from the lamp like on the grey ground texture nearby.
That drives me mad..

If your're able to help I realy would appreciate that :)

Thanks

Return to “Graphic/Audio Patches”