Toggle Free Camera (like in Skyrim)

For high-res texture/sprite projects, sprite-fix patches, music add-ons, music randomizers, and other graphic/sound-only projects.
Forum rules
The Projects forums are ONLY for YOUR PROJECTS! If you are asking questions about a project, either find that project's thread, or start a thread in the General section instead.

Got a cool project idea but nothing else? Put it in the project ideas thread instead!

Projects for any Doom-based engine (especially 3DGE) are perfectly acceptable here too.

Please read the full rules for more details.

Toggle Free Camera (like in Skyrim)

Postby Nash » Wed Apr 17, 2019 7:17 pm

Image
Image

Someone on Discord asked for something like Gamebryo/Creation Engine's TFC command so I made this mod for them. Figured I needed it for debugging purposes in my own project anyway, so why the heck not.

Feel free to use this in any way you want.

Instructions: simply bind a key to toggle the free camera in the Customize Controls menu.

Known limitation(s):

- Does not inherit screen effects from player powerups, including light amp, invulnerability, etc.
- Movement code may be a little wonky; did not spend too much time on this to be honest
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
User avatar
Nash
AKA Nash Muhandes! Twitter/Facebook/Youtube: nashmuhandes
 
 
 
Joined: 27 Oct 2003
Location: Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Twitch ID: nashmuhandes
Github ID: nashmuhandes

Re: Toggle Free Camera (like in Skyrim)

Postby Kinsie » Sat Apr 27, 2019 8:00 am

This is great. A few more debug camera-related things would be nice too, like locking a camera position (either absolute or relative to the player) while retaining player control, for trailer-recording stuff.
User avatar
Kinsie
Dog Days
 
Joined: 22 Oct 2004
Location: MAP33
Discord: Find Me...
Twitch ID: thekinsie

Re: Toggle Free Camera (like in Skyrim)

Postby Void Warrior » Thu Mar 31, 2022 3:33 am

A very interesting mod. I've needed it for a long time.

The only problem is that when I use the Freeze command, I can't move in space. Have you thought about finishing the mod or is it supposed to be like this?

It's even strange that it's not included in the GZDOOM code...
Void Warrior
 
Joined: 04 Feb 2021
Location: Russian Federation
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8/201x 64-bit

Re: Toggle Free Camera (like in Skyrim)

Postby Gez » Fri Apr 01, 2022 3:08 am

Void Warrior wrote:The only problem is that when I use the Freeze command, I can't move in space.

This can probably be fixed by adding the NOTIMEFREEZE flag to the actor used as a free camera.
Gez
 
 
 
Joined: 06 Jul 2007


Return to Graphic/Audio Patches

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests