Fullscreen Statusbar Mod [v5.1.11]

For high-res texture/sprite projects, sprite-fix patches, music add-ons, music randomizers, and other graphic/sound-only projects.
Forum rules
The Projects forums are only for projects. If you are asking questions about a project, either find that project's thread, or start a thread in the General section instead.

Got a cool project idea but nothing else? Put it in the project ideas thread instead!

Projects for any Doom-based engine (especially 3DGE) are perfectly acceptable here too.

Please read the full rules for more details.
User avatar
NightFright
Spotlight Team
Posts: 1271
Joined: Fri May 02, 2008 12:29 pm
Location: Germany

Re: Fullscreen Statusbar Mod [v5.1.9]

Post by NightFright »

Hmmm... might have happened when replacing the statusbar. Does it happen in earlier mod versions (5.1.8 would be enough, I guess)?

That Hexen statusbar is really cursed, though. Never gonna touch it again after this ever, that's for sure.
User avatar
NightFright
Spotlight Team
Posts: 1271
Joined: Fri May 02, 2008 12:29 pm
Location: Germany

Version 5.1.10 released

Post by NightFright »

New version is out with rather minor adjustments. Please note that you will find the mod now at a slightly different spot. While it's still under "Options" --> "Full Options Menu" --> "HUD Options" --> "Fullscreen Status Bar", it's not listed at the bottom any more, but right underneath "Alternative HUD Options" at the top.

Changelog:
[ALL] Slightly relocated options menu (now shown right below "Alternative HUD Options")
[ALL] Alignment adjustments for credits
[DOOM] Automatic Compatibility: "No End In Sight" added
[HEXEN] Alignment fix for chain covers of unsplit bar (LFEDGE/RTEDGE)
User avatar
ClessxAlghazanth
Posts: 159
Joined: Sun Feb 17, 2019 9:29 am

Re: Fullscreen Statusbar Mod [v5.1.10]

Post by ClessxAlghazanth »

Thanks for the update :)

By the way , while I've been using this with mods which don't have a custom hud without issues until now , but I noticed that the ammo counters on the right doesn't function with BDv21 and its variants. Is it a known thing ?

Best regards
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
User avatar
NightFright
Spotlight Team
Posts: 1271
Joined: Fri May 02, 2008 12:29 pm
Location: Germany

Re: Fullscreen Statusbar Mod [v5.1.10]

Post by NightFright »

We are not really supporting Brutal Doom since this project is mainly targeting vanilla-style projects which don't deviate too much from the original code-wise. If anybody wishes to add this functionality and is able to do so - go ahead, I guess.
I have opened an issue about this on Github so we are not losing track of this, but I can't tell when or if this will be solved.
User avatar
Delfino Furioso
Posts: 63
Joined: Sat Mar 27, 2021 3:21 pm

Re: Fullscreen Statusbar Mod [v5.1.10]

Post by Delfino Furioso »

FWIW

when playing with BD Lite (by DavidN) the fullscreen hud works as expected, both in centered and in split mode
Screenshot_Doom_20210820_180126.png
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
User avatar
NightFright
Spotlight Team
Posts: 1271
Joined: Fri May 02, 2008 12:29 pm
Location: Germany

Re: Fullscreen Statusbar Mod [v5.1.10]

Post by NightFright »

I dunno much about Brutal Doom tbh. However, I can tell that actor class names of ammo types can't be an issue since 3saster apparently made it work without depending on names.
Void Warrior
Posts: 61
Joined: Thu Feb 04, 2021 11:54 am
Location: Russian Federation

Re: Fullscreen Statusbar Mod [v5.1.10]

Post by Void Warrior »

I decided to play with your HUD, which I really like, in WADs from Tormentor667, but as soon as I launch it, GZDOOM 4.7.1 gives me this error:

Script error, "fullscrn_huds.pk3:cvarinfo" line 1:
cvar 'fullhud_split' already exists


Is it incompatibility with WADs?
Kazudra
Posts: 126
Joined: Mon May 25, 2015 10:52 am

Re: Fullscreen Statusbar Mod [v5.1.10]

Post by Kazudra »

Void Warrior wrote:I decided to play with your HUD, which I really like, in WADs from Tormentor667, but as soon as I launch it, GZDOOM 4.7.1 gives me this error:

Script error, "fullscrn_huds.pk3:cvarinfo" line 1:
cvar 'fullhud_split' already exists


Is it incompatibility with WADs?
Double check if Wads from Tormentor667 has fullscreen hud's already.
Void Warrior
Posts: 61
Joined: Thu Feb 04, 2021 11:54 am
Location: Russian Federation

Re: Fullscreen Statusbar Mod [v5.1.10]

Post by Void Warrior »

I looked and realized what was the matter.

On maps such as "City of the Damned" and "Austerity", brightmaps and the status bar code from NightFright are already embedded.

Probably does not support the newer version, although the same NekosHUD works fine.
User avatar
NightFright
Spotlight Team
Posts: 1271
Joined: Fri May 02, 2008 12:29 pm
Location: Germany

Re: Fullscreen Statusbar Mod [v5.1.10]

Post by NightFright »

I really wished mod authors wouldn't do things like that. If the statusbar mod gets updated, you won't be able to use it with a file which has it merged already. What's the problem with having a second file loaded separately that can be switched?

But well, it's just a couple of maps, but you must consider those releases incompatible with our mod here and we can't do a single thing about it.
Void Warrior
Posts: 61
Joined: Thu Feb 04, 2021 11:54 am
Location: Russian Federation

Re: Fullscreen Statusbar Mod [v5.1.10]

Post by Void Warrior »

Clear... That's what I thought, but thanks for answering my question.
User avatar
NightFright
Spotlight Team
Posts: 1271
Joined: Fri May 02, 2008 12:29 pm
Location: Germany

Re: Fullscreen Statusbar Mod [v5.1.10]

Post by NightFright »

You could ofc always remove the script files from that mod. Statusbar mod should load correctly afterwards.
primaris82
Posts: 10
Joined: Sat Nov 13, 2021 9:09 am
Graphics Processor: nVidia (Modern GZDoom)

Re: Fullscreen Statusbar Mod [v5.1.10]

Post by primaris82 »

think we could see one of these for brutal doom 64??
User avatar
NightFright
Spotlight Team
Posts: 1271
Joined: Fri May 02, 2008 12:29 pm
Location: Germany

Re: Fullscreen Statusbar Mod [v5.1.10]

Post by NightFright »

See what I wrote on Aug 20 about Brutal Doom. Same thing, really.
User avatar
freshlycutgrass
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Dec 17, 2021 10:38 pm

Re: Fullscreen Statusbar Mod [v5.1.10]

Post by freshlycutgrass »

NightFright wrote:See what I wrote on Aug 20 about Brutal Doom. Same thing, really.
What about a non-brutal Doom 64 themed statusbar? It could be the same as the normal Doom one, but with no background and the Doom 64 font.

Return to “Graphic/Audio Patches”