Fullscreen Statusbar Mod [v5.1.11]

For high-res texture/sprite projects, sprite-fix patches, music add-ons, music randomizers, and other graphic/sound-only projects.
Forum rules
The Projects forums are only for projects. If you are asking questions about a project, either find that project's thread, or start a thread in the General section instead.

Got a cool project idea but nothing else? Put it in the project ideas thread instead!

Projects for any Doom-based engine (especially 3DGE) are perfectly acceptable here too.

Please read the full rules for more details.
User avatar
NightFright
Spotlight Team
Posts: 1271
Joined: Fri May 02, 2008 12:29 pm
Location: Germany

Re: Fullscreen Statusbar Mod [v5.1.7]

Post by NightFright »

No, there are no plans for this. Heretic has a lot more ammo types than Doom and you'll end up with far too many numbers on your screen for my personal taste.
I rather want to focus on finishing up here. Strife support is still missing and after that all that's left are some compatibility fixes which will be added on demand. Otherwise, this is feature complete.
User avatar
m8f
 
 
Posts: 1397
Joined: Fri Dec 29, 2017 4:15 am
Discord: m8f#0629
Github ID: mmaulwurff
Location: Siberia (UTC+7)

Re: Fullscreen Statusbar Mod [v5.1.7]

Post by m8f »

For those who want more features I can recommend Simple HUD Add-ons by Tekish. There is AmmoInfo add-on which works with Heretic too.
ZaxxerDog
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Apr 07, 2020 11:26 am

Re: Fullscreen Statusbar Mod [v5.1.7]

Post by ZaxxerDog »

Just a heads up that it seems like this mod no longer works correctly when loaded up together with Smooth Doom.
User avatar
3saster
Posts: 199
Joined: Fri May 11, 2018 2:39 pm
Location: Canada

Re: Fullscreen Statusbar Mod [v5.1.7]

Post by 3saster »

ZaxxerDog wrote:Just a heads up that it seems like this mod no longer works correctly when loaded up together with Smooth Doom.
Make sure you load this mod AFTER Smooth Doom (Smooth Doom has its own statusbar that would override this one). Doing it in that order, it seems to work fine (it even includes the smoothed mugshot!).
ZaxxerDog
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Apr 07, 2020 11:26 am

Re: Fullscreen Statusbar Mod [v5.1.7]

Post by ZaxxerDog »

That's weird, I thought I checked the mods in that order but apparently I didn't since they do work fine that way. Great, thanks!
User avatar
Lagi
Posts: 667
Joined: Sat Jun 23, 2018 12:51 pm
Location: Thou shalt alter thy beliefs with new evidence

Re: Fullscreen Statusbar Mod [v5.1.7]

Post by Lagi »

m8f wrote:For those who want more features I can recommend Simple HUD Add-ons by Tekish. There is AmmoInfo add-on which works with Heretic too.
Is there any UI mod which can display all time the current amount of items in inventory, for Heretic? In side screen, corner or other subtle method.

Im quite tired of checking my stuff all the time (all items have quick keys use).
Spoiler:
User avatar
m8f
 
 
Posts: 1397
Joined: Fri Dec 29, 2017 4:15 am
Discord: m8f#0629
Github ID: mmaulwurff
Location: Siberia (UTC+7)

Re: Fullscreen Statusbar Mod [v5.1.7]

Post by m8f »

Spoiler: Sort of, this time it's my own thing
User avatar
AL-97
Posts: 53
Joined: Wed Dec 07, 2016 2:45 pm

Re: Fullscreen Statusbar Mod [v5.1.7]

Post by AL-97 »

Is it possible to force compatibility with selected HUDs? I'm playing Lutz's Dark Tide that uses Eternal Doom HUD, but automatic compatibility obviously isn't applied and HUD looks a bit off.
User avatar
3saster
Posts: 199
Joined: Fri May 11, 2018 2:39 pm
Location: Canada

Re: Fullscreen Statusbar Mod [v5.1.7]

Post by 3saster »

AL-97 wrote:Is it possible to force compatibility with selected HUDs? I'm playing Lutz's Dark Tide that uses Eternal Doom HUD, but automatic compatibility obviously isn't applied and HUD looks a bit off.
The current devbuild (rename the .zip to pk3) actually already supports that particular case (Mayhem 2048 uses that same version of the Eternal Doom HUD), so use that for now. Adding some manual compatibility ala GZDoom's is not a bad idea, but given the way the system is put in place, I'm not sure how feasible it is. I'll experiment and see if I can come up with something. In any case, you did the right thing by reporting a particular problematic HUD.
User avatar
AL-97
Posts: 53
Joined: Wed Dec 07, 2016 2:45 pm

Re: Fullscreen Statusbar Mod [v5.1.7]

Post by AL-97 »

Thank you for the quick fix. I just did a quick test to see if the compatibility when using the last master build is applied correctly to the Legacy Of Heroes, another episode that uses the Eternal's HUD, and it is. Great job!
User avatar
Lagi
Posts: 667
Joined: Sat Jun 23, 2018 12:51 pm
Location: Thou shalt alter thy beliefs with new evidence

Re: Fullscreen Statusbar Mod [v5.1.7]

Post by Lagi »

could you advise why the Heretic key door gem is not perfectly align with the gem spot on UI?

its half pixel offset (ok ok - Im just curious).

Is it something wrong with my screen setting? for ex. some options stretch something? or the code can be modify to be pixel perfect?

with this mod:


picture : same setting default heretic

unsplit.zs line 69:

Code: Select all

// Draw Keys
			if (CPlayer.mo.CheckKeys(3, false, true)) DrawImage("YKEYICON", (-4.5+offset, -36), DI_ITEM_OFFSETS|DI_SCREEN_CENTER_BOTTOM, alpha:alphaFloatGraph);
			if (CPlayer.mo.CheckKeys(1, false, true)) DrawImage("GKEYICON", (-4.5+offset, -28), DI_ITEM_OFFSETS|DI_SCREEN_CENTER_BOTTOM, alpha:alphaFloatGraph);
			if (CPlayer.mo.CheckKeys(2, false, true)) DrawImage("BKEYICON", (-4.5+offset, -20), DI_ITEM_OFFSETS|DI_SCREEN_CENTER_BOTTOM, alpha:alphaFloatGraph);
			
vanilla heretic

Code: Select all

//keys
	drawswitchableimage keyslot 3, "nullimage", "YKEYICON", 153, 164;
	drawswitchableimage keyslot 1, "nullimage", "GKEYICON", 153, 172;
	drawswitchableimage keyslot 2, "nullimage", "BKEYICON", 153, 180;
User avatar
NightFright
Spotlight Team
Posts: 1271
Joined: Fri May 02, 2008 12:29 pm
Location: Germany

Re: Fullscreen Statusbar Mod [v5.1.7]

Post by NightFright »

It's indeed strange that offsets are done with non-integer values. I didn't even know it was possible. There may be a good reason for it, but only 3saster can shed some light onto this since he wrote the code.

Anyway, kudos to your keen perception, I have been using the mod since ages and never noticed this.
User avatar
3saster
Posts: 199
Joined: Fri May 11, 2018 2:39 pm
Location: Canada

Re: Fullscreen Statusbar Mod [v5.1.7]

Post by 3saster »

NightFright wrote:Anyway, kudos to your keen perception, I have been using the mod since ages and never noticed this.
That's because it doesn't always show up. Something weird happens sometimes with the scaling code, and fixing it for one setting can cause the problem to appear in others. The numbers for vanilla aren't so helpful (and I did look at them while writing them), because I use the different flags to position them, and it's on a Fullscreen HUD instead of a normal one. That being said, I can take a look. What resolution and scale settings are you using (alternatively, post/send me your ini file that you use)?
User avatar
Lagi
Posts: 667
Joined: Sat Jun 23, 2018 12:51 pm
Location: Thou shalt alter thy beliefs with new evidence

Re: Fullscreen Statusbar Mod [v5.1.7]

Post by Lagi »

3saster, forget about it.
Its not worth anyones time.

You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
User avatar
3saster
Posts: 199
Joined: Fri May 11, 2018 2:39 pm
Location: Canada

Re: Fullscreen Statusbar Mod [v5.1.7]

Post by 3saster »

Yup, it's as I thought when I initially encountered it. By fiddling around with the scaling, you can sometimes cause there to be a very small gap in the gargoyle skulls too. Sadly, nothing I can really do about it, it has something to do with the scaling code (you can see this in other games tool Hammer of Thyrion for Hexen 2 has this problem too, although far more severe)

Return to “Graphic/Audio Patches”