Page 14 of 23

Re: Fullscreen Statusbar Mod [v5.1.3]

PostPosted: Thu Nov 28, 2019 3:18 pm
by NightFright
It's exactly the same as in Doom's "Arms" panel. Slot 2 holds your first projectile weapon which is always active. 1 (melee) is not listed even though you can collect the chainsaw separately, same with the gauntlets in Heretic. I see no reason to change this. Both games are very similar, and in spite of Heretic not having an "Arms" panel by default, it is logical to follow Doom design here.

In Hexen it starts at 1 since your first weapon is actually really located in weapon slot 1. The first weapon number will always be shown as be shown as "collected", just like Doom players would expect it.

Re: Fullscreen Statusbar Mod [v5.1.3]

PostPosted: Sat Nov 30, 2019 9:03 am
by Rex705
It would be cool if this HUD worked with the neural texter packs.

Re: Fullscreen Statusbar Mod [v5.1.3]

PostPosted: Sat Nov 30, 2019 11:47 am
by TheFerries
I've been loving this mod, reminds me of that back to saturn X hud mod that appeared some years ago just a lot more simple and compatible.

I've been having one problem with this later version, everytime I quit the game (after starting a level) the game crashes, It tells me it had an access violation, I've uploaded the crash report that GZdoom can give you.
It's more of a nuisance than anything, but I wish for it to be fixed, I'm using GZdoom 4.2.4 if you wonder. In another note, I didn't know the Freedoom guy is now used for the crash message.

And last question, Does this mod show custom key cards? I mean like green keys or other colors that some wads (specially Gzdoom wads) like to add, in vanilla the status bar did not show them but the fullscreen hud did.

Re: Fullscreen Statusbar Mod [v5.1.3]

PostPosted: Sat Nov 30, 2019 1:13 pm
by axredneck
I have the same crash.

Re: Fullscreen Statusbar Mod [v5.1.3]

PostPosted: Sat Nov 30, 2019 3:47 pm
by 3saster
TheFerries wrote:I've been loving this mod, reminds me of that back to saturn X hud mod that appeared some years ago just a lot more simple and compatible.

I've been having one problem with this later version, everytime I quit the game (after starting a level) the game crashes, It tells me it had an access violation, I've uploaded the crash report that GZdoom can give you.
It's more of a nuisance than anything, but I wish for it to be fixed, I'm using GZdoom 4.2.4 if you wonder. In another note, I didn't know the Freedoom guy is now used for the crash message.


I'm not so good with how to read the crash reports, unfortunately. With that being said, I have a couple questions (if @axredneck could answer too, that would help):
  • Are you running the 64-bit build of GZDoom, or the 32-bit version?
  • Did you have the "Force HUD override" option on?
The HUD overriding was a source of many crashes while testing, and I THOUGHT that GZDoom 4.2.4 fixed these crashes, but I guess not entirely. If I can't guarantee that this feature is crash safe, I will just remove it entirely in the next version.

TheFerries wrote:And last question, Does this mod show custom key cards? I mean like green keys or other colors that some wads (specially Gzdoom wads) like to add, in vanilla the status bar did not show them but the fullscreen hud did.

Not at the moment, no. Can you provide me a mod that does this, and would make sense to use this HUD with? No promises, but I can look into it and see if I can come up with something.

Rex705 wrote:It would be cool if this HUD worked with the neural texter packs.

It does work with the Doom Neural texture pack :P I'm currently seeing how to make the Heretic (and Hexen, while we're at it) Neural texture pack work correctly. Sadly, I couldn't make the upscales widescreen (and waifu2x just doesn't cut it here), so I will likely just make it so that the Neural upscale works correctly. The tradeoff will be that, like the original graphics, there will be cutoff in widescreen, but there's nothing I can do about that without access to the upscaling used for the neural pack, unfortunately.

EDIT: As a related note, the strings in this mod are no longer hardcoded, and could theoretically translated. If anyone wishes to translate stuff into a non-English language, shoot me a PM!

Re: Fullscreen Statusbar Mod [v5.1.3]

PostPosted: Sun Dec 01, 2019 10:15 am
by axredneck
3saster wrote:
  • Are you running the 64-bit build of GZDoom, or the 32-bit version?
  • Did you have the "Force HUD override" option on?

64-bit, "Force HUD override" is off.

Re: Fullscreen Statusbar Mod [v5.1.3]

PostPosted: Sun Dec 01, 2019 10:53 am
by TheFerries
I'm not so good with how to read the crash reports, unfortunately. With that being said, I have a couple questions (if @axredneck could answer too, that would help):
  • Are you running the 64-bit build of GZDoom, or the 32-bit version?
  • Did you have the "Force HUD override" option on?
The HUD overriding was a source of many crashes while testing, and I THOUGHT that GZDoom 4.2.4 fixed these crashes, but I guess not entirely. If I can't guarantee that this feature is crash safe, I will just remove it entirely in the next version.


Thanks for the answer!

To answer your questions.

1- I am running the 64-bit build of GZDoom
2- No I'm not using Force HUD override.

Regarding the custom key cards, the Spooktober wad, specifically map 9 (or SPOOK09) uses a green key along with the other colored keys, I really like that map tbh. Another wad I know that uses them is Cheogsh 2. Since that mod is long as hell, need to play that again.

To be honest, It always surprises me when I see other colored key cards apart from the main 6, since I always forget that its even a thing you can do.

Re: Fullscreen Statusbar Mod [v5.1.3]

PostPosted: Sun Dec 01, 2019 4:53 pm
by 3saster
Very strange, I can't seem to reproduce the crashes. Tell me, does this build fix the crashes?

Re: Fullscreen Statusbar Mod [v5.1.3]

PostPosted: Sun Dec 01, 2019 8:42 pm
by TheFerries
That fixed it! dunno what you did with that, but it's fixed.

Also that one is half the size the previous one.

Re: Fullscreen Statusbar Mod [v5.1.3]

PostPosted: Mon Dec 02, 2019 12:42 am
by NightFright
That's because it uses compression. Final builds are always uncompressed. 500 KB are nothing to d/l these days.

Btw: Should there be no new GZDoom version in the next two weeks, another official release this year won't happen since I will be on vacation after that.

Re: Fullscreen Statusbar Mod [v5.1.3]

PostPosted: Sat Dec 07, 2019 9:07 am
by ZellSF
Is there any way to get more items in Heretic / Hexen on split bar? 4 is a bit too few, considering the fullscreen status bar shows 7.

Also can the item bar be pre-populated, when I press "Previous inventory item" and I've gathered more than two items before pressing it it only shows 2 items:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jPg__Z57ouU
This seems a bit weird to me.

Re: Fullscreen Statusbar Mod [v5.1.3]

PostPosted: Sat Dec 07, 2019 12:38 pm
by NightFright
The sbarinfo version actually showed more entries in the split version depending on the hud scaling value, up to 13 entries max and 3-4 min IIRC (to make sure the split panels aren't covered by items if you use an extremely large size). Maybe we can bring that back. The other thing is something I also experienced already and I guess it's indeed annoying. It shouldn't scroll further in the list if the last 4 items to the left/right are already reached. If there's a way to change that, 3saster will probably find it.

*UPDATE*
Fix for your second issue is done, Github build has it. Thanks to 3saster!

Re: Fullscreen Statusbar Mod [v5.1.3]

PostPosted: Sun Dec 08, 2019 3:32 am
by guitardz
Just wanted to say I'm glad this is still being worked on, was away from Doom for a time, awesome to see a new version available for my return. Keep up the good work :)

Re: Fullscreen Statusbar Mod [v5.1.3]

PostPosted: Sun Dec 08, 2019 4:08 am
by 3saster
ZellSF wrote:Also can the item bar be pre-populated, when I press "Previous inventory item" and I've gathered more than two items before pressing it it only shows 2 items:


Funny about this bug, I normally use the mouse wheel to scroll the inventory, and for whatever reason it didn't happen for me using that. As soon as I used a keyboard to scroll it, it happened. Quick fix thankfully, turns out I had to use FirstInv instead of InvFirst...

I've gonna a fun idea to fix the 4 item limit on the split hud, using our lord and savior ZScript, it can actually be dynamically sized based on your screen resolution! This is gonna be fun to implement :D

One more thing, has anyone else experienced crashes on exit in 5.1.3? "Force HUD Override" is a hacky feature that I am likely going to remove in the next version, as it seems to have weird crashing behavior.

Re: Fullscreen Statusbar Mod [v5.1.3]

PostPosted: Sun Dec 08, 2019 5:46 am
by NightFright
TBH it's not a big deal to pay some attention to load order, so it can be removed as far as I am concerned.