Fullscreen Statusbar Mod [v5.1.9]

For high-res texture/sprite projects, sprite-fix patches, music add-ons, music randomizers, and other graphic/sound-only projects.
Forum rules
The Projects forums are ONLY for YOUR PROJECTS! If you are asking questions about a project, either find that project's thread, or start a thread in the General section instead.

Got a cool project idea but nothing else? Put it in the project ideas thread instead!

Projects for any Doom-based engine (especially 3DGE) are perfectly acceptable here too.

Please read the full rules for more details.

Re: Fullscreen Statusbar Mod [v5.0.1]

Postby 3saster » Sat Sep 07, 2019 12:27 am

Implemented interpolation for all level stats and pushed to the repo. You were right Milten, it looks a lot better overall, not just on percentages. It has a little tricker to do than I'd have liked, but I got a little creative and managed to implement it. I tested it as best as I could, but I am not 100% confident it works flawlessly, so feel free to use the GitHub dev version to insure I didn't miss anything.
User avatar
3saster
 
Joined: 11 May 2018
Location: Canada

Re: Fullscreen Statusbar Mod [v5.0.1]

Postby XxMiltenXx » Sat Sep 07, 2019 2:29 am

Thanks for the quick implementation!

Yeah, it's a little complicated, but it seems like you managed ;). Everything looks correct to me and it works fine ingame.
The only thing I would've done differently, is to use 3 DynamicValueInterpolators (1 for kills, 1 for secrets, 1 for items) instead of seperating them between percentages, fractions and countdowns as well and then worked with Switches to determine between them. But that would have required more CVar checks, so albeit being maybe a little shorter, it might've been a little bit more "performance-hungry", so I think your implementation is better.

I also just tested an interpolation speed user option, however, due to the small numbers (0 to 100 for percentage) the actual speed difference is negligible, so I don't think it's worth the effort to actually implement it.

Anyway, great work as usual @3saster & @NightFright!
XxMiltenXx
 
Joined: 08 Jan 2014
Location: Germany
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8/201x 64-bit
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: Fullscreen Statusbar Mod [v5.0.1]

Postby 3saster » Sat Sep 07, 2019 2:53 am

I actually initially did do three, rather than nine, but I ran into the problem that you could not dynamically switch properly. If you were on fraction and kill 1000 enemies, then switch to percentage, it would stay at 1000 until unpaused, then lower to the percentage. Quite frankly, it looked really bad and inconsistent with the other instantaneous changes, so I decided to store the values separately across nine. Minor issue perhaps, but distracting. For reference, this mod is not performance intensive at all; a few more CVAR checks would be fine for maintainibility, but there were other problems.

I dont plan on implementing user speed for interpolation. The default speed is totally fine, even for large numbers, and the point of interpolation is more to see the number smoothly rise than anything else. Besides, that would probably be an unnecessarily confusing user option.

It seemed easy at first, but there were a lot of problems to deal with in practice. The trickiest one was when you finished a level, the values would not reset, and would lower to zero from their previous value, it looked really weird. Eventhandlers for detecting level changes is a no go either, because they cannot access the ui scope. I eventually came up with the solution of checking the map name every tick and seeing if it changed from the previous tick, and if so reset the values. It sounds simple now, but it took a long time to come up with it...
User avatar
3saster
 
Joined: 11 May 2018
Location: Canada

Re: Fullscreen Statusbar Mod [v5.0.1]

Postby NightFright » Sat Sep 07, 2019 3:23 am

Level stats resetting on map change was actually already an issue in pre-5.0. Good that it was finally addressed. Really didn't look great to watch those stats reset, especially for percentages. Surprising how much additional code this whole interpolation thing required, though.
User avatar
NightFright
Spotlight Team
 
Joined: 02 May 2008
Location: Germany

Re: Fullscreen Statusbar Mod [v5.0.1]

Postby azeta » Sat Sep 07, 2019 12:19 pm

is this mod only compatible with the latest version of gzdoom? I keep trying to use it with gzdoom vintage but it doesnt work
azeta
 
Joined: 17 Aug 2019

Re: Fullscreen Statusbar Mod [v5.0.1]

Postby NightFright » Sat Sep 07, 2019 1:50 pm

You will indeed need GZDoom 4.2.0 or later to use this. If you can't run it, you will have to keep using the last SBARINFO release, v4.10.3. I have attached it here again for your convenience.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
User avatar
NightFright
Spotlight Team
 
Joined: 02 May 2008
Location: Germany

Re: Fullscreen Statusbar Mod [v5.0.1]

Postby 3saster » Sat Sep 07, 2019 2:15 pm

Actually, it turns out that with minimal changes, I can make it support GZDoom Vintage. You will need the latest devbuild of GZDoom Vintage/LZDoom. You can find the vintage build here, though it will have some missing features compared to the non-vintage version. Also note that I did this because there was little I needed to change; the second it becomes less trivial to maintain, consider support dropped. If someone wishes to fork the project to maintain legacy support, feel free to do so.
User avatar
3saster
 
Joined: 11 May 2018
Location: Canada

Re: Fullscreen Statusbar Mod [v5.0.1]

Postby drfrag » Sat Sep 07, 2019 6:10 pm

You don't need to do that but i don't visit mod threads very often. Actually the vintage build has been discontinued and replaced with LZDoom. It should run with the next LZDoom release.
I missed something but now it aborts with an unknown font 'NewConsoleFont' error.
This line:
Code: Select allExpand view
s.fnt = "NewConsoleFont";

Changing it to
Code: Select allExpand view
s.fnt = NewConsoleFont;
makes it run.
That font doesn't exist in the legacy builds, it's fake.
User avatar
drfrag
Os voy a romper a pedazos!
Vintage GZDoom Developer
 
Joined: 23 Apr 2004
Location: Spain
Discord: drfrag#3555
Github ID: drfrag666

Re: Fullscreen Statusbar Mod [v5.0.1]

Postby 3saster » Sat Sep 07, 2019 8:22 pm

There are two reasons it won't work on LZDoom/GZDoom vintage without changes. The first is the new console font (which you provided a fix for, although the spacing is different), and the second is that DrawAmmoBar is not defined in LZDoom. If DrawAmmoBar were provided in the next LZDoom build, this would work without changes from the main version. BTW, is there a convenient place to get LZDoom devbuilds? The DRDTeam site has gzdoom-vintage, but I can't tell if that's LZDoom or not.

Is there a particular reason LZDoom doesn't use the NewConsoleFont?
User avatar
3saster
 
Joined: 11 May 2018
Location: Canada

Re: Fullscreen Statusbar Mod [v5.0.1]

Postby drfrag » Sun Sep 08, 2019 2:28 am

But why does the mod need to load the VGA font? Unless i'm missing something it's already loaded by the engine. The legacy builds don't support the modern UI and it would look bad anyway. The spacing is wrong since it's not the real font, just choose a different font. BTW changing the stats font i don't see any difference in GZDoom, are they disabled by default?
Next time do a bug report and i will try to fix it. The vintage build is discontinued but like i said i'm still updating the legacy branch in order to port the code to LZDoom in two steps and that way people can still "suck" code from there. We haven't changed the devbuilds to LZDoom yet, will do in a few days. This way you could have both and they actually slow down development since i try to minimize the number of devbuilds. No big deal until now since they're pretty much the same for GZDoom derived stuff.

This is the LZDoom branch:
https://github.com/drfrag666/gzdoom/commits/g3.3mgw
User avatar
drfrag
Os voy a romper a pedazos!
Vintage GZDoom Developer
 
Joined: 23 Apr 2004
Location: Spain
Discord: drfrag#3555
Github ID: drfrag666

Re: Fullscreen Statusbar Mod [v5.0.1]

Postby Yebudoom » Sun Sep 08, 2019 2:36 am

This is a great HUD mod, thank you for all the work put into this. One tiny suggestion though: I think the split bars would make more sense with Health and Armor on the left, and Ammo counter on the right side. It would be more intuitive IMO. I know keeping Ammo with Health on the left side is consistent with the traditional Doom status bar, of course. But when the bar is split, I'd arrange it like previously said: Health/Armor (left), Ammo/Keys (right). But that's just me :)

Would it be possible to make it toggleable? If you see any sense in my idea, that is.
User avatar
Yebudoom
 
Joined: 24 Jun 2019
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8/201x 64-bit
Graphics Processor: nVidia (Modern GZDoom)

Re: Fullscreen Statusbar Mod [v5.0.1]

Postby NightFright » Sun Sep 08, 2019 2:38 am

And here we go again. No, it's not planned to do this currently. If it ever changes, we'll let you know.

As I have already pointed out before, this may work for the standard Doom statusbar, but not for other mods that alter STBAR more excessicely. It also adds a lot of code for a feature I cannot help but find secondary at best. That also goes for native upscale pack support, btw. This is a direction I refuse to take with this project.
If this is getting done, it's gonna be a branch in GitHub and will stay as such. No merge with master.

Priority right now is adding Strife support, anyway.
User avatar
NightFright
Spotlight Team
 
Joined: 02 May 2008
Location: Germany

Re: Fullscreen Statusbar Mod [v5.0.1]

Postby Yebudoom » Sun Sep 08, 2019 3:07 am

NightFright wrote:And here we go again. No, it's not planned to do this currently. If it ever changes, we'll let you know.

As I have already pointed out before, this may work for the standard Doom statusbar, but not for other mods that alter STBAR more excessicely. It also adds a lot of code for a feature I cannot help but find secondary at best. That also goes for native upscale pack support, btw. This is a direction I refuse to take with this project.
If this is getting done, it's gonna be a branch in GitHub and will stay as such. No merge with master.

Priority right now is adding Strife support, anyway.

Damn, I had read through the last three pages of this thread and there was nobody mentioning a similar idea, so I thought "Right, I'll be the first one to suggest it". Turns out, I should have digged a little deeper, because a similar idea was actually here FOUR pages back. Since then, I've read through the whole thread. My apologies, I see now what the issue with implementing this would be. :oops:
User avatar
Yebudoom
 
Joined: 24 Jun 2019
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8/201x 64-bit
Graphics Processor: nVidia (Modern GZDoom)

Re: Fullscreen Statusbar Mod [v5.0.1]

Postby site » Sun Sep 08, 2019 8:35 am

NightFright wrote: That also goes for native upscale pack support, btw.


Last night i just happened to browse through the patch dropbox on a whim and saw that you had made new 5.x versions of the patches. So that was my bad. I must have missed you saying you updated those in the 5.0 announcement
site
 
Joined: 02 Jun 2019
Operating System: Windows Vista/7/2008 64-bit
Graphics Processor: Intel (Legacy GZDoom)

Re: Fullscreen Statusbar Mod [v5.0.1]

Postby NightFright » Sun Sep 08, 2019 2:59 pm

Yeah, like I wrote earlier, all 4.x patches have been updated except for Alien Vendetta and Avactor (which didn't need any change), Speed of Doom (no longer needs a fix in 5.x) plus the two Woolball fixes which will return at some later point.

Old patches are still available in the 4.x folder on Dropbox if needed.
User avatar
NightFright
Spotlight Team
 
Joined: 02 May 2008
Location: Germany

PreviousNext

Return to Graphic/Audio Patches

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest