Page 2 of 2

Re: [WIP] Welcome to FANCY WORLD (V1 Released)

PostPosted: Wed Jun 28, 2017 2:43 pm
by SiFi270
So I got a couple of screenshots of what I'm talking about.
Spoiler:

Edit: I've also discovered that the deep water effect causes bubbles to appear on the floor instead of on the surface. If it helps, I discovered this in E1M2 of Phobos Anomaly Reborn.
Spoiler:

Re: [WIP] Welcome to FANCY WORLD (V1 Released)

PostPosted: Wed Jan 30, 2019 5:34 pm
by Midnight_King
Does this work with Heretic?

Re: [WIP] Welcome to FANCY WORLD (07/04 V2 Rewrite!)

PostPosted: Sun Apr 07, 2019 2:37 am
by Kinsie
Version 2 has been released. See the OP for the scoop.

Re: [WIP] Welcome to FANCY WORLD (07/04 V2 Rewrite!)

PostPosted: Sun Apr 07, 2019 5:19 am
by comet1337


weewoo weewoo bug report right off the bat
e4m1
the floor is lava (lava bubbles appearing on solid floor)
it's because of the "raise floor and change texture" thing
happened on a larger sector too, where the bubbles were spawning at the center

and there's something on e3m4 that causes a ctd

Re: [WIP] Welcome to FANCY WORLD (07/04 V2 Rewrite!)

PostPosted: Sun Apr 07, 2019 6:34 am
by Kinsie
comet1337 wrote:

weewoo weewoo bug report right off the bat
e4m1
the floor is lava (lava bubbles appearing on solid floor)
it's because of the "raise floor and change texture" thing
happened on a larger sector too, where the bubbles were spawning at the center
I think this was fixed for nukage, so odds are I can easily transfer this over for lava.

comet1337 wrote:and there's something on e3m4 that causes a ctd
Kinsie wrote:Please update to GZDoom 4.0.0 before using this. A bug in GZDoom 3.7.2 causes Very Fatal Errors in certain Doom 1 & 2 IWAD maps.

Re: [WIP] Welcome to FANCY WORLD (07/04 V2 Rewrite!)

PostPosted: Sun Apr 07, 2019 2:47 pm
by WallyTheBoogieBug
Would it be possible to boost the volume of the sounds? Some mods' volumes are quite loud and these so quiet it can be hard to reach a balance where I can actually hear the ambient sounds and not have my eardrums blown out. Hell, a volume slider for the ambient sounds would be great, if such a thing is even possible.

Re: [WIP] Welcome to FANCY WORLD (07/04 V2 Rewrite!)

PostPosted: Sun Apr 07, 2019 4:36 pm
by Enjay
I'll be honest, one of the things that I really like about this mod is the fact that the sounds are subtle. They are definitely there, but they only sort of encroach on your consciousness, creating a more realistic world rather than the usual approach of "I AM AN ADDED SOUND - PAY ATTENTION TO ME". ;)

Re: [WIP] Welcome to FANCY WORLD (07/04 V2 Rewrite!)

PostPosted: Wed Apr 10, 2019 11:26 am
by Hipnotic Rogue
This is fantastic. I often play Doom without music but the game often feels a little dead like that. This mod fixes that for me. Thank you so much. :)

Re: [WIP] Welcome to FANCY WORLD (07/04 V2 Rewrite!)

PostPosted: Fri May 03, 2019 7:12 pm
by Armaetus
I can see this is still being updated, plus the ObAddon texture WAD has since updated, if you're still on this (if you're still interested in ObAddon, that is)

Re: [WIP] Welcome to FANCY WORLD (07/04 V2 Rewrite!)

PostPosted: Wed May 08, 2019 8:31 am
by 40KN
Thank you for the mod, in addition to your continued support. I noticed one spot in E2M2 where the issue of bubbling effects remaining once a platform has lifted still exists. You can see the issue here: (bad screenshot, there's a lot more bubbling normally). To be more specific, it is the area where you can press a switch in order to raise a platform upon which a chaingun sits, seen here on the map: .

Re: [WIP] Welcome to FANCY WORLD (07/04 V2 Rewrite!)

PostPosted: Sat Jun 01, 2019 7:39 pm
by Hellstorm Archon
Quick bug report:

While it may be commonplace for sounds to play really quietly, sometimes the sounds won’t play at all. I’ve noticed that this tends to occur when loading a level from a savegame.

EDIT: This also seems to occur when moving from one level to the next. At the very least, there are way less sounds encountered than just loading up that level via a fresh game. Case in point, there are only maybe 2 to 3 sounds max coming from a little computer wall, but that’s about it.

Also interesting to note is that while sounds may not even show up, the bubbling for certain flats (slime, lava, blood) still show up.

Re: [WIP] Welcome to FANCY WORLD (07/04 V2 Rewrite!)

PostPosted: Wed Jul 24, 2019 8:54 am
by PhysixCat
Hello Kinsie,

First of all - thanks a bunch for your mod, I love it. Breathes new life into maps.

I'm writing to ask if it would be possible in your current implementation of the code to add a toggle ON/OFF from the in-game Options menu? Particularly to get around the rare maps with huge lava seas (which you mention in Known Issues) and their respective performance tank. Or would this be impossible without restarting GZDoom? I know I could just restart GZD without loading the pk3, but the problem there is that a savefile using FancyWorld will result in a crash if loaded without FancyWorld.

Another interesting observation I made while replaying through the IWADs again - "MAP20: Gotcha!" from Doom2 lags extremely hard (~15 fps) after the room with the cyberdemon+spidermastermind fight (probably because of everything, including the roof, being lava). However, "E3M6: Mt. Erebus" from Doom does not lag that hard, even though it also has a lava sea. I noticed that MAP20 uses a different darker red lava than what E3M6 uses. I wonder why there's such a stark performance difference between the darker red lava and the yellower lava?

http://ian-albert.com/games/doom_2_maps/MAP20.jpg
http://ian-albert.com/games/doom_maps/E3M6.jpg

Re: [WIP] Welcome to FANCY WORLD (07/04 V2 Rewrite!)

PostPosted: Sat Apr 25, 2020 1:15 pm
by Barry Burton
I wonder how easy it would be to make a version of this that's fully compatible with D4V. Doom 4 Vanilla changes the colours of the liquids. The result is that when playing with Fancy World and D4V together one ends up with green bubbles coming from red liquids.

So, would this be an easy thing to do? I've no idea how to mod but with some pointers I'd like to give it a try. I've already got Slade installed ready to go.