Page 3 of 13

Re: Duke3D-style Shadows v1.1 [final, It Just Works™]

PostPosted: Mon Mar 06, 2017 5:57 am
by Tormentor667
So does this also work with custom monsters?

Re: Duke3D-style Shadows v1.1 [final, It Just Works™]

PostPosted: Mon Mar 06, 2017 6:15 am
by Dark-Assassin
Yea, it does, as long as they have sprites. Still don't like the shadows over the top of the actors. Perhaps setting them back by one unit from the player's position will fix that. I'd try, but I can't ZScript.

Re: Duke3D-style Shadows v1.1 [final, It Just Works™]

PostPosted: Mon Mar 06, 2017 6:33 am
by Nash
It doesn't happen all the time, it depends on which angle you're looking at the monster. Even in my first release with the duplicate-monster-hack, sometimes the shadows will draw in front of the monster.

No point trying to fight over such shaky and undefined program behavior.

Re: Duke3D-style Shadows 1.2 [final, works ib all monsters/m

PostPosted: Tue Mar 07, 2017 6:52 am
by Nash
Updated to be compatible with GZDoom 2.4 / latest devbuilds compatible (adds new version directive)

Re: Duke3D-style Shadows 1.2 [final, works on all monsters/m

PostPosted: Mon Mar 13, 2017 3:16 pm
by Hipnotic Rogue
Thank you for updating this. I love it and had a mild panic when I found 1.1 to be broken in todays DRD build! :)

Re: Duke3D-style Shadows 1.2 [final, works on all monsters/m

PostPosted: Fri Mar 17, 2017 6:44 pm
by Hellstorm Archon
No dice with this mini-mod, not even the latest SVN or the minimum SVN required. I get:

Code: Select allExpand view
Script error, "dukeshadow 1.2.zip:zscript.zsc" line 1:
Unexpected identifier
Expecting end of file or 'include' or 'extend' or 'class' or 'struct' or 'const' or 'enum'

Execution could not continue.
1 errors while parsing dukeshadow1.2.zip:zscript/dukeshadow.zsc


EDIT: Something broke with Tilt++ when I had to switch SVNs to try to get this mod to work.

Re: Duke3D-style Shadows 1.2 [final, works on all monsters/m

PostPosted: Fri Mar 17, 2017 7:24 pm
by Nash
No, you don't have the latest devbuild then.

Generalliy speaking, every time there's a line 1 error, it means the executable does not recognize the version directive, which is only available in newer dev builds (and will be for GZDoom 2.4).

Re: Duke3D-style Shadows 1.2 [final, works on all monsters/m

PostPosted: Sat Mar 18, 2017 11:38 am
by Hellstorm Archon
Nash wrote:No, you don't have the latest devbuild then.

Generalliy speaking, every time there's a line 1 error, it means the executable does not recognize the version directive, which is only available in newer dev builds (and will be for GZDoom 2.4).


Just checked for the latest bleeding-edge devbuild (Gzdoom-2.5pre-85-gf3ae144, March 18th), tried to load Tilt++, and I got the same errors as I would get with the previous SVNs.

Re: Duke3D-style Shadows 1.2 [final, works on all monsters/m

PostPosted: Sat Mar 18, 2017 12:24 pm
by Nash
Tilt++ was also updated a while ago, be sure you have the latest version of that mod too.

I loaded both mods with zero problems of my end, and my GZDoom executable isn't even bleeding edge (I'm out of date by about a few days from today, no time to play)

Re: Duke3D-style Shadows 1.2 [final, works on all monsters/m

PostPosted: Sat Mar 18, 2017 4:27 pm
by kadu522
Hi,nash i can't seem to load your file , do i need to compile it on a wad or pk3? or i am just a noob not doing it right?

Re: Duke3D-style Shadows 1.2 [final, works on all monsters/m

PostPosted: Sat Mar 18, 2017 7:32 pm
by Nash
Please use the latest GZDoom devbuild from http://devbuilds.drdteam.org/

Re: Duke3D-style Shadows 1.2 [final, works on all monsters/m

PostPosted: Sun Mar 19, 2017 3:11 pm
by kadu522
Nash wrote:Please use the latest GZDoom devbuild from http://devbuilds.drdteam.org/


Ok Thanks!

Re: Duke3D-style Shadows 1.2 [final, works on all monsters/m

PostPosted: Tue Mar 21, 2017 5:51 am
by Sleepyhead
Is there any reason why QZDoom would have difficulties or incompatibilities with this mod? Because I tried loading it with the new QZDoom 1.3.0.1 and it crashes randomly when I try to save the game and it's really confusing me. I initially thought that it was a QZDoom problem but I tested QZDoom without any add-ons other than the lights and brightmaps and it ran just fine. It was only when DukeShadows was loaded with it that the save-game crashes happened.

I tried GZDoom 2.4 out of curiosity and it works just fine with and without DukeShadows but it sucks having to choose between shadowmaps and monster shadows, especially because they look really good together in the right environment.

Re: Duke3D-style Shadows 1.2 [final, works on all monsters/m

PostPosted: Tue Mar 21, 2017 6:12 am
by Rachael
Do you have any crash reports?

No matter what happens in a crash, you should always post it in the tracker, even if you think it's simple user error, along with the mod and any crash report files it generates.

Please include your hardware specs, too. (CPU, Operating System version, and GPU)

Re: Duke3D-style Shadows 1.2 [final, works on all monsters/m

PostPosted: Tue Mar 21, 2017 9:08 am
by Nash
I'm currently occupied with other things... there are some updates that I meant to push out for all my recent mods to align them to GZDoom 2.4's official release (mainly about using AddEventHandler instead of EventHandler inside MAPINFO, and general code cleanup). And see if I can get it to crash, things like that.

But I don't have too much time and motivation for it this week.