Page 1 of 2

Doom skyboxes for GZDoom

PostPosted: Wed Oct 19, 2016 2:58 pm
by Ezepov
Doom1, Doom2, Plutonia, TNT skyboxes for GZDoom

Screenshots
Spoiler:


Download

Re: Skyboxes Doom 1 and 2 for GZDoom

PostPosted: Wed Oct 19, 2016 3:02 pm
by Tapwave
Pardon me if this is incredibly stupid of me, but what difference is there from the original? Does it use a skybox sector, or..?

Re: Skyboxes Doom 1 and 2 for GZDoom

PostPosted: Wed Oct 19, 2016 3:32 pm
by unRyker
No skyboxes, I looked inside and it's just good use of GLDEFS. This is definetly auto-load material, good work!

Edit:
Spoiler: Before Pictures

Re: Skyboxes Doom 1 and 2 for GZDoom

PostPosted: Wed Oct 19, 2016 3:53 pm
by Tapwave
Oooh! My bad, then. Just a simple, silly little thing that does it's job wonderfully. :p

Re: Skyboxes Doom 1 and 2 for GZDoom

PostPosted: Thu Oct 20, 2016 10:35 pm
by PandaDoomer
Could you release a pack for TNT and Plutonia?


Also, these came out GREAT.

Re: Skyboxes Doom 1 and 2 for GZDoom

PostPosted: Thu Oct 20, 2016 11:14 pm
by Reinchard2
Thanks for this skyboxes. That's one thing I always wanted to have. Nice job.

Re: Skyboxes Doom 1 and 2 for GZDoom

PostPosted: Fri Oct 21, 2016 3:24 am
by Ezepov
PandaDoomer wrote:Could you release a pack for TNT and Plutonia?

Maybe later

Re: Skyboxes Doom 1 and 2 for GZDoom

PostPosted: Fri Oct 21, 2016 6:05 am
by Princess Viscra Maelstrom
Would these skyboxes interfere with wads that use custom skies?

Re: Skyboxes Doom 1 and 2 for GZDoom

PostPosted: Fri Oct 21, 2016 6:22 am
by Ezepov
These are skyboxes that replace the skies for Doom1, Doom2, depending on the pack loaded.
You can put them all in the autoload of the INI, like this:

[Doom1.autoload]
Path=$PROGDIR/SB_D1.wad

[Doom2.autoload]
Path=$PROGDIR/SB_D2.wad

There are a couple of problems, though. When a new wad is loaded that replaces SkyX in the texturex, the skybox is still displayed. This can be fixed by manually loading the skybox whenever you want it, or removing it from the INI whenever you don't.
From:
viewtopic.php?f=19&t=16768

Re: Skyboxes Doom 1 and 2 for GZDoom

PostPosted: Sat Oct 22, 2016 2:47 am
by Wiw
I like, I like!

Re: Skyboxes Doom 1 and 2 for GZDoom

PostPosted: Sat Oct 22, 2016 3:20 am
by jpalomo
This is really awesome! How did you make these? I'm sticking this in my autoloads.
Spoiler:

Re: Skyboxes Doom 1 and 2 for GZDoom

PostPosted: Sat Oct 22, 2016 4:50 am
by Ezepov
jpalomo wrote:This is really awesome! How did you make these?

I make skyboxes in 3D Max. Default skies + new clouds.
Spoiler:

jpalomo wrote:I took the two WADs, put everything into one file, and used lump filtering to load them with the right IWADs. One less line to stick in my ini file :P

It's interesting. Upload your file please.

Re: Doom skyboxes for GZDoom

PostPosted: Sat Oct 22, 2016 10:54 am
by Ezepov
Update.
Added WADs for Plutonia and TNT, and PK3 for all Dooms (thanks jpalomo for help).

Re: Doom skyboxes for GZDoom

PostPosted: Sat Oct 22, 2016 12:52 pm
by Skrell
Forgive me guys, but i dont understand, what are the advantages/disadvantages between skyboxes and GLDEFS?

Re: Doom skyboxes for GZDoom

PostPosted: Sat Oct 22, 2016 1:46 pm
by Nash
My only critique is the vertically mirrored art at the bottom hemisphere of the skybox. If you could actually model unique terrain for the bottom half and somehow keep it looking vanilla, it would look better, in my opinion. :D

Otherwise, this is beautiful. Very vanilla.