Alpha Doom Hud

For high-res texture/sprite projects, sprite-fix patches, music add-ons, music randomizers, and other graphic/sound-only projects.
Forum rules
The Projects forums are ONLY for YOUR PROJECTS! If you are asking questions about a project, either find that project's thread, or start a thread in the General section instead.

Got a cool project idea but nothing else? Put it in the project ideas thread instead!

Projects for any Doom-based engine (especially 3DGE) are perfectly acceptable here too.

Please read the full rules for more details.

Want the black space to be player colored?

Poll ended at Sun Feb 14, 2016 2:21 pm

Yes
2
50%
No
0
No votes
Maybe?
2
50%
 
Total votes : 4

Alpha Doom Hud

Postby Gordon228 » Tue Feb 02, 2016 12:21 am

Hello i have recreated the alpha 0.5 hud to the best of my ability and i think it turned out great i did have to guess on placements and also had to do some editing since some of the stuff on the hud is not apart of doom any more i do plan to update it with one last thing if i can get it working and that is the message area but for not here is the finished thing.

https://www.dropbox.com/s/nsfznec2b3mvt ... d.pk3?dl=0


Update:
Added a poll.
Added a different color to the third bar. only one thing left to do but thats going to be hard.

Image
Need to add the message box thing but how to do that?
Last edited by Gordon228 on Thu Feb 04, 2016 2:21 pm, edited 4 times in total.
Gordon228
 
Joined: 19 Mar 2006

Re: Alpha Doom Hud

Postby Nevander » Tue Feb 02, 2016 1:16 am

Nice. It will go great with this mod.

Also, might want to scale that image down some. :wink:
Nevander
Self-Banned User
 
Joined: 06 Jan 2014

Re: Alpha Doom Hud

Postby Jaxxoon R » Tue Feb 02, 2016 4:12 am

You think that's bad? I've got a 4;3 monitor, so I'm seeing exactly one half of a hud here.
User avatar
Jaxxoon R
 
Joined: 04 May 2014

Re: Alpha Doom Hud

Postby Gordon228 » Tue Feb 02, 2016 12:10 pm

i am sorrie about the size the next pic will be cropped and i will attempt a resize of that one with imagure. now i do need help in getting the drawswitchableimage to work for 4 of the powerups. i have everything right but it not work.

DrawSwitchableImage Invulnerable, "I_INVIN", "I_VIN", 238, 172;
DrawSwitchableImage invisibility, "I_INVIS", "I_VIS", 235, 178;
DrawSwitchableImage lightamp, "I_VISOR", "I_NORM", 269, 166;
DrawSwitchableImage ironfeet, "I_RAD", "I_NORAD", 269, 175;

what am i doing wrong here?
Gordon228
 
Joined: 19 Mar 2006

Re: Alpha Doom Hud

Postby wildweasel » Tue Feb 02, 2016 1:13 pm

I suspect you need to check for the actual Power names, i.e. PowerInvulnerable, PowerIronfeet, et cetera.
User avatar
wildweasel
change o' pace.
Moderator Team Lead
 
Joined: 15 Jul 2003

Re: Alpha Doom Hud

Postby Gordon228 » Tue Feb 02, 2016 1:21 pm

i was going with what the wiki said. the invulnerability shows the off status but the res only show the on but i can check based on what you said.

Edit: it worked but that means the wiki is wrong for that entry also it's wrong about the image placement. it has it have the on one in the first line thats false it need to be the second in the load order.
Gordon228
 
Joined: 19 Mar 2006

Re: Alpha Doom Hud

Postby YukiHerz » Tue Feb 02, 2016 2:03 pm

I love it, but i made two changes that (imo) make it a little better, setting the Height to 32 and changing the Kills bar to use its own color, here's the resulting sbarinfo:

Code: Select allExpand view
base Doom;
height 32;

statusbar normal, forcescaled
{
   // basic layout
   DrawImage "INFOBAR", 0, 168;

   // health and armor bars
   DrawBar "I_HBAR", "I_EBAR", Health, horizontal, interpolate(8), 141, 171;
   DrawBar "I_ABAR", "I_EBAR", Armor, horizontal, interpolate(8), 141, 181;
   DrawBar "I_KBAR", "I_EBAR", kills, horizontal, interpolate(8), 141, 191;

   // ammo bar
   DrawNumber 3, ALPHAFONT_LARGE, untranslated, Ammo1, 92, 185;
   drawnumber 3, ALPHAFONT_SMALL, untranslated, ammo Clip, 128, 172;
   drawnumber 3, ALPHAFONT_SMALL, untranslated, ammo Shell, 128, 178;
   drawnumber 3, ALPHAFONT_SMALL, untranslated, ammo RocketAmmo, 128, 184;
   drawnumber 3, ALPHAFONT_SMALL, untranslated, ammo Cell, 128, 190;

   DrawImage weaponicon, 3, 171;

   // level stats
   drawstring ALPHAFONT_SMALL, untranslated, time, 213, 178;
   drawnumber 3, ALPHAFONT_SMALL, untranslated, items, 233, 191;
   drawnumber 2, ALPHAFONT_SMALL, untranslated, secrets, 269, 191;

   // keys
    drawswitchableimage keyslot 2 && 5, "nullimage", "I_IPIC01", "I_IPIC01", "I_IPIC01", 204, 172;
    drawswitchableimage keyslot 3 && 6, "nullimage", "I_IPIC02", "I_IPIC02", "I_IPIC02", 204, 180;
    drawswitchableimage keyslot 1 && 4, "nullimage", "I_IPIC03", "I_IPIC03", "I_IPIC03", 204, 188;

}
User avatar
YukiHerz
Always there, always bored.
 
Joined: 02 Dec 2013
Location: Where corruption is redefined daily.
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8/201x 64-bit
OS Test Version: No (Using Stable Public Version)
Graphics Processor: Intel (Modern GZDoom)

Re: Alpha Doom Hud

Postby Gordon228 » Tue Feb 02, 2016 2:48 pm

there was no bar color for the last bar witch i believe to be a shield bar and i am thinking of either yellow or blue and yes i did forget the height. also i will be updating it soon with power up info for 4 of the power ups. i would include the backpack and berserk pack but i do not know how. lol

Edit: also how is the positioning? it's hard to do when you have the wadfile but do not have the alpha installed anymore.

Edit 2: witch one should i use? Image Image
Gordon228
 
Joined: 19 Mar 2006

Re: Alpha Doom Hud

Postby hfc2x » Wed Feb 03, 2016 8:17 pm

The shield bar in the Alphas was blue (seen in Alphas 2 and 3). The positioning for the shield bar was (141, 191) iirc.
User avatar
hfc2x
DoomEU is not dead, just inevitably headed for a Mordeth nomination.
 
Joined: 17 Aug 2009
Location: Chule

Re: Alpha Doom Hud

Postby Gordon228 » Thu Feb 04, 2016 1:44 pm

i got all the positioning correct and thank you for knowing the color but there is no file for it so how would you know?

Dose anyone know how to have part of the hud replaced when messages are shown?
Gordon228
 
Joined: 19 Mar 2006

Re: Alpha Doom Hud

Postby hfc2x » Tue Feb 16, 2016 12:34 pm

Gordon228 wrote:how would you know?

Alphas 2 and 3 show a blue bar for the Shield.

Regarding messages, that's impossible to do as of yet.
User avatar
hfc2x
DoomEU is not dead, just inevitably headed for a Mordeth nomination.
 
Joined: 17 Aug 2009
Location: Chule

Re: Alpha Doom Hud

Postby Gordon228 » Tue Feb 16, 2016 2:03 pm

well now i got another problem and this time it's regarding the player color on the hud. if i use the defualt the colors are fine but if i use a custom the colors are not. they seem muted and i used the exact same colors for the hud stuff as the sbar images that have it.
Gordon228
 
Joined: 19 Mar 2006


Return to Graphic/Audio Patches

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests