[HUD]Fallout 3's HUD for Doom.

For high-res texture/sprite projects, sprite-fix patches, music add-ons, music randomizers, and other graphic/sound-only projects.
Forum rules
The Projects forums are ONLY for YOUR PROJECTS! If you are asking questions about a project, either find that project's thread, or start a thread in the General section instead.

Got a cool project idea but nothing else? Put it in the project ideas thread instead!

Projects for any Doom-based engine (especially 3DGE) are perfectly acceptable here too.

Please read the full rules for more details.

[HUD]Fallout 3's HUD for Doom.

Postby ZioMcCall » Mon Sep 28, 2015 8:16 am

Months ago i become a great fan of Fallout series,for this i tried to recreat the hud of this game for Doom and various mods.
There are two changes from original hud:
-Under the HP Bar there is the count of the keys,in replaces of the compass and of the enemies indicator.
-The shield bar(SH) take the place of the PA bar.

The hud is divided in four versions:
-The hud compatible with normal Doom(Or with simple mods that have the "ammo2" ammunition item)
-The hud compatible with Brutal Doom v20(which add the grenade count under the hp)
-The hud compatible with Project Brutality(which add the grenade count and the mines count under the hp)
-The hud compatible with Wild Weasel's NAZIS!(which add the nazi grenades count under the hp)

Each of this compatible versions,have four variants that change the colour:
-Green(Fallout 3's hud default colour)
-Orange(Fallout New Vegas hud default colour)
-Light Blue
-Red

For a good quality,is advisable to set the full screen and set the screen risolution at 800x400.

Screenshots!
Spoiler:


Download:
http://www.mediafire.com/download/be07u ... +3+HuD.zip

CREDITS!!!!!
-Retrogamerita,who made the grapichs
(RetrogamerIta's youtube channel)
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCmoTzn ... ju3MxlmGPQ
-Me(Naturaly)for made the Sbarinfo
User avatar
ZioMcCall
 
Joined: 05 Dec 2014
Location: Senigallia,Italy

Re: [HUD]Fallout 3's HUD for Doom.

Postby Vostyok » Tue Sep 29, 2015 2:57 am

I haven't had a chance to download yet, but how friendly is your hud with different resolutions/aspect ratios?
User avatar
Vostyok
Picture by RetroMuffin34 <3
 
Joined: 17 Jan 2015
Location: New Eden
Discord: Vostyok#3164

Re: [HUD]Fallout 3's HUD for Doom.

Postby Ozymandias81 » Tue Sep 29, 2015 5:26 am

Very clean & simple. But I must see how it works with different resolutions, as Vostyok said too.
For example, I can only play with 1024x768 one, so I'll stick to that forever. I'll give some more feedbacks later then.
User avatar
Ozymandias81
Doom is a State of Mind... Out of Control.
 
Joined: 04 Jul 2013
Location: Mount Olympus, Mars
Github ID: Ozymandias81
Operating System: Windows Vista/7/2008 64-bit
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: [HUD]Fallout 3's HUD for Doom.

Postby Mikk- » Tue Sep 29, 2015 5:33 am

This mod isn't friendly at all with 1920x1080 - while I'm sure a lot of effort has gone into making this; there is still a lot of work to be done. The hud is barely visible on 1920x1080 as it is cut off at the bottom, hiding the ammo counter.
User avatar
Mikk-
yooooooooooo
 
Joined: 30 Jun 2009
Location: Somewhere off Kanagawa
Discord: Mikk0451#3922

Re: [HUD]Fallout 3's HUD for Doom.

Postby doony » Tue Sep 29, 2015 7:03 am

awesome, I love hud mods, they really change the ambient in the game
this one reminds me the AEons of death hud, its very good
User avatar
doony
playing dood
 
Joined: 27 May 2009
Location: more than a year developing a gameplay mod

Re: [HUD]Fallout 3's HUD for Doom.

Postby ZioMcCall » Tue Sep 29, 2015 7:26 am

Mikk- wrote:This mod isn't friendly at all with 1920x1080 - while I'm sure a lot of effort has gone into making this; there is still a lot of work to be done. The hud is barely visible on 1920x1080 as it is cut off at the bottom, hiding the ammo counter.


These huds works only on the 800x600 resolution,but i will try to make them friendly with all the resolutions.
User avatar
ZioMcCall
 
Joined: 05 Dec 2014
Location: Senigallia,Italy

Re: [HUD]Fallout 3's HUD for Doom.

Postby LolwellunTeapot » Fri Nov 27, 2015 8:22 pm

It would be very fitting for Doom Rougelike Arsenal. Are you OK with making compatibility for DoomRLA?
User avatar
LolwellunTeapot
I do stuff.
 
Joined: 30 Sep 2015
Location: Trapped in Smashworld, Left to die.

Re: [HUD]Fallout 3's HUD for Doom.

Postby ZioMcCall » Sat Nov 28, 2015 8:50 am

LolwellunTeapot wrote:It would be very fitting for Doom Rougelike Arsenal. Are you OK with making compatibility for DoomRLA?


I never tried DoomRLA but i'll give a look :)
User avatar
ZioMcCall
 
Joined: 05 Dec 2014
Location: Senigallia,Italy

Re: [HUD]Fallout 3's HUD for Doom.

Postby Princess Viscra Maelstrom » Sun Nov 29, 2015 3:33 am

not sure why DRLA would need a custom hud when it's already got its own, perfectly functional HUD with it...
User avatar
Princess Viscra Maelstrom
 
Joined: 04 Dec 2008
Location: plergleland

Re: [HUD]Fallout 3's HUD for Doom.

Postby Kinsie » Sun Nov 29, 2015 5:21 am

Nice work so far, but you should probably use the actual Fallout 3 HUD font instead of a generic sans-serif.
User avatar
Kinsie
Dog Days
 
Joined: 22 Oct 2004
Location: MAP33
Discord: Find Me...
Twitch ID: thekinsie

Re: [HUD]Fallout 3's HUD for Doom.

Postby EnderTheKnight » Wed Dec 02, 2015 3:31 pm

Im having some trouble with the mod itself,and i am using ZDoom,and with the resolution i have "1152x864",the only things i get from the hud,is that the only thing i see is the "HP" cut in half in the bottom close to the middle,and i played a crap ton of Fallout 4 recently,and obviously,i wanted to feel something from Fallout. :?:
User avatar
EnderTheKnight
 
Joined: 26 Nov 2015
Location: [ERROR]

Re: [HUD]Fallout 3's HUD for Doom.

Postby ZioMcCall » Thu Dec 03, 2015 12:47 pm

EnderTheKnight wrote:Im having some trouble with the mod itself,and i am using ZDoom,and with the resolution i have "1152x864",the only things i get from the hud,is that the only thing i see is the "HP" cut in half in the bottom close to the middle,and i played a crap ton of Fallout 4 recently,and obviously,i wanted to feel something from Fallout. :?:


You must set the resolution at "860X480". Don't worry,i'll try to fix it soon.
User avatar
ZioMcCall
 
Joined: 05 Dec 2014
Location: Senigallia,Italy

Re: [HUD]Fallout 3's HUD for Doom.

Postby Princess Viscra Maelstrom » Thu Dec 03, 2015 4:37 pm

that's a pretty low resolution to run the game in, when most monitors nowadays have about 2.5x the width and height.
User avatar
Princess Viscra Maelstrom
 
Joined: 04 Dec 2008
Location: plergleland

Re: [HUD]Fallout 3's HUD for Doom.

Postby Endless123 » Thu Dec 03, 2015 7:13 pm

Viscra Maelstrom wrote:that's a pretty low resolution to run the game in, when most monitors nowadays have about 2.5x the width and height.


Well Doom have been played for decades at low res because it was low res to begin with and the arrival of HD monitors didn't magically turn Doom into a HD game. There is a few features in gzdoom you can use to both have this HUD displayed and have your fave resolution enabled and i'm sure you know what i'm talking about so please don't b**** this mod because of low res. Peace :)
Endless123
 
Joined: 28 Aug 2013

Re: [HUD]Fallout 3's HUD for Doom.

Postby wildweasel » Thu Dec 03, 2015 7:33 pm

Endless123 wrote:
Viscra Maelstrom wrote:that's a pretty low resolution to run the game in, when most monitors nowadays have about 2.5x the width and height.


Well Doom have been played for decades at low res because it was low res to begin with and the arrival of HD monitors didn't magically turn Doom into a HD game. There is a few features in gzdoom you can use to both have this HUD displayed and have your fave resolution enabled and i'm sure you know what i'm talking about so please don't b**** this mod because of low res. Peace :)

I'd argue that it should be up to HUD authors to allow their work to look good at any possible screen settings.
User avatar
wildweasel
change o' pace.
Moderator Team Lead
 
Joined: 15 Jul 2003

Next

Return to Graphic/Audio Patches

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest