Page 27 of 28

Re: Droplets - Development Resumes!

PostPosted: Sun Aug 19, 2018 12:21 pm
by Josh771
BROS_ETT_311 wrote:Any chance on a patch to use this with D4D? There's currently a bug that spawns bloodpools beneath all enemies upon starting a map. However, this isn't present when using droplets with D4T, so it might just be a D4D issue.

D4D must be insta-killing bleeding actors all over the map in that case. I could maybe add a simple check that prevents blood pooling from continuing when the corpse actor is no longer existent. Development on Droplets has slowed down a bit as of now, but I can add that to my to-do list. :wink:

Re: Droplets - Development Resumes!

PostPosted: Mon Aug 20, 2018 9:54 am
by NeonLights95
I like this Droplets mod. I think it's a wonderful blood mod. Keep it up!

Re: Droplets - Development Resumes!

PostPosted: Thu Oct 11, 2018 6:31 pm
by snackerfork
This is a great mod, but there's one big problem with it - MAP06 of Doom 2. The game slows to an absolute crawl when the Spider Mastermind is being crushed. This happens on Beautiful Doom, when Beautiful Doom is turned off, and in older versions as well. I'm guessing it has something to do with the ceiling blood drops? If there's any way to fix this, that'd be wonderful.

ETA: Looking at actorlist in the console, the culprit seems to be the huge amount of blooddroplets and ceildrippers that spawn when the Spider Mastermind is being crushed. I saw over 2000 and over 500, respectively. But I'm not sure there's a way to fix it besides enabling "mild blood amounts" and a limit of 500 on blood drops, unless you can get the Zdoom developers to change the way blood is spawned when an enemy like the Spider Mastermind is being crushed.

Re: Droplets - Development Resumes!

PostPosted: Mon Oct 15, 2018 4:04 pm
by Josh771
snackerfork wrote:This is a great mod, but there's one big problem with it - MAP06 of Doom 2. The game slows to an absolute crawl when the Spider Mastermind is being crushed. This happens on Beautiful Doom, when Beautiful Doom is turned off, and in older versions as well. I'm guessing it has something to do with the ceiling blood drops? If there's any way to fix this, that'd be wonderful.

ETA: Looking at actorlist in the console, the culprit seems to be the huge amount of blooddroplets and ceildrippers that spawn when the Spider Mastermind is being crushed. I saw over 2000 and over 500, respectively. But I'm not sure there's a way to fix it besides enabling "mild blood amounts" and a limit of 500 on blood drops, unless you can get the Zdoom developers to change the way blood is spawned when an enemy like the Spider Mastermind is being crushed.

The best solution I know of for this at the moment is to just drop your blood limit to somewhere around 64 until the mastermind is crushed, then crank it back up. Droplets has had this problem for as long as I can remember, I'm afraid.

Re: Droplets - Development Resumes!

PostPosted: Mon Oct 15, 2018 7:36 pm
by Glaice
I'm trying to remember what the blood actors work on, is it the CPU or GPU? Guessing the CPU currently because I know GZDoom is moving to implement Vulkan eventually so the GPU has more load instead of the CPU.

Re: Droplets - Development Resumes!

PostPosted: Mon Oct 15, 2018 10:26 pm
by Caligari87
All actors are on the CPU, and that includes blood actors. They're not special or anything. So far as I know there's no easy way to parallelize the deterministic nature of Doom's gamesim so that's unlikely to change anytime soon.

8-)

Re: Droplets - Updated 10/24/2018!

PostPosted: Wed Oct 24, 2018 11:52 am
by Josh771
New release today! Droplets v1.2.0!

From the GitHub release page:
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
This release adds a new feature, several tweaks, and an additional setting in the Droplets Options menu.

Changelog:
• Implemented new wall splats
• Improved blood fog visuals and behavior
• Randomized timing for drippy ceiling splats
• Made gibs roll in midair and bounce more
• Gibs are now affected by your blood gravity setting
• Fixed an error that spawned blood pools when nothing had died
• Added "Ludicrous Gibs" option: all deaths throw giblets!
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Re: Droplets - Development Resumes!

PostPosted: Wed Oct 24, 2018 12:01 pm
by Enjay
With developer messages on:

Code: Select allExpand view
LoadActors: Load actor definitions.
Script error, "droplets_1.2.0.pk3:decorate.txt" line 4:
Replaced type 'BlueBlood' not found for C_BlueBloodSquirt
Script error, "droplets_1.2.0.pk3:decorate.txt" line 8:
Replaced type 'GreenBlood' not found for C_GreenBloodSquirt
Script error, "droplets_1.2.0.pk3:decorate.txt" line 14:
Replaced type 'HDBloodTrailFloor' not found for C_HideousTrail
Script warning, "droplets_1.2.0.pk3:zscript/droplets/squirts.txt" line 30:
Truncation of floating point value
Script warning, "droplets_1.2.0.pk3:zscript/droplets/squirts.txt" line 38:
Truncation of floating point value
Script warning, "droplets_1.2.0.pk3:zscript/droplets/squirts.txt" line 89:
Truncation of floating point value
Script warning, "droplets_1.2.0.pk3:zscript/droplets/squirts.txt" line 146:
Truncation of floating point value
Script warning, "droplets_1.2.0.pk3:zscript/droplets/squirts.txt" line 197:
Truncation of floating point value
script parsing took 157.46 ms



And when gibbing bad guys, I sometimes (but not always) get a crash to console:

Code: Select allExpand view
VM execution aborted: tried to read from address zero.
Called from RunnySpot.Tick at droplets_1.2.0.pk3:zscript/droplets/wall.txt, line 73

Re: Droplets - Development Resumes!

PostPosted: Wed Oct 24, 2018 12:25 pm
by Josh771
Quickly! None of you saw any crashes! That never happened! Heheheh...

Bug-fix release 1.2.1

Also, I'm surprised all those floating point numbers are getting truncated. I'll check my code to see if they're intentional. As for the "replaced type" errors: those will always be in Droplets as a matter of compatibility with certain other common gore systems and specifically for compatibility with Hideous Destructor. I hate seeing those red letters on launch, but it's just a necessary evil.

Re: Droplets - Development Resumes!

PostPosted: Wed Oct 24, 2018 12:30 pm
by Enjay
Crash? What crash? I never saw no crashes. ;)

It does indeed seem to be working now. Thanks. :)

Re: Droplets - Updated 10/24/2018!

PostPosted: Thu Oct 25, 2018 12:18 pm
by Glaice
Oh nice, a new Droplets release.

Re: Droplets - Updated 10/24/2018!

PostPosted: Sat Oct 27, 2018 10:22 pm
by BROS_ETT_311
Nice! You solved the mystery of the blood puddles!

Re: Droplets - Updated 10/24/2018!

PostPosted: Sun Oct 28, 2018 10:25 pm
by Glaice
I played a little bit with the new version and seeing the new blood splats on the wall with the dribbling down, a nice touch.

Re: Droplets - Updated 10/24/2018!

PostPosted: Thu Nov 01, 2018 12:06 pm
by ate0ate
Wow. I used this mod a long while ago and it was okay, but I just tried out the update and I have to say it is rather amazing. Really nice effects with the blood hitting the wall and then slowly running down plus the ceiling drips. Very nice. Gory like Doom should be, but not crazy over the top. Is there any chance of getting the blood color to be correct on things like cacodemons/barons/hellknights? That's the only thing really missing from this that makes me not like using it for absolutely everything.

Also, there's several script error at startup that may or may not mean anything...
Code: Select allExpand view
script error, "droplets.pk3:decorate.txt" line 4: 'Blueblood' not found for c_bluebloodsquirt
script error, "droplets.pk3:decorate.txt" line 8: 'Greenblood' not found for c_greenbloodsquirt
script error, "droplets.pk3:decorate.txt" line 14: 'HDBloodTrailFloor' not found for c_hideoustrail

Re: Droplets - Updated 10/24/2018!

PostPosted: Thu Nov 01, 2018 1:11 pm
by talisa
ate0ate wrote: Is there any chance of getting the blood color to be correct on things like cacodemons/barons/hellknights?


there's a solution for that available =
m8f wrote:Try loading droplets with Blood Fixer. Droplets mod itself doesn't contain blood colors.