Droplets - Updated 01/04/2017

For high-res texture/sprite projects, sprite-fix patches, music add-ons, music randomizers, and other graphic/sound-only projects.
Forum rules
The Projects forums are ONLY for YOUR PROJECTS! If you are asking questions about a project, either find that project's thread, or start a thread in the General section instead.

Got a cool project idea but nothing else? Put it in the project ideas thread instead!

Projects for any Doom-based engine (especially 3DGE) are perfectly acceptable here too.

Please read the full rules for more details.

Re: Droplets - Updated 01/04/2017

Postby Cyanide » Sun Apr 30, 2017 4:17 am

Awesome! Was looking for a light gore mod, that takes accepts blood color, and didn't mess with other mods. :D

Shame about the gibs not changing color, though.

Also, I got an error message while trying to run droplets_spattered after droplets_V15. It refers to actor BloodDrop1, which was removed in one of the newer versions.
User avatar
Cyanide
 
Joined: 15 Feb 2013
Location: 6 ft. under

Re: Droplets - Updated 01/04/2017

Postby Hellser » Tue May 02, 2017 2:27 pm

Just tested this and I have to say.. this is how Blood is suppose to be done. I hope Doyle comes back and updates the links.

For people who are looking to download this, for now, please check this link or this.
User avatar
Hellser
Remember Citadel
 
Joined: 25 Jun 2006
Location: Citadel Station
Discord: Hellser#8156

Re: Droplets - Updated 01/04/2017

Postby Glaice » Sat May 13, 2017 1:54 am

Some potential issues:

1) I've noticed some frame drop while hitting the bigger enemies with the shotgun or super shotgun, that and/or excessive blood sitting around.
2)I think the dead Lost Souls leave a blood pool after dying.
3) Pools and/or floor decals may interfere with doors closing.

This is using GZDoom 3.0.1 with FX-8300, 16 GB DDR3 RAM and an RX 480 8GB card.
User avatar
Glaice
Maps of Chaos/RDND/DVV Overseer
 
Joined: 13 Mar 2009
Location: North Babylon, NY
Discord: 8512

Re: Droplets - Updated 01/04/2017

Postby dDefinder » Sat May 20, 2017 5:08 pm

Made alternate splatter textures for your mod. These cover a larger area while making the blood spots smaller.

http://www.moddb.com/games/doom/addons/ ... eplacement
User avatar
dDefinder
 
Joined: 26 Jan 2017

Re: Droplets - Updated 01/04/2017

Postby CasualChris » Sun May 28, 2017 3:05 pm

This post is most likely going to fall on deaf ears, but someone should tell SidDoyle when (and if) he ever comes back that the Droplets Options menu overrides the Change Rendering Output menu in GZDoom 3.0.0 and beyond.
CasualChris
 
Joined: 30 Dec 2016

Re: Droplets - Updated 01/04/2017

Postby Hexereticdoom » Sat Jun 03, 2017 9:47 pm

Hi there, for anyone who is using actually GZDoom 3.x, and meanwhile SidDoyle remains absent lately (hope he is OK) I have personally made a couple of patched versions of Droplets addon (v14 and v15) for being compatible with the new recent GZDoom menu system, so all the main options keep untouched. :winker:

Here you have, hope you find them useful:
Attachments
DROPLETS_V15_FIXED_EDITION.PK3
(149.64 KiB) Downloaded 339 times
DROPLETS_V14_FIXED_EDITION.PK3
(154.08 KiB) Downloaded 84 times
User avatar
Hexereticdoom
Don't make me angry or I'll bite you! Heheheee...
 
Joined: 08 Aug 2013
Location: Spain

Re: Droplets - Updated 01/04/2017

Postby Caligari87 » Sat Jun 03, 2017 11:07 pm

I was actually planning on doing this soon as well! Would you mind if I set up a github repository with your patched versions and kept it semi-updated?

8-)
User avatar
Caligari87
I'm just here for the community
 
 
 
Joined: 26 Feb 2004
Location: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Discord: Caligari87#3089

Re: Droplets - Updated 01/04/2017

Postby Hexereticdoom » Sun Jun 04, 2017 10:02 am

Caligari87 wrote:Would you mind if I set up a github repository with your patched versions and kept it semi-updated?

Sure, why not? Please go on with it! :)
User avatar
Hexereticdoom
Don't make me angry or I'll bite you! Heheheee...
 
Joined: 08 Aug 2013
Location: Spain

Re: Droplets - Updated 01/04/2017

Postby Caligari87 » Sun Jun 04, 2017 12:38 pm

https://github.com/caligari87/droplets
V14 (source) (zip)
V15 (source) (zip)

Okay, I've created a repository and made branches for both v14 and v15. I uploaded SidDoyle's original code first, then commited Hexereticdoom's patched versions. if I've done everything right, you should just be able to clone/download the .zip whichever branch you wish to use and run it directly in GZDoom. I can act as interim maintainer for any future work (such as maybe re-writing Droplets in ZScript, keeping up-to-date with GZDoom, etc), so pull requests and patches are appreciated.

Thinking forward in case SidDoyle doesn't come back, would it be advisable to create a new project thread and lock this one, or am I jumping the gun?

8-)
User avatar
Caligari87
I'm just here for the community
 
 
 
Joined: 26 Feb 2004
Location: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Discord: Caligari87#3089

Re: Droplets - Updated 01/04/2017

Postby CasualChris » Sun Jun 04, 2017 3:19 pm

Is the blood only supposed to render properly in Hardware? When playing in Software, it's horribly stretched horizontally.
CasualChris
 
Joined: 30 Dec 2016

Re: Droplets - Updated 01/04/2017

Postby wildweasel » Sun Jun 04, 2017 8:30 pm

CasualChris wrote:Is the blood only supposed to render properly in Hardware? When playing in Software, it's horribly stretched horizontally.

As far as I can remember, the rendering feature needed for Droplets to work is not supported under software rendering.
User avatar
wildweasel
I love the smell of sourdough in the morning
Moderator Team Admin
 
Joined: 15 Jul 2003
Location: avatar by kurashiki

Re: Droplets - Updated 01/04/2017

Postby Hidden Hands » Sat Aug 12, 2017 12:06 pm

Hexereticdoom wrote:Hi there, for anyone who is using actually GZDoom 3.x, and meanwhile SidDoyle remains absent lately (hope he is OK) I have personally made a couple of patched versions of Droplets addon (v14 and v15) for being compatible with the new recent GZDoom menu system, so all the main options keep untouched. :winker:

Here you have, hope you find them useful:

How do I add this into my main WAD of Doom? As one WAD file altogether?
User avatar
Hidden Hands
Deadite
 
Joined: 20 Sep 2016
Location: London, England

Re: Droplets - Updated 01/04/2017

Postby Tapwave » Sun Aug 13, 2017 12:29 pm

Autoload it via your configuration file. Don't edit your IWADs in any way!
User avatar
Tapwave
On the GREEN!
 
Joined: 20 Aug 2011
Discord: Insulting#2455

Re: Droplets - Updated 01/04/2017

Postby Glaice » Mon Aug 14, 2017 2:15 am

If you have a program such as ZDL, load it with that.
User avatar
Glaice
Maps of Chaos/RDND/DVV Overseer
 
Joined: 13 Mar 2009
Location: North Babylon, NY
Discord: 8512

Re: Droplets - Updated 01/04/2017

Postby Gideon020 » Tue Sep 05, 2017 9:49 pm

Just load it, I don't need to extract it, yeah? Or do I need to rename this to a pk3? Because loading it in ZDL as a zip completely killed my sound for some reason.
Gideon020
Fanboy
 
Joined: 28 Sep 2015

PreviousNext

Return to Graphic/Audio Patches

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests