[Release] JP HUD Final

For high-res texture/sprite projects, sprite-fix patches, music add-ons, music randomizers, and other graphic/sound-only projects.
Forum rules
The Projects forums are ONLY for YOUR PROJECTS! If you are asking questions about a project, either find that project's thread, or start a thread in the General section instead.

Got a cool project idea but nothing else? Put it in the project ideas thread instead!

Projects for any Doom-based engine (especially 3DGE) are perfectly acceptable here too.

Please read the full rules for more details.

Re: [WIP] JP HUD v5

Postby De-M-oN » Tue Oct 07, 2014 7:26 pm

Ah ok then I was right in my edited previous post

But can you read my edited post now please. Because I have no bar at all even with untouched file.
User avatar
De-M-oN
 
Joined: 26 May 2008

Re: [WIP] JP HUD v5

Postby Endless123 » Tue Oct 07, 2014 7:42 pm

De-M-oN wrote:Ah ok then I was right in my edited previous post

But can you read my edited post now please. Because I have no bar at all even with untouched file.


Send me your SBARINFO file and i'll see what could be missing.

EDIT : One question, have you copied the "Graphics" folder to have the bars displayed? If not that could explain why nothing is shown.

EDIT 2 : It might be easier to just use jpalomo bars and adapt the SBARINFO file to your need instead of using only some parts of it and hoping it would work because the enemy health bar is ACS dependent and if the script isn't compiled and used in your mod the enemy bar won't show up. In short just transfer your statusbar stuff into jpalomo's SBARINFO (inside the JP HUD.pk3 archive) that way nothing should be missing.
Last edited by Endless123 on Tue Oct 07, 2014 7:57 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Endless123
 
Joined: 28 Aug 2013

Re: [WIP] JP HUD v5

Postby De-M-oN » Tue Oct 07, 2014 7:53 pm

There is a link to my HUD.

But: The problem with no bar - like said - is not my edit. I have this problem in general - like said.

I used the untouched "JP HUD v5.pk3" file (means no edits done to it) and I have no bar.

No bar at fullscreen hud
no bar at stretched fullscreen
no bar at normal hud
no bar at normal hud stretched
no bar at 2560x1600
no bar at 1920x1080
no bar at 640x480

Like said: I have no enemy bars at all - with the untouched JP HUD v5.pk3 file.
User avatar
De-M-oN
 
Joined: 26 May 2008

Re: [WIP] JP HUD v5

Postby jpalomo » Tue Oct 07, 2014 8:04 pm

Are you trying to use 2 sbarinfo files at once? It will only load the last one.
User avatar
jpalomo
 
Joined: 17 May 2010

Re: [WIP] JP HUD v5

Postby Cryomundus » Tue Oct 07, 2014 8:04 pm

Try pressing - or +, DOOM has various HUD sizes, so JP HUD might only effect one of them. Also, pressing + a bunch of times will remove the HUD, and pressing - once will bring it back.
User avatar
Cryomundus
 
Joined: 31 Oct 2013

Re: [WIP] JP HUD v5

Postby Endless123 » Tue Oct 07, 2014 8:05 pm

Well then there is some other things that could prevent the display

1 - Be sure you have the latest (G)ZDoom build to have all the fixes and new stuff
2 - Be sure the default fullscreen alternative HUD is OFF, because having it ON will prevent the display of most custom fullscreen HUDs

Other than that i don't see what could be useful to fix that bug
Endless123
 
Joined: 28 Aug 2013

Re: [WIP] JP HUD v5

Postby De-M-oN » Tue Oct 07, 2014 8:31 pm

Ok works now.

My GZDoom was too old. Didnt expect that. Had 1.8.2.

With 1.8.7 it works.

But the HQx4 Scaler of GZDoom 1.8.7 looks evilly ugly o.o - which was reported already by someone somewhere, but I cant find it again at the moment..
User avatar
De-M-oN
 
Joined: 26 May 2008

JP HUD v6 preview

Postby jpalomo » Thu Nov 27, 2014 11:21 pm

Lots of big changes coming up, now that I have some time to mod (5 day vacation here I come!). I've uploaded a mod friendly version of the enemy hp HUD (see the first post). It can be considered a preview of the next version. I've added more options to customize how the bar is drawn on the screen:
  • X and Y offsets for the bar, name tag, health values, and a global setting for everything
  • Bigfont option for those with terrible eyesight like myself
  • Custom HUD scaling options. Defaults to 320x240. Larger values will make everything smaller. Don't use the same value as your video mode resolution.
In addition, I've moved all of the enemy health bar code into ACS, meaning it can be used with just about anything that doesn't have a conflict with HUDMessage's ID values. I've included the source but it is a little messy, so contact me if you need any help understanding it. To see all of the options, check the HUD options menu for the mod specific submenu.

I still haven't updated the main HUD yet, so that will still link to the old version. Do not attempt to run the mod friendly version with version 5.
User avatar
jpalomo
 
Joined: 17 May 2010

Re: [WIP] JP HUD v6

Postby jpalomo » Fri Mar 20, 2015 2:08 pm

Since interest in this seems to be picking up, I've decided to start working on this again. Expect a new version sometime this weekend.
User avatar
jpalomo
 
Joined: 17 May 2010

Re: [WIP] JP HUD v6

Postby De-M-oN » Fri Mar 20, 2015 2:24 pm

Is there also a mod possible that you can see healthbars above the enemies like in a RTS?

It seems possible, because at ZDoom Wars I saw it at boss monsters integrated.

Would be nice to have it for every enemy like with this HUD and with the number of health within the healthbar as well like here.
User avatar
De-M-oN
 
Joined: 26 May 2008

Re: [WIP] JP HUD v7

Postby jpalomo » Sun Mar 22, 2015 4:08 am

De-M-oN wrote:Is there also a mod possible that you can see healthbars above the enemies like in a RTS?

It seems possible, because at ZDoom Wars I saw it at boss monsters integrated.

Would be nice to have it for every enemy like with this HUD and with the number of health within the healthbar as well like here.


It is definitely possible, but not without replacing the monsters or tons of ACS hackery (which isn't really worth it, you should see how complicated the scripts already are.) I'm trying to shoot for mod compatibility with this one.

I've updated the first post with new links and screenshots. I made it a little easier to customize the enemy health bar and added an option to display health as a percentage or exact value. I've neatened up the options menu a little as well. A new issue has risen thanks to recent changes unfortunately. Using odd numbers for the scaled resolution on the enemy health bar will cause the bar to be displayed improperly. I'm not sure how to go about fixing it.
User avatar
jpalomo
 
Joined: 17 May 2010

Re: [WIP] JP HUD v7

Postby doomjoshuaboy » Wed Mar 25, 2015 10:51 pm

100% best HUD bar and enemy/monster bar ever. Thanks to you man. Just the enemy/monster bar I need for my mod with my own scoreboard(scoreitem) with this HUD of yours. Suggestion that you might want to put in your hud, some people/modders might have mods like mines have huds with a scoreboard. Try if you want to.
Cheers
User avatar
doomjoshuaboy
Owner of <AD> Australian Doomers Server Cluster
 
Joined: 05 Jan 2011
Location: NSW, Australia
Discord: doomjoshuaboy#1975

Re: [WIP] JP HUD v7

Postby BFG » Thu Mar 26, 2015 3:55 pm

I like the healthbars, but why does it say veeboofatty for the Mancubi?

jpalomo wrote:Not until it catches up to ZDoom. There are simply too many missing features that will prevent this from working properly.

I will add more options in the next version, such as disabling/moving the enemy health bar, and keeping the keys displayed.


I know this an old quote but.. really? I thought when the Skulltag team left and Zandronum began it was going to work hard to get up to date, I don't touch Zan but i'm disappointed, this whole time I though Zan was superior to ST because it was updated while ST was left to die with an inactive team.
User avatar
BFG
 
Joined: 17 Feb 2015
Location: Germany

Re: [WIP] JP HUD v7

Postby jpalomo » Thu Mar 26, 2015 6:01 pm

BFG wrote:I like the healthbars, but why does it say veeboofatty for the Mancubi?


It displays whatever is set for the actor's tag property. If it isn't defined, it will use the actor name.
User avatar
jpalomo
 
Joined: 17 May 2010

[WIP] JP HUD v8

Postby jpalomo » Sat Mar 28, 2015 8:33 am

Double posting for a progress update:
Spoiler:

Currently working on a font based on the Narkisim font. For the healthbar, it will be a toggle option between the smallfont, bigfont, and the new font. I'll be implementing the font into the normal and fullscreen HUD. I still need to adjust some offsets and clean up a few of the graphics before releasing a new version.

Edit:
Version 8 is now up. It adds a new font used in the normal and fullscreen hud, as well as toggle between 3 font types for the enemy health bar. I've also added an ammo bar to the fullscreen hud. I can officially say that this hud will work with any IWAD now.
User avatar
jpalomo
 
Joined: 17 May 2010

PreviousNext

Return to Graphic/Audio Patches

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest