[On Pause] NC HUD v2.6.0 - September 7th, 2019

For high-res texture/sprite projects, sprite-fix patches, music add-ons, music randomizers, and other graphic/sound-only projects.
Forum rules
The Projects forums are ONLY for YOUR PROJECTS! If you are asking questions about a project, either find that project's thread, or start a thread in the General section instead.

Got a cool project idea but nothing else? Put it in the project ideas thread instead!

Projects for any Doom-based engine (especially 3DGE) are perfectly acceptable here too.

Please read the full rules for more details.

Re: [WIP] NC HUD v1.22

Postby Tesculpture » Sat Mar 05, 2016 4:05 pm

I have cobbled together a v1.22 patch for Heretic and Hexen, if anyone is interested.
Spoiler:


The Hexen one isn't perfect; Armour Class isn't displayed, and the keys section can only show 4 keys at once.
Spoiler:


Both also suffer from massive gaps below the weapon sprites, but apart from those problems, they seem to work.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
User avatar
Tesculpture
 
Joined: 07 Feb 2016

Re: [WIP] NC HUD v1.22

Postby Blue Shadow » Sun Mar 06, 2016 8:58 am

Tesculpture wrote:Both also suffer from massive gaps below the weapon sprites, but apart from those problems, they seem to work.

I encountered this when creating the Heretic patch for v1.30*. The only way I found to fix it, was to switch the statusbar definition from normal to fullscreen.

Spoiler: *
User avatar
Blue Shadow
 
 
 
Joined: 14 Nov 2010
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8/201x 64-bit
OS Test Version: No (Using Stable Public Version)
Graphics Processor: ATI/AMD (Modern GZDoom)

Re: [WIP] NC HUD v1.22

Postby Fused » Sun Mar 06, 2016 1:58 pm

Blue Shadow wrote:The only way I found to fix it, was to switch the statusbar definition from normal to fullscreen.


Pretty sure this is the only way. The normal version aims the weapon a bit higher due to the statusbar filling up the lower part of your screen when you use the old one. This is also the reason this should be using the fullscreen version in the first place and not normal.
User avatar
Fused
 
Joined: 02 Jul 2014
Discord: FusedQyou#0357

Re: [WIP] NC HUD v1.22

Postby JudgeGroovy » Mon Mar 07, 2016 9:14 pm

I dig this HUD, cool stuff, I do have some feedback though.

For me at 1080p, the numbers are a a little small. Would be cool if there was an option to scale it like the GZDoom minimal HUD, or if a bigger say 25% "zoomed in" version was available.

Also, I don't think low armor should have a flashing border. If you pick up say 7 little armor points, it's a bonus. Armor in general is a bonus, so calling attention to low armor to me is just distracting.

And a newbie question, what is the blue bar on the bottom left, and what does it say? Looks like AS, does that stand for something? I haven't seen that change. Though having 200 health changes the health bar to blue, I've seen mention of health and blue bar in the readme, I figure this dimmer blue bar at the bottom is something else.
User avatar
JudgeGroovy
 
Joined: 17 Aug 2015
Location: Mega-City One, USA

Re: [WIP] NC HUD v1.22

Postby Blue Shadow » Tue Mar 08, 2016 7:05 am

JudgeGroovy wrote:For me at 1080p, the numbers are a a little small. Would be cool if there was an option to scale it like the GZDoom minimal HUD, or if a bigger say 25% "zoomed in" version was available.

If the HUD scaling option doesn't have an effect, then I'm sorry, there is nothing I can do on my end. What you can do is edit the HUD itself: In the sbarinfo.txt file, at the very top, there is this line:

Code: Select allExpand view
resolution 640, 400;

This is the base resolution set by the HUD. For reference, ZDoom, by the default, sets this to 320 x 200. Try playing around with it. See if reducing it helps with the scaling.

I don't think low armor should have a flashing border. If you pick up say 7 little armor points, it's a bonus. Armor in general is a bonus, so calling attention to low armor to me is just distracting.

In 1.30, health changes between green and red, and armor changes between green and yellow. So if you see by the corner of your eye that there is something red flashing/glowing there, then you're probably in trouble. If it's yellow, then you're not in that much trouble.

The bar frame glows subtly if it's yellow, so it shouldn't be as distracting.

what is the blue bar on the bottom left, and what does it say?

It's the oxygen/air bar. Useful if you're playing maps that feature swimmable water (Threshold of Pain 2 and ZDoom Community Map Project 2, linked in the opening post, have those). Utterly useless if you're playing vanilla maps.

In 1.30, this is renamed to "Air", instead of the ambiguous "AS".
User avatar
Blue Shadow
 
 
 
Joined: 14 Nov 2010
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8/201x 64-bit
OS Test Version: No (Using Stable Public Version)
Graphics Processor: ATI/AMD (Modern GZDoom)

Re: [WIP] NC HUD v1.22

Postby Blaskovic » Tue Mar 08, 2016 2:04 pm

gonna try this looks good man keep up the good work :)
Blaskovic
 
Joined: 07 Mar 2016

Re: [WIP] NC HUD v1.22

Postby JudgeGroovy » Tue Mar 08, 2016 4:33 pm

Blue Shadow wrote:
JudgeGroovy wrote:For me at 1080p, the numbers are a a little small. Would be cool if there was an option to scale it like the GZDoom minimal HUD, or if a bigger say 25% "zoomed in" version was available.

If the HUD scaling option doesn't have an effect, then I'm sorry, there is nothing I can do on my end. What you can do is edit the HUD itself: In the sbarinfo.txt file, at the very top, there is this line:

Code: Select allExpand view
resolution 640, 400;

This is the base resolution set by the HUD. For reference, ZDoom, by the default, sets this to 320 x 200. Try playing around with it. See if reducing it helps with the scaling.

I don't think low armor should have a flashing border. If you pick up say 7 little armor points, it's a bonus. Armor in general is a bonus, so calling attention to low armor to me is just distracting.

In 1.30, health changes between green and red, and armor changes between green and yellow. So if you see by the corner of your eye that there is something red flashing/glowing there, then you're probably in trouble. If it's yellow, then you're not in that much trouble.

The bar frame glows subtly if it's yellow, so it shouldn't be as distracting.

what is the blue bar on the bottom left, and what does it say?

It's the oxygen/air bar. Useful if you're playing maps that feature swimmable water (Threshold of Pain 2 and ZDoom Community Map Project 2, linked in the opening post, have those). Utterly useless if you're playing vanilla maps.

In 1.30, this is renamed to "Air", instead of the ambiguous "AS".


Thanks, I just picked up 1.22 from the OP, 1.30 is in the works?

And you gave me an idea that worked, turning "stretch full screen status bar" to on makes NC hud bigger. I hadn't used that option before since I always used the alternative HUD, which has it's own scaling options.

What I'm referring to with the armor is how when you pick up a little armor bonus, like in the beginning of Map01 in Doom2, your bar will be glowing. The "subtle bar frame glow" is what I'm referring to, for me it is distracting. And since unlike health to me low armor doesn't usually matter, I don't see the point of it glowing. If there was an option to disable that it would be cool, but if you like it there it's your thingy. Also for the record, when I have say 5 armor the bar is red and has the glow. When the armor bar is yellow it doesn't glow. So I guess having red armor wouldn't happen too often, just personal preference I'm not into the armor bar glow.
User avatar
JudgeGroovy
 
Joined: 17 Aug 2015
Location: Mega-City One, USA

Re: [WIP] NC HUD v1.22

Postby Blue Shadow » Tue Mar 08, 2016 8:30 pm

JudgeGroovy wrote:1.30 is in the works?

Yes, it is.

And regarding the armor thing: Yes, I do understand what you meant, but just as I said, in 1.30, when armor is low, the bar, counter and frame become yellow, with the frame glowing subtly. The glow "cycle" is slower than it is in 1.22 and older versions, making it less noticeable/distracting.

But I suppose it wouldn't hurt to add an option to disable low states altogether -- I'll look into it.
Last edited by Blue Shadow on Wed Mar 09, 2016 8:38 am, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
Blue Shadow
 
 
 
Joined: 14 Nov 2010
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8/201x 64-bit
OS Test Version: No (Using Stable Public Version)
Graphics Processor: ATI/AMD (Modern GZDoom)

Re: [WIP] NC HUD v1.22

Postby JudgeGroovy » Tue Mar 08, 2016 10:06 pm

Ah cool, right on.
User avatar
JudgeGroovy
 
Joined: 17 Aug 2015
Location: Mega-City One, USA

Re: [WIP] NC HUD v1.22

Postby Blue Shadow » Tue Mar 15, 2016 5:28 pm

Working on a Hexen patch for v1.30:

Image
Image

Edit: Updated the automap view screenshot; the ultimate weapon is now displayed.
User avatar
Blue Shadow
 
 
 
Joined: 14 Nov 2010
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8/201x 64-bit
OS Test Version: No (Using Stable Public Version)
Graphics Processor: ATI/AMD (Modern GZDoom)

Re: [WIP] NC HUD v1.22

Postby FrankADG » Sun Mar 20, 2016 6:07 am

Works with Brutal Doom 20b? Sorry for stupid question. Not show ammo.
User avatar
FrankADG
 
Joined: 12 Jun 2015

Re: [WIP] NC HUD v1.22

Postby Blue Shadow » Sun Mar 20, 2016 11:00 am

Would using this patch work?
User avatar
Blue Shadow
 
 
 
Joined: 14 Nov 2010
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8/201x 64-bit
OS Test Version: No (Using Stable Public Version)
Graphics Processor: ATI/AMD (Modern GZDoom)

Re: [WIP] NC HUD v1.22

Postby affemaria » Mon Mar 21, 2016 7:48 am

Wow, thanks for the link, Blue Shadow! For me all patches are working with BD20b, the official one and both non-official ones that you just linked. Although, like already have been said, in the official BD patch "all weapons have their total ammo on bottom and current ammo on top, except SSG", so the non-official patches solve this. BTW, Blue Shadow, couldn't you just put those patches made by Doctor Nick that you linked as the official ones in the OP?
User avatar
affemaria
wannabe utilitarian
 
Joined: 27 Jul 2015
Location: Porto Alegre - Brazil

Re: [WIP] NC HUD v1.22

Postby Blue Shadow » Mon Mar 21, 2016 12:56 pm

affemaria wrote:BTW, Blue Shadow, couldn't you just put those patches made by Doctor Nick that you linked as the official ones in the OP?

Added them to the OP, as well as Tesculpture's Heretic and Hexen ones.

For Doctor Nick's, I was kind of hoping he would merge them together and offer an in-game option to toggle the dual-ammo thing. But he didn't, unfortunately.
User avatar
Blue Shadow
 
 
 
Joined: 14 Nov 2010
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8/201x 64-bit
OS Test Version: No (Using Stable Public Version)
Graphics Processor: ATI/AMD (Modern GZDoom)

Re: [WIP] NC HUD v1.22

Postby affemaria » Tue Mar 22, 2016 8:28 am

Thanks, Blue Shadow! Very nice to hear that. And, yeah, if those options were toggleable it would be even better. I hope Doctor Nick reads this :P
User avatar
affemaria
wannabe utilitarian
 
Joined: 27 Jul 2015
Location: Porto Alegre - Brazil

PreviousNext

Return to Graphic/Audio Patches

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests