[Music] Jimmy's Jukebox -- Seeking dev assistance re:ZScript

For high-res texture/sprite projects, sprite-fix patches, music add-ons, music randomizers, and other graphic/sound-only projects.
Forum rules
The Projects forums are ONLY for YOUR PROJECTS! If you are asking questions about a project, either find that project's thread, or start a thread in the General section instead.

Got a cool project idea but nothing else? Put it in the project ideas thread instead!

Projects for any Doom-based engine (especially 3DGE) are perfectly acceptable here too.

Please read the full rules for more details.

Re: [Music] Jimmy's Jukebox -- Instant Randomizer for v9!

Postby Princess Viscra Maelstrom » Sat Feb 27, 2016 5:12 pm

huh. is there any reason why Bobby's tracks just outright refuse to playback with GM here, then? i haven't tested them outside this mod, but i'd assume they'd work just fine being played back in Media Player Classic or something else.
User avatar
Princess Viscra Maelstrom
trying to stay positive
 
Joined: 04 Dec 2008
Location: plergleland

Re: [Music] Jimmy's Jukebox -- Instant Randomizer for v9!

Postby Jimmy » Sat Mar 05, 2016 2:38 am

Gez wrote:Speaking of which, there are six additional Duke 3D songs in VACATION.GRP (Duke Caribbeans: Life's a Beach), composed by Jenna Ramsey. They're not bad. Fun fact: they were plagiarized by Metabolist and are responsible for getting the original Freedoom repository nuked, which is why everything before version 6.4 is missing from Freedoom's current repository.

I recall it being a track from The Gate (which was also Ramsey's original work) that Metabolist plagiarized. I certainly didn't ever hear the Caribbean tracks in FreeDoom, and I would've recognised them if I ever had. :P
Jimmy
I picked a fine day to be lactose intolerant
 
 
 
Joined: 10 Apr 2006
Location: Perth, WA
Discord: Jimmy#4100
Twitch ID: JimmySquared

Re: [Music] Jimmy's Jukebox -- Instant Randomizer for v9!

Postby Crudux Cruo » Sun Mar 06, 2016 1:36 am

Thanks for doing this, i've always wanted a jukebox and now i've found it! not sure why i haven't tried this out earlier.
User avatar
Crudux Cruo
"It's howdy doody time kiddies, the bad man is here."
 
Joined: 10 Apr 2006
Location: California

Re: [Music] Jimmy's Jukebox -- Instant Randomizer for v9!

Postby wpninja » Tue May 31, 2016 4:44 am

Couple Questions.

1. Is there a way to save your playlist and reload it for future plays than re-set it up again?

2. Is there any chance of uploading more songs to this since there are alot of new megawads with great midis or are people mainly just adding they're own music now?
User avatar
wpninja
 
Joined: 24 Oct 2015
Location: On a far off planet by himself, killing demons.

Re: [Music] Jimmy's Jukebox -- Instant Randomizer for v9!

Postby mutator » Tue May 31, 2016 5:17 am

can you also add musics of dark tartarus wad?
User avatar
mutator
 
Joined: 09 Dec 2015

Re: [Music] Jimmy's Jukebox -- Instant Randomizer for v9!

Postby Jimmy » Tue May 31, 2016 6:43 am

wpninja: I'm not presently working on this, got other stuff to think about first. But yes, if you hit the "save playlist" bind, it'll prompt you to enter "logfile <name>.pl" in the console. Do that, then hit the save playlist bind again, then type "logfile" into the console and hit enter. You'll now have a logfile in your ZDoom folder entitled <name>.pl which you can reload by typing "exec <name>.pl" into the console. It's buggy, mind you. You might have to do the "exec" twice.

mutator: I haven't played Dark Tartarus, sorry. A lot of WADs are out these days with great unique music, but seeing as I haven't updated this in years, yes, a lot of stuff will be missing.

To all concerned: I'm thinking of giving this project a serious makeover so it can be more easily modified. I'll probably make it an ACS-based GUI, rather than relying on a physical map I keep having to edit and reorganise, which quickly becomes a nightmare. This'll probably mean the whole thing getting redone from the ground up. I imagine this might cause a bit of inconvenience to anyone who was wanting to release their own packs for this, but I haven't seen any yet, so once I get some free time I might get started on doing so.
Jimmy
I picked a fine day to be lactose intolerant
 
 
 
Joined: 10 Apr 2006
Location: Perth, WA
Discord: Jimmy#4100
Twitch ID: JimmySquared

Re: [Music] Jimmy's Jukebox -- Instant Randomizer for v9!

Postby durbdoogle » Tue May 31, 2016 9:38 am

That sounds pretty great Jimmy. It would streamline this a bit. Awesome music mod, regardless :)
durbdoogle
 
Joined: 22 Jul 2015

Re: [Music] Jimmy's Jukebox -- Instant Randomizer for v9!

Postby Slax » Tue May 31, 2016 10:26 am

The randomizer's awesome by the way. Plug N Play! :D
User avatar
Slax
Saucy.
 
Joined: 19 Oct 2010
Location: Window office.

Re: [Music] Jimmy's Jukebox -- Instant Randomizer for v9!

Postby Princess Viscra Maelstrom » Tue May 31, 2016 11:57 am

i found that the only way to get the exec command to work with a playlist was to first select all music in the jukebox, then you create a playlist. THEN you do the command, and then you immediately exit the jukebox. done right, you should get the correct playlist to spawn, although in my case, 3 songs in the playlist didn't work and was replaced with other songs.

i really should go through my old save files and save my playlists i had in them.
User avatar
Princess Viscra Maelstrom
trying to stay positive
 
Joined: 04 Dec 2008
Location: plergleland

Re: [Music] Jimmy's Jukebox -- Instant Randomizer for v9!

Postby Tranthula » Thu Jul 14, 2016 12:34 am

I haven't heard of this till now. And I'm positively beaming! I'm always down for the roll of the dice, and I love Doom Midi's. Safe to say Jimmy, your awesome. Would love this to be a bit more on the customization side pf things but I love it none-the-less.
User avatar
Tranthula
 
Joined: 12 Jul 2016
Location: Seabound

Re: [Music] Jimmy's Jukebox -- Instant Randomizer for v9!

Postby Gez » Thu Jul 14, 2016 6:06 am

Here's a little request: try to avoid relying on global variables, as I have found out they will clobber global variables from other mods, which makes autoloading it a problem sometimes. (WolfenBOA is a good example of a game that will completely break if you load it with the jukebox.) You can probably get away with using custom CVARs instead of global variables now.
Gez
 
 
 
Joined: 06 Jul 2007

Re: [Music] Jimmy's Jukebox -- Instant Randomizer for v9!

Postby sweety80 » Wed Aug 31, 2016 3:16 am

:wink: Thank you so much! :roll:
sweety80
 
Joined: 30 Jun 2016

Re: [Music] Jimmy's Jukebox -- Instant Randomizer for v9!

Postby Gez » Mon Dec 19, 2016 3:26 pm

Here's a little update to the Icarus soundtrack:

Code: Select allExpand view
// ICARUS (32)
COL12TRK1   = "D_ICA_01"  "#David Shaw"    "#Recapture"             "#0";
COL12TRK2   = "D_ICA_02"  "#David Shaw"    "#The Search"            "#0";
COL12TRK3   = "D_ICA_03"  "#Jeremy Doyle"  "#Hell"                  "#0";
COL12TRK4   = "D_ICA_04"  "#Jeremy Doyle"  "#Melting"               "#0";
COL12TRK5   = "D_ICA_05"  "#Jeremy Doyle"  "#Mad"                   "#0";
COL12TRK6   = "D_ICA_06"  "#MusIcarus"     "#P.E.T. Rescue"         "#0";
COL12TRK7   = "D_ICA_07"  "#Jeremy Doyle"  "#Star Theme v3"         "#0";
COL12TRK8   = "D_ICA_08"  "#Tom Mustaine"  "#Classic Evil"          "#0";
COL12TRK9   = "D_ICA_09"  "#MusIcarus"     "#The Moat"              "#0";
COL12TRK10  = "D_ICA_10"  "#Tom Mustaine"  "#Slow Evil"             "#0";
COL12TRK11  = "D_ICA_11"  "#Jeremy Doyle"  "#Stomp"                 "#0";
COL12TRK12  = "D_ICA_12"  "#Jeremy Doyle"  "#Star 2"                "#0";
COL12TRK13  = "D_ICA_13"  "#MusIcarus"     "#Asylum"                "#0";
COL12TRK14  = "D_ICA_14"  "#Tom Mustaine"  "#Hell"                  "#0";
COL12TRK15  = "D_ICA_15"  "#David Shaw"    "#Heart of the Hive"     "#0";
COL12TRK16  = "D_ICA_16"  "#Jeremy Doyle"  "#Fast"                  "#0";
COL12TRK17  = "D_ICA_17"  "#Tom Mustaine"  "#Slow Evil II"          "#0";
COL12TRK18  = "D_ICA_18"  "#MusIcarus"     "#Cargo Bay"             "#0";
COL12TRK19  = "D_ICA_19"  "#MusIcarus"     "#Blessed are the Quick" "#0";
COL12TRK20  = "D_ICA_20"  "#MusIcarus"     "#WarTemple"             "#0";
COL12TRK21  = "D_ICA_21"  "#Jeremy Doyle"  "#Ripsnort"              "#0";
COL12TRK22  = "D_ICA_22"  "#MusIcarus"     "#Nightfall"             "#0";
COL12TRK23  = "D_ICA_23"  "#MusIcarus"     "#Painful Discharge"     "#0";
COL12TRK24  = "D_ICA_24"  "#David Shaw"    "#Ghost in the Machine"  "#0";
COL12TRK25  = "D_ICA_25"  "#MusIcarus"     "#Another Fine Mess"     "#0";
COL12TRK26  = "D_ICA_26"  "#MusIcarus"     "#Weapons Bay"           "#0";
COL12TRK27  = "D_ICA_27"  "#Tom Mustaine"  "#Super Slow Evil"       "#0";
COL12TRK28  = "D_ICA_28"  "#Tom Mustaine"  "#FastTrack"             "#0";
COL12TRK29  = "D_ICA_29"  "#Jeremy Doyle"  "#Brutality"             "#0";
COL12TRK30  = "D_ICA_30"  "#Tom Mustaine"  "#Face of Evil"          "#0";
COL12TRK31  = "D_ICA_31"  "#Tom Mustaine"  "#Gresta"                "#0";
COL12TRK32  = "D_ICA_32"  "#Jeremy Doyle"  "#Creepjaz"              "#0";
COL12TRK33  = "D_IC_INT"  "#MusIcarus"     "#Icarus Intermission"   "#0";
COL12TRK34  = "D_IC_END"  "#MusIcarus"     "#Icarus Message"        "#0";
COL12TRK35  = "D_IC_THM"  "#Tom Mustaine"  "#Icarus Theme"          "#0";
COL12TRK36  = "D_IC_EXT"  "#David Shaw"    "#Icarus Extended Theme" "#0";

Also you can get the original MIDIs of most of JDoyle's tracks. See here.
Gez
 
 
 
Joined: 06 Jul 2007

Re: [Music] Jimmy's Jukebox -- Instant Randomizer for v9!

Postby Doomguy914 » Mon Feb 27, 2017 6:26 pm

How does someone make it to where Shuffle turned off properly works? All that happens with shuffle off is a completely blank soundtrack. I've tried selecting the music before AND after turning shuffle off. It does not deselect the tracks I have previously turned on for generation purposes when switching between shuffle off and on, but it generates a blank playlist regardless.
Doomguy914
 
Joined: 26 May 2015

Re: [Music] Jimmy's Jukebox -- Instant Randomizer for v9!

Postby Jimmy » Fri Mar 03, 2017 2:42 am

Sorry about that, I'm seeing that as well and it's definitely a bug. Wonder what happened there...

Afraid the only advice I can give you is try using an old version of ZDoom. :?

---

I'm kinda looking for people who know how to ZScript to help me out with porting Jukebox to it. I'm prepared to give it a full rewrite, but will need some assistance with the basics of the language.

I'd like to explore the fancy new menu stuff as well, and am curious as to how else it might be possible to generate a database of MIDI files contained in a WAD.

Super pretty please? Anyone? :D

Image
Jimmy
I picked a fine day to be lactose intolerant
 
 
 
Joined: 10 Apr 2006
Location: Perth, WA
Discord: Jimmy#4100
Twitch ID: JimmySquared

PreviousNext

Return to Graphic/Audio Patches

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests