[WIP]4xHi-res Sprites... and 4xHD?

For high-res texture/sprite projects, sprite-fix patches, music add-ons, music randomizers, and other graphic/sound-only projects.
Forum rules
The Projects forums are ONLY for YOUR PROJECTS! If you are asking questions about a project, either find that project's thread, or start a thread in the General section instead.

Got a cool project idea but nothing else? Put it in the project ideas thread instead!

Projects for any Doom-based engine (especially 3DGE) are perfectly acceptable here too.

Please read the full rules for more details.

Re: 4x Hi-res Sprites [WIP]

Postby cq75 » Wed Nov 03, 2010 7:39 am

Chex quest is kind of anime style...

I'm going to go into 3d models eventually, I was thinking of starting with the chex quy as my first real model, I might do a few doom models after that for practice.
User avatar
cq75
I've given myself a number, and taken away my name.
 
Joined: 27 Dec 2009
Location: Just beyond the line horizon
Operating System: Debian-like Linux (Debian, Ubuntu, Mint, etc) 64-bit
OS Test Version: No (Using Stable Public Version)
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: 4x Hi-res Sprites [WIP]

Postby Spleen » Wed Nov 03, 2010 11:11 am

cq75 wrote:Chex quest is kind of anime style...

:lol:


Umm.. I meant more in the style of Final Fantasy 6 or Ragnarok Online.
User avatar
Spleen
I'm drunnk1 hehahohee111!!!one
 
Joined: 28 Nov 2008

Re: 4x Hi-res Sprites [WIP]

Postby NeuralStunner » Wed Nov 03, 2010 11:34 am

[quote="cq75"]I'm going to go into 3d models eventually, I was thinking Whatever you do, do not ignore the sprites' proportions. Some of the DooM models I've seen are terribly disproportionate to the point of looking silly. :(
User avatar
NeuralStunner
Not "Neutral"
 
 
 
Joined: 21 Jul 2009
Location: capital N, capital S, no space
Discord: NeuralStunner#4201
Operating System: Windows Vista/7/2008 64-bit
Graphics Processor: nVidia (Modern GZDoom)

Re: 4x Hi-res Sprites [WIP]

Postby CaptainToenail » Wed Nov 03, 2010 12:50 pm

Um yeah, Chex Quest is about as anime as Scooby Doo.

Has anyone considered making *real* models and photographing them, like id originally did? Maybe you could pay one of those 'custom action-figure' dweebs to construct them? :lol:
CaptainToenail
 
Joined: 06 Jul 2007

Re: 4x Hi-res Sprites [WIP]

Postby Caligari87 » Wed Nov 03, 2010 12:55 pm

I have, for a horror project I'll probably never finish. If I ever get around to actually making said model, I'll be sure to post it :D

8-)
User avatar
Caligari87
User Accounts Assistant
 
Joined: 26 Feb 2004
Discord: Caligari87#3089
Github ID: caligari87

Re: 4x Hi-res Sprites [WIP]

Postby phi108 » Wed Nov 03, 2010 1:35 pm

Gregor Punchatz said on the ZBrush forums that he still has the spider mastermind. He might be willing to take pictures of 16 angles at high resolution... (and of course vertical above and below angles for that extra realism when looking down at it).
User avatar
phi108
Magical Error?
 
Joined: 01 Dec 2007

Re: 4x Hi-res Sprites [WIP]

Postby Salad Viking » Wed Nov 03, 2010 5:00 pm

Strife had a unique hand-drawn style and plenty of hand-drawn artwork, but that seems to be the closest Doom has gotten to seeing Japanese art. I don't care much for Asian art styles. I prefer western art.
User avatar
Salad Viking
There's too much blood in my sugar system.
 
Joined: 20 Apr 2010
Location: In high orbit

Re: 4x Hi-res Sprites [WIP]

Postby ShadesMaster » Thu Nov 04, 2010 1:46 am

Not a bad method... not bad at all!!!!
User avatar
ShadesMaster
 
Joined: 12 Jun 2008

Re: 4x Hi-res Sprites [WIP]

Postby Pandut » Thu Nov 11, 2010 1:46 pm

I followed your little video tut on how to make HD sprites, for something I'm working on that needs a little polishing due to horrendous speckling. However, when I re-convert it to the Doom palette, the image creates a black background whenever I try to upload into my mod via Slumped. Not sure if it's the Wad editor I'm using or if I'm just doing it wrong. I didn't watch your video all the way through, so I won't be surprised if you already covered that issue XD or if it was answered in the comments section on this thread, I have a tendency to overlook thing >_<.

I have to say, the work you've accomplished is incredible, however how would you go about exporting these into doom? Usually when I have a good graphic/sprite and convert it using the Doom palette (I have no idea how to save/get palette's for say, Heretic or Strife) the color scheme gets messed up so I have to go through every single frame and work out the color issues which takes quite a bit and the overall quality suffers.

Overall, good luck on this mod. It looks awesome, mate! :wub:

EDIT: Dammit, just saw that you noted to not ask you about the matter here. Urgh :(.
Last edited by Pandut on Thu Nov 11, 2010 2:12 pm, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
Pandut
help
 
Joined: 23 Mar 2010
Location: existential dread
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8/201x 64-bit
OS Test Version: No (Using Stable Public Version)
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: 4x Hi-res Sprites [WIP]

Postby TheMistress » Thu Nov 11, 2010 2:11 pm

Pandut wrote:I followed your little video tut on how to make HD sprites, for something I'm working on that needs a little polishing due to horrendous speckling. However, when I re-convert it to the Doom palette, the image creates a black background whenever I try to upload into my mod via Slumped. Not sure if it's the Wad editor I'm using or if I'm just doing it wrong. I didn't watch your video all the way through, so I won't be surprised if you already covered that issue XD or if it was answered in the comments section on this thread, I have a tendency to overlook thing >_<.

I have to say, the work you've accomplished is incredible, however how would you go about exporting these into doom? Usually when I have a good graphic/sprite and convert it using the Doom palette (I have no idea how to save/get palette's for say, Heretic or Strife) the color scheme gets messed up so I have to go through every single frame and work out the color issues which takes quite a bit and the overall quality suffers.

Overall, good luck on this mod. It looks awesome, mate! :wub:

You first need to make it transparent, If i'm right its cyan wich is doom's transparant color, If i remember well someone once told me XWE automaticly made it transparent.
User avatar
TheMistress
These cute eyes may be the last ones you'll ever see.
 
Joined: 04 Jan 2010

Re: 4x Hi-res Sprites [WIP]

Postby NeuralStunner » Thu Nov 11, 2010 2:16 pm

TheMistress wrote:If i'm right its cyan wich is doom's transparant color
Better get your flak jacket on.

DooM's palette has no transparent color. Transparency is achieved literally by lack of pixels.

TheMistress wrote:If i remember well someone once told me XWE automaticly made it transparent.
This is true however, as XWE makes a few dumb assumptions.
User avatar
NeuralStunner
Not "Neutral"
 
 
 
Joined: 21 Jul 2009
Location: capital N, capital S, no space
Discord: NeuralStunner#4201
Operating System: Windows Vista/7/2008 64-bit
Graphics Processor: nVidia (Modern GZDoom)

Re: 4x Hi-res Sprites [WIP]

Postby Shadelight » Thu Nov 11, 2010 2:17 pm

TheMistress wrote:You first need to make it transparent, If i'm right its cyan wich is doom's transparant color, If i remember well someone once told me XWE automaticly made it transparent.

No. We are not having another one of these arguments. :|

Edit: Arrrgh, ninja'd.
User avatar
Shadelight
You must construct additional lumber.
 
Joined: 20 May 2005
Location: Labrynna
Discord: Shadelight#4920

Re: 4x Hi-res Sprites [WIP]

Postby CO2 » Thu Nov 11, 2010 2:19 pm

NeuralStunner wrote:DooM's palette has no transparent color.


This also means flats cannot have "holes" in them.
CO2
 
Joined: 29 Jul 2008

Re: 4x Hi-res Sprites [WIP]

Postby Pandut » Thu Nov 11, 2010 2:48 pm

Alright, I think I got a way to fix it. Make the smudge adjustments, then flatten the image, that gets rid of the transparent background but also rectifies any dead/transparent pixels, then add the image to Alpha Channel and blammo -- No more black background. It's working so far, so heres to hoping.
User avatar
Pandut
help
 
Joined: 23 Mar 2010
Location: existential dread
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8/201x 64-bit
OS Test Version: No (Using Stable Public Version)
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: 4x Hi-res Sprites [WIP]

Postby Gez » Thu Nov 11, 2010 3:16 pm

NeuralStunner wrote:
TheMistress wrote:If i remember well someone once told me XWE automaticly made it transparent.
This is true however, as XWE makes a few dumb assumptions.

Slumped too; which is why I encourage everyone who uses it to upgrade to Slade 3. It's the new Slumped, made by the same guy, except it's less buggy and all-around better.
Gez
 
 
 
Joined: 06 Jul 2007

PreviousNext

Return to Graphic/Audio Patches

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests