GZDoom discussion (Version 2.3.1 released 2016/jan/7)

Projects that have specifically been abandoned or considered "dead" get moved here, so people will quit bumping them. If your project has wound up here and it should not be, contact a moderator to have it moved back to the land of the living.

Re: GZDoom discussion

Postby Agentbromsnor » Sun Nov 20, 2016 4:36 pm

I hope it gets brought into the mix eventually. When designing my maps I'm always thinking of ways to create level-assets out of geometry, just because the dynamic light makes it look better that way. For me, it would be great to be able to use models in these situations.

That being said, I do understand that ZScript has a higher priority at the moment. Behaviour is more important than graphics.
User avatar
Agentbromsnor
 
Joined: 28 Mar 2012

Re: GZDoom discussion

Postby tsukiyomaru0 » Mon Dec 12, 2016 2:07 am

I need a little help in getting rid of these:
Image
User avatar
tsukiyomaru0
 
Joined: 30 May 2010

Re: GZDoom discussion

Postby Rachael » Mon Dec 12, 2016 2:59 am

You can do r_clearbuffer 1. That'll at least make them black and much harder to notice. You can also turn up multisampling to 8x.
User avatar
Rachael
Webmaster
 
Joined: 13 Jan 2004
Discord: Rachael#3767
Github ID: madame-rachelle
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8 64-bit
OS Test Version: No (Using Stable Public Version)
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: GZDoom discussion

Postby tsukiyomaru0 » Mon Dec 12, 2016 5:15 am

No, no, i found what was it. FXAA was off in Nvidia Control Panel.
User avatar
tsukiyomaru0
 
Joined: 30 May 2010

Re: GZDoom discussion

Postby Graf Zahl » Tue Dec 13, 2016 6:36 am

Normally these only appear if 'render quality' is set to 'speed'. The 'quality' mode is adding additional vertices to prevent these.
Also r_clearbuffer will only help if there's no sky visible anywhere. If there's just one seg with sky visible the entire sky layer will be drawn beneath the level.
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom Developer
Lead GZDoom Developer
 
Joined: 19 Jul 2003
Location: Germany

Re: GZDoom discussion

Postby D2JK » Tue Dec 13, 2016 10:54 am

When I spawn a dynamic light manually, why is it that modifying its args[3] value (=intensity, according to this page) will not have any effect, while modifying the other args (RGB values) works just fine?
D2JK
 
Joined: 30 Aug 2014

Re: GZDoom discussion

Postby Graf Zahl » Tue Dec 13, 2016 11:55 am

Because those args' contents are copied to internal variables and never used directly. This code dates from a time when the args were 8 bit values so it couldn't reside in the args themselves
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom Developer
Lead GZDoom Developer
 
Joined: 19 Jul 2003
Location: Germany

Re: GZDoom discussion

Postby D2JK » Tue Dec 13, 2016 12:21 pm

So do we have access to these particular internal variables in ZScript? This would give me a more complete control of dynamic lights, which is what I've been looking for.
D2JK
 
Joined: 30 Aug 2014

Re: GZDoom discussion

Postby Gez » Tue Dec 13, 2016 7:19 pm

Or perhaps the internal variables could be suppressed as they are no longer needed.
Gez
 
 
 
Joined: 06 Jul 2007

Re: GZDoom discussion

Postby Rachael » Thu Dec 22, 2016 8:53 am

https://github.com/coelckers/gzdoom/com ... 585402c38f
- removed gl_light_ambient.

This really serves no use anymore and is mostly a remnant of old times with dark CRT monitors. The default ambient level was set at 20, meaning a sector light level of 40. This is a value actual levels rarely get to, except when using some lighting effects - but it's for those that the ambient clamping did the most damage.


There is at least one person in the community who I know is going to be excited for this change. Personally, I don't care much either way, but I figured it was worth mentioning that it was done.
User avatar
Rachael
Webmaster
 
Joined: 13 Jan 2004
Discord: Rachael#3767
Github ID: madame-rachelle
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8 64-bit
OS Test Version: No (Using Stable Public Version)
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: GZDoom discussion

Postby Nash » Thu Dec 22, 2016 8:57 am

I love it, good riddance to that CVar. :mrgreen: The user is more than welcome to press F11 or further mess with the brightness, contrast and gamma sliders in the Options menu.
User avatar
Nash
 
 
 
Joined: 27 Oct 2003
Location: Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Github ID: nashmuhandes

Re: GZDoom discussion

Postby Rachael » Thu Dec 22, 2016 9:02 am

Like I said, I really don't feel strongly about it either way, I didn't really see it causing much harm, but didn't see it doing much good, either. :)

I was more or less just astounded with how strongly a certain few people felt about it. They rabidly campaigned for its removal like an angry squirrel. Well - now it's gone, so said people should be happy. :P
User avatar
Rachael
Webmaster
 
Joined: 13 Jan 2004
Discord: Rachael#3767
Github ID: madame-rachelle
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8 64-bit
OS Test Version: No (Using Stable Public Version)
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: GZDoom discussion

Postby Graf Zahl » Thu Dec 22, 2016 9:21 am

It got ditched the moment it turned out to cause problems. The sole reason behind its existence were old and dark monitors which drowned everything in black beyond a certain light level so that the visibility cutoff could be lifted above what the monitor could handle. Of course it's been 8 years since I owned such a POS...

"That person" should get a life, though.
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom Developer
Lead GZDoom Developer
 
Joined: 19 Jul 2003
Location: Germany

Re: GZDoom discussion

Postby kodi » Thu Dec 22, 2016 10:36 am

Speaking of light levels, what's the purpose of the DistFog CVAR? I mean I know what changing it does, but it doesn't appear in any menus and can't be set in the MAPINFO lump or anything as far as I know (which may of course be wrong).
User avatar
kodi
Proscrastinator
 
 
 
Joined: 06 May 2013

Re: GZDoom discussion

Postby Graf Zahl » Thu Dec 22, 2016 1:39 pm

Like gl_light_ambient, it's just a leftover from a long time ago.
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom Developer
Lead GZDoom Developer
 
Joined: 19 Jul 2003
Location: Germany

PreviousNext

Return to Abandoned/Dead Projects

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests