GZDoom discussion (Version 2.3.1 released 2016/jan/7)

Projects that have specifically been abandoned or considered "dead" get moved here, so people will quit bumping them. If your project has wound up here and it should not be, contact a moderator to have it moved back to the land of the living.

Re: GZDoom discussion

Postby Lud » Sun Sep 18, 2016 12:42 pm

That explains it. Thanks, Graf!
Lud
 
Joined: 11 Feb 2016

Re: GZDoom discussion

Postby Kinsie » Mon Sep 19, 2016 2:20 am

GZDoom 2.2.0 is out in a non-devbuild form. Update, yo!
User avatar
Kinsie
A Concept Utterly Obsolete
 
Joined: 22 Oct 2004
Location: MAP33
Discord: Find Me...
Twitch ID: thekinsie

Re: GZDoom discussion

Postby Jaxxoon R » Mon Sep 19, 2016 8:07 pm

I'm kind of confused by the removal of the dynamic light size options. It breaks stuff like this:
Image
Older maps like E2M4 Redux required the light size to be set to a certain value, as the default is too dark. As it stands this map is kind of screwy to play since it's so hard to see. I suppose one could change it in the console, though.
User avatar
Jaxxoon R
 
Joined: 04 May 2014

Re: GZDoom discussion

Postby Blue Shadow » Mon Sep 19, 2016 10:52 pm

Jaxxoon R wrote:I suppose one could change it in the console, though.

Both the size and intensity options are completely gone, not just from the menu.
User avatar
Blue Shadow
 
 
 
Joined: 14 Nov 2010
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8 64-bit
OS Test Version: No (Using Stable Public Version)
Graphics Processor: ATI/AMD (Modern GZDoom)

Re: GZDoom discussion

Postby Caligari87 » Mon Sep 19, 2016 11:08 pm

Just to play devil's advocate: If they'd been removed 11 years ago, sequences like that wouldn't be necessary in the first place (for what it's worth, that's the only one I've ever seen or heard of). This is one of those situations where consistency should trump customization, IMO. Using the brightness/contrast/gamma/lightmode settings should be more than enough to account for monitor variations, just like any modern game engine. At very worst patches could be made for any mods which (god forbid) depend on non-standard light settings.

8-)
User avatar
Caligari87
I'm just here for the community
User Accounts Assistant
 
Joined: 26 Feb 2004
Location: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Discord: Caligari87#3089

Re: GZDoom discussion

Postby Jaxxoon R » Mon Sep 19, 2016 11:57 pm

Yeah. After the initial surprise I quickly came to the conclusion that it was probably for the better as it didn't have much use anyways.
User avatar
Jaxxoon R
 
Joined: 04 May 2014

Re: GZDoom discussion

Postby Rachael » Tue Sep 20, 2016 12:55 am

There might be a way to bring them back, particularly for E2M4 redux. That is a cool map, but a lot of it really is dark.

I wonder what Graf would think of setting a global option per-map through MAPINFO, that could be activated similar to compatibility options in ZDoom, where older maps such as this could be fixed retroactively by setting a static light value as it was originally intended in GZDoom before. The compatibility settings (for mods like this) would be stored in gzdoom.pk3 as always.

That being said, it only demands a gl_light_radius of 1.2 - it isn't affected that badly by things being dark.
User avatar
Rachael
Webmaster
 
Joined: 13 Jan 2004
Discord: Rachael#3767
Twitch ID: madamerachelle
Github ID: madame-rachelle
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: GZDoom discussion

Postby Graf Zahl » Tue Sep 20, 2016 1:33 am

I really have to wonder why a mapper would think to depend on a non-standard setting for them. That's truly and utterly baffling. These were USER-SIDE settings after all... :?
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom Developer
Lead GZDoom Developer
 
Joined: 19 Jul 2003
Location: Germany

Re: GZDoom discussion

Postby Rachael » Tue Sep 20, 2016 1:38 am

It's actually quite common for mappers to demand (and in some cases with Skulltag/Zandronum, force) user settings a certain way.
User avatar
Rachael
Webmaster
 
Joined: 13 Jan 2004
Discord: Rachael#3767
Twitch ID: madamerachelle
Github ID: madame-rachelle
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: GZDoom discussion

Postby Graf Zahl » Tue Sep 20, 2016 1:56 am

Sometimes these people have to learn the badness of this the hard way. :twisted:
Just a note: A USER SETTING may be removed without any warning if it is deemed no longer useful. A map setting (i.e. anything configurable to a game definition lump) is not, except for very are and special circumstances.
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom Developer
Lead GZDoom Developer
 
Joined: 19 Jul 2003
Location: Germany

Re: GZDoom discussion

Postby Zanieon » Tue Sep 20, 2016 12:57 pm

Yeah i noticed that was removed as well...

AW MY GOSH THANKS LORD GRAF ZAHL FOR REMOVING THIS CANCER FROM THE SAUCE PORT. Every fucking time i go to Youtube and see people using Additive Dynlights a version of me dies somewhere in the multiverse.

Now pls... can u remove Ambient Light Level too? There's no reason for this thing keep residing in the Source Port when we have the Light Modes with one of them being able to simulate Software.
User avatar
Zanieon
A Tamer of The Dark
 
Joined: 13 Jan 2009
Location: Somewhere in the future
Discord: Zanieon#3177
Twitch ID: Zanieon
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8 64-bit
OS Test Version: No (Using Stable Public Version)
Graphics Processor: ATI/AMD with Vulkan Support

Re: GZDoom discussion

Postby Rachael » Tue Sep 20, 2016 2:48 pm

You're awfully grumpy about how other people choose to play a game.
User avatar
Rachael
Webmaster
 
Joined: 13 Jan 2004
Discord: Rachael#3767
Twitch ID: madamerachelle
Github ID: madame-rachelle
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: GZDoom discussion

Postby wildweasel » Tue Sep 20, 2016 2:55 pm

Zanieon wrote:Now pls... can u remove Ambient Light Level too? There's no reason for this thing keep residing in the Source Port when we have the Light Modes with one of them being able to simulate Software.

Except for those unfortunate souls with crappy monitors that don't handle low lights very well.
User avatar
wildweasel
change o' pace.
Moderator Team Lead
 
Joined: 15 Jul 2003

Re: GZDoom discussion

Postby Lud » Tue Sep 20, 2016 3:21 pm

If you set Ambient Light Level to 0 and set Light Mode to Doom, some walls will appear black. Setting the ALL to 10 and above fixes that. I think we might need it for now.
Lud
 
Joined: 11 Feb 2016

Re: GZDoom discussion

Postby Graf Zahl » Tue Sep 20, 2016 5:42 pm

The ambient light level won't be removed, because, as WW said, it's one of the better options to adjust for extremely dark monitors.
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom Developer
Lead GZDoom Developer
 
Joined: 19 Jul 2003
Location: Germany

PreviousNext

Return to Abandoned/Dead Projects

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests