[discontinued] Weapon sway

Projects that have specifically been abandoned or considered "dead" get moved here, so people will quit bumping them. If your project has wound up here and it should not be, contact a moderator to have it moved back to the land of the living.

Re: [code] Weapon sway

Postby Nash » Sat May 21, 2016 2:47 pm

User avatar
Nash
 
 
 
Joined: 27 Oct 2003
Location: Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Github ID: nashmuhandes
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8 64-bit
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: [code] Weapon sway

Postby jdredalert » Sat May 21, 2016 3:49 pm

You never cease to amaze me, Nash! Great job!
User avatar
jdredalert
State of badass art.
 
Joined: 13 Jul 2013

Re: [code] Weapon sway

Postby Leonard2 » Thu Jun 16, 2016 11:56 am

Nash wrote:I'd really like to put this file out without all that MAPINFO and custom player classes. :/ Any help on this area would be much appreciated


Here:
sway.pk3
(2.44 KiB) Downloaded 237 times


There is now only one actor definition and the rest is ACS.

This is missing one last thing however to fully work: a way to set offsets without interfering with the A_Lower/Raise action functions as suggested here because otherwise you can't switch weapons anymore.
User avatar
Leonard2
 
Joined: 14 Aug 2012

Re: [code] Weapon sway

Postby mumblemumble » Thu Jun 16, 2016 12:09 pm

Humn, this should REALLY be included in hideous destructor.
mumblemumble
King of typos
 
Joined: 23 Aug 2013

Re: [code] Weapon sway

Postby Ixnatifual » Sun Jun 19, 2016 3:00 pm

This is pretty neat!
User avatar
Ixnatifual
Is that virtuous?!
 
Joined: 12 Dec 2003

Re: [code] Weapon sway

Postby enderkevin13 » Sun Jun 19, 2016 4:19 pm

I saw the video before the thread was made. Anyways, nice work.
User avatar
enderkevin13
Official abbadon of ZDoom
Banned User
 
Joined: 07 Jul 2015
Location: :noiƚɒɔo⅃

Re: [code] Weapon sway

Postby The Zombie Killer » Sun Jun 19, 2016 7:23 pm

Nash wrote:2) When inheriting from the stock weapons, I have to copy and paste the Fire state too, otherwise the offset sways would stop working when firing a weapon. WHY?!

Because they use "goto Ready", which refers to the old ready state.
User avatar
The Zombie Killer
King of the Kangaroos
 
Joined: 14 Jul 2011
Location: Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
Discord: Zombie#1795

Re: [code] Weapon sway

Postby wildweasel » Sun Jun 19, 2016 7:25 pm

The Zombie Killer wrote:
Nash wrote:2) When inheriting from the stock weapons, I have to copy and paste the Fire state too, otherwise the offset sways would stop working when firing a weapon. WHY?!

Because they use "goto Ready", which refers to the old ready state.

To expand on that: you will want this line instead.
Code: Select allExpand view
A_Jump(256,"Ready")

That ensures that you're going to the Ready state of the actual weapon, and not the one it is inheriting from.
User avatar
wildweasel
「お前はもうトースト」[you are already toast.]
Moderator Team Lead
 
Joined: 15 Jul 2003

Re: [code] Weapon sway

Postby Nash » Mon Jun 20, 2016 4:13 am

Thanks for the answers - I will get around to fixing these eventually when I'm not busy!
User avatar
Nash
 
 
 
Joined: 27 Oct 2003
Location: Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Github ID: nashmuhandes
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8 64-bit
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: [code] Weapon sway

Postby Nash » Tue Jul 05, 2016 9:44 am

I was going to clean this up using latest development features but it seems there's no way to change the weapons now. Has this been address port-side?

This is missing one last thing however to fully work: a way to set offsets without interfering with the A_Lower/Raise action functions as suggested here because otherwise you can't switch weapons anymore.
User avatar
Nash
 
 
 
Joined: 27 Oct 2003
Location: Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Github ID: nashmuhandes
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8 64-bit
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: [code] Weapon sway

Postby The Zombie Killer » Tue Jul 05, 2016 9:57 am

Have you tried using A_OverlayFlags in combination with A_OverlayOffset?
EDIT: Nope, that doesn't work with deselection/selection either. Looks like I'll have to redo my pull request for an extension to A_WeaponOffset later
User avatar
The Zombie Killer
King of the Kangaroos
 
Joined: 14 Jul 2011
Location: Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
Discord: Zombie#1795

Re: [code] Weapon sway

Postby Nash » Tue Jul 05, 2016 10:31 am

Okay thanks for the heads up, I'll wait for your PR then!
User avatar
Nash
 
 
 
Joined: 27 Oct 2003
Location: Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Github ID: nashmuhandes
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8 64-bit
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: [code] Weapon sway

Postby ToMmysek795 » Tue Dec 13, 2016 12:11 pm

This is not working.
He is saying:
Sprite names is 4 character bla bla bla.....
And Fatal Error.
User avatar
ToMmysek795
 
Joined: 09 Oct 2016

Re: [code] Weapon sway

Postby wildweasel » Tue Dec 13, 2016 12:17 pm

ToMmysek795 wrote:This is not working.
He is saying:
Sprite names is 4 character bla bla bla.....
And Fatal Error.

Can you upload your project file to someplace like Dropbox, Mega, or Google Drive? We're not able to help without being able to see your code and how everything is put together.
User avatar
wildweasel
「お前はもうトースト」[you are already toast.]
Moderator Team Lead
 
Joined: 15 Jul 2003

Re: [code] Weapon sway

Postby Nash » Tue Dec 13, 2016 10:38 pm

This is pending a full ZScript re-write... I have half the mind to take down the links in the OP for now...
User avatar
Nash
 
 
 
Joined: 27 Oct 2003
Location: Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Github ID: nashmuhandes
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8 64-bit
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

PreviousNext

Return to Abandoned/Dead Projects

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest