Page 8 of 16

Re: CustomDoom v1.4.2

PostPosted: Fri Apr 22, 2016 1:14 pm
by Accensus
Entirely possible. Or the dev just didn't think it'd be a big deal to leave it out. (Not saying that it is...)

By the way, has anyone tried CustomDoom on Zandronum multiplayer? I'm curious if it works.

Re: CustomDoom v1.4.2

PostPosted: Sun May 01, 2016 3:12 pm
by Doctrine Gamer
Unfortunately I never used Zandronum, otherwise I would test :-(

Re: CustomDoom v1.4.2

PostPosted: Mon May 16, 2016 7:06 am
by FaggoStorm
Lud wrote:Entirely possible. Or the dev just didn't think it'd be a big deal to leave it out. (Not saying that it is...)

By the way, has anyone tried CustomDoom on Zandronum multiplayer? I'm curious if it works.


I tested it in deathmatch with Zandronum.

You can't change ANYTHING in the menu. All options are blocked.

Re: CustomDoom v1.4.2

PostPosted: Mon May 16, 2016 7:08 am
by Accensus
Only the host can change some of the options. You shouldn't have trouble changing the blending, for example. Wouldn't make much sense for people in a DM game to have their own multiplier, would it? It'd kill balance.

EDIT: If you confirm that you can't change even blending color then I guess I'll DL Zandronum and see if its fixable.

Re: CustomDoom v1.4.2

PostPosted: Mon May 16, 2016 7:21 am
by FaggoStorm
How can I make myself the host?

Re: CustomDoom v1.4.2

PostPosted: Mon May 16, 2016 7:24 am
by Accensus
You're the host if you start your own server, I suppose. Dunno how things are with Zandro - I've never used it for multiplayer before.

Re: CustomDoom v1.4.2

PostPosted: Mon May 16, 2016 7:25 am
by FaggoStorm
Well, I can't change the options, so it doesn't work like that.

THANKS ZANDRONUM

Re: CustomDoom v1.4.2

PostPosted: Mon May 16, 2016 7:30 am
by Accensus
I'll look into it myself, then.

EDIT: How did you even open the menu_custom?

Re: CustomDoom v1.4.2

PostPosted: Mon May 16, 2016 7:41 am
by FaggoStorm
By writing on the command line "menu_custom".

Not joking, it did work.

Re: CustomDoom v1.4.2

PostPosted: Mon May 16, 2016 7:47 am
by Accensus
What the hell...

It says "unknown command "Openmenu"". I'm pretty sure I'm running latest version of Zandro.

Re: CustomDoom v1.4.2

PostPosted: Mon May 16, 2016 7:50 am
by FaggoStorm
Run the dev builds.

Re: CustomDoom v1.4.2

PostPosted: Mon May 16, 2016 8:01 am
by Accensus
Okay, so I tested with dev builds and most works IN OFFLINE MODE. Some options, however, like weapon damage multiplier, do not work. I do not know why it is not working but I reckon it has something to do with ACS. If that's the case then I don't think I can call the mod "useable" with Zandro. You can still try to create a server somehow and test if it'll work online. Too much hassle for me.

It appears that I will be unable to fix the mod to work with Zandronum so I'll edit the main post to reflect the new information. I can't give a solid "No", but don't expect a miracle anytime soon. The good news is that it works flawlessly with ZDoom multiplayer so there's that.

Re: CustomDoom v1.4.2

PostPosted: Mon May 16, 2016 9:31 am
by Zhs2
FaggoStorm wrote:How can I make myself the host?
Set an RCON password, use "send_password [password]" when connected to the server, then try inputting the proper commands via RCON. I don't have any reason to believe a server-only options menu can be changed by any clients, so you'll have to roll it manually with console commands, e.g. "rcon cd_weap_damage_mult 3" or so. Or you can just type this into the server's dialog box, or use an RCON Utility if the server is remote (note that this still requires setting an RCON password at server creation)...

Re: CustomDoom v1.4.2

PostPosted: Mon May 16, 2016 9:40 am
by Accensus
Even if he manages to assume control of the mod's variables, there's still the issue with Zandro's ACS not supporting everything. For some reason the cd_player_damage_mult works, but cd_weap_damage_mult does not. Could it be because APROP_DamageMultiplier is absent in Zandronum's ACS? If so, then I guess the mod will "fix" itself when Zandro devs update the ACS to match that of ZDoom 2.8.1.

Re: CustomDoom v1.4.2

PostPosted: Mon May 16, 2016 10:42 am
by Zhs2
This is also true, and most likely, yes, once Zandronum hits ZDoom's feature set the issues will fix themselves. For now, however, I'm supposing a little bit of RCON knowledge still helps ;)